Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 14th Aug 2020 at 4:30 PM
Default Sims 4 lighting in Sims 3?
Hello!

I have no knowledge in game mods, so this is more of a "is this possible?" question. Sims 4 lighting has been patched so the light that comes in gets filtered by doors/window, making beautiful shadows (here is a comparison pic). Can a mod like that be done for Sims 3? I suspect it can't because this is quite an old feature now, but I would like to understand why anyway. Or maybe it's possible and no one paid it much attention? Thanks!
Advertisement
Mad Poster
#2 Old 14th Aug 2020 at 4:59 PM
This is probably something @lyralei would have to answer, but there was some experimentation here seeing if the Sims 3's shaders could be cracked open: https://modthesims.info/showthread.php?t=623606

Otherwise, there are some workarounds that utilize fake floor-to-ceiling windows that retain outdoor lighting with its own shadow systems.

But to make the matter short- not yet, and likely far beyond any modder's ability if the game lighting is locked up in the compiled game engine.
Virtual gardener
staff: administrator
#3 Old 15th Aug 2020 at 10:14 AM
I will be honest, yesterday you had me thinking like this: https://i.kym-cdn.com/photos/images...546/775/e73.jpg

But that's a good question there. With the resources we currently have, I'd say yes? I think? Most of the lighting stuff is indeed defined in the shader params.