Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1261
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 34 (Who?), Viewed: 1944 times.
Search this Thread
Old 18th Sep 2020, 3:41 PM #26
Lyralei
Original Poster

Virtual gardener



Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3,093
Thanks: 3434 in 21 Posts
24 Achievements


because I'm insane, I also parsed 'ActionData.sData' which supposedly has all the keys and ActionData's of the game. The XML details are also getting parsed into this so it shows up in the pie menu eventually. So it's even inside sData. But I get the feeling that whenever the game turns that into actual interactions, that's where it goes wrong?
Last edited by Lyralei : 18th Sep 2020 at 6:00 PM.
Old 20th Sep 2020, 12:36 AM #27
Lyralei
Original Poster

Virtual gardener



Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3,093
Thanks: 3434 in 21 Posts
24 Achievements


So in my head, this initially should have worked (And Technically I expected it to.) but turns out everything works now!

Tis been a few days, but all I had to change was:

Code:
* * * * * * public override void AddInteractions(InteractionObjectPair iop, Sim actor, Sim target, List<InteractionObjectPair> results)
* * * * * * {
* * * * * * * * results.Add(new InteractionObjectPair(new DefinitionTalkAboutSewing(sewingSkill), iop.Target));
* * * * * * }
To:

Code:
results.Add(new InteractionObjectPair(new DefinitionTalkAboutSewing(), iop.Target));
All it was was the parameter being passed in. Which I also made a definition for as seen in the previous Snippets of code. But somehow this was the key...*

now i'm off making more social interactions! Thanks for anyone for the help! *
Old 1st Dec 2020, 3:49 AM #28
TurtleShroom
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 211


Okay, so I downloaded this item and placed it in my game. To test it, started an empty, new World with no Lots and no Sims except my test subject. I opened the Entertainment Items in the Buy Menu and scrolled to the sewing machine, and it was there. I clicked it, and the preview is there.

When I move to place it in game, the two green squares are there and the item is invisible. I thought it was your Texture bug, but that would imply the machine still worked. I placed a dining chair to slide up under it, and it "clicked". My Sim could sit in the chair, too. However, when I tried to click in the area that the machine was placed, nothing happened. It was as if the machine, in totality, did not exist at all.

What did I do wrong? I made sure to download the newest version like you said.

-------

Jesus loves you and died for you!

Your resident prude! A pox on all who remove the "censor blurs" on showering (etc.) Sims!
Old 1st Dec 2020, 9:38 PM #29
Lyralei
Original Poster

Virtual gardener



Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3,093
Thanks: 3434 in 21 Posts
24 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by TurtleShroom
Okay, so I downloaded this item and placed it in my game. To test it, started an empty, new World with no Lots and no Sims except my test subject. I opened the Entertainment Items in the Buy Menu and scrolled to the sewing machine, and it was there. I clicked it, and the preview is there.

When I move to place it in game, the two green squares are there and the item is invisible. I thought it was your Texture bug, but that would imply the machine still worked. I placed a dining chair to slide up under it, and it "clicked". My Sim could sit in the chair, too. However, when I tried to click in the area that the machine was placed, nothing happened. It was as if the machine, in totality, did not exist at all.

What did I do wrong? I made sure to download the newest version like you said.
Hrm that is pretty odd @TurtleShroom ! Might be a weird suggestion, but what would happen if you put the sewing table in game without any other mods? I'm wondering if somehow NRaas is again making things not work, or any other mod that might somehow screw with the sewing table.

Furthermore, do you have the University EP? There's an interaction that requires that EP but technically it should still work without it. What Patch do you use? Do you happen to have NRaas Error trap as well, and if you do, could you give me the XML file it created?

Thank you!
Old 5th Dec 2020, 11:56 PM #30
TurtleShroom
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 211


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyralei
Furthermore, do you have the University EP? There's an interaction that requires that EP but technically it should still work without it. What Patch do you use? Do you happen to have NRaas Error trap as well, and if you do, could you give me the XML file it created?

Thank you!


I'll test it some day. Until then, here is what I know.
  1. I have all the Expansion Packs.
  2. I use the traditional CD-ROM version of the game.
  3. I use the latest CD-ROM Patch, which is at V1.69 .
  4. It does not trigger an error. It simply does not do anything if you click on or near it, but you can still park a chair there. The game says it's there, it just... is invisible and not selectable.

Does it help that I did not use the Sims III Pack version? I put it in as a Package.

-------

Jesus loves you and died for you!

Your resident prude! A pox on all who remove the "censor blurs" on showering (etc.) Sims!
Old 8th Dec 2020, 2:51 PM #31
bubblybunni
Test Subject

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4


Hi there,

I got the message "There was a problem, couldn't get the settings. System.ArgumentException: An element with the same key already exists in the dictionary" etc what do I do?
Screenshots
Click image for larger version

Name:  20201208_224509.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  4.20 MB  
Old 8th Dec 2020, 3:09 PM #32
Lyralei
Original Poster

Virtual gardener



Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3,093
Thanks: 3434 in 21 Posts
24 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by bubblybunni
Hi there,

I got the message "There was a problem, couldn't get the settings. System.ArgumentException: An element with the same key already exists in the dictionary" etc what do I do?
Heya! When you see this error, the 'sewables' already exists. The error basically says 'Hey we noticed this project already exists in our list, so we've canceled it'.* But the error by itself is quite innocent and it won't affect the sewing table's functionality in any way

Now I am trying to fix this, but the major issue I assumed I fixed (Which was when you switch saves). If it isn't, do let me know! *
Old 9th Dec 2020, 5:02 AM #33
bubblybunni
Test Subject

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyralei
Heya! When you see this error, the 'sewables' already exists. The error basically says 'Hey we noticed this project already exists in our list, so we've canceled it'.* But the error by itself is quite innocent and it won't affect the sewing table's functionality in any way

Now I am trying to fix this, but the major issue I assumed I fixed (Which was when you switch saves). If it isn't, do let me know! *



Thank you!
Old 20th Dec 2020, 4:26 PM #34
bubblybunni
Test Subject

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4


Hello,

Me again.

My sim can start a project, but she can't continue. The option is grayed out and it says "another sim is using the table".

Also, can the Sim create clothes or only buy items?
Old 21st Dec 2020, 1:33 PM #35
Lyralei
Original Poster

Virtual gardener



Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3,093
Thanks: 3434 in 21 Posts
24 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by bubblybunni
Hello,

Me again.

My sim can start a project, but she can't continue. The option is grayed out and it says "another sim is using the table".

Also, can the Sim create clothes or only buy items?
Heya! I'm actually working on a workaround for when the sim that uses the sewing table, wants to create multiple projects, that they can. (But that anyone else can't of course. Else we're having the issue that 2 sims are using it at the same time :p) I should probably add that to the bug reports list.

Regarding the clothing, I think you were the same person asking this in the comment section, so I'll put my response here as well for others:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyralei
I'm currently working on an implementation for it! It's a bit tougher to code in than it sounds, but i'm managing it. I'm currently also working on a new project so it might come out a bit slower, but I will promise this will be in a new version of the sewing table!
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.