Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1062
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
 Replies: 5 (Who?), Viewed: 7978 times.
Search this Thread
Old 29th Sep 2013, 11:50 AM Problems with Game(What part of the Computer is it?) #1
DanceDreamerMusouka
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19


Ok I bought a refurbished HP desktop (some people say that's a bad thing but others say it's fine?) and it's extremely annoying as it's Win8. I hate Win8. But I bought it for the hard drive space/price and forgot about the processor and graphics card needed for Sims 3.
I currently have 7 expansions packs and 2 stuff packs (including base game of course). December, I'll have Seasons and Worlds Bundle.
My mom's computer worked ok not amazing but ok, it was laggy but not super laggy like my computer is now. My computer's graphics is great I don't even need a HQ mod but it's so laggy and slow I can't really play the game.

So the question is could I just switch with my mom and upgrade her graphics card and processor or should I just upgrade my processor?
I've included both our computers specs in the rar file.
Last edited by DanceDreamerMusouka : 1st Oct 2013 at 9:24 AM.
Old 29th Sep 2013, 2:26 PM #2
Nysha
Née whiterider



Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19,757
Thanks: 45761 in 114 Posts
37 Achievements

View My Journal


It looks like that CPU is a dual core, so at 1.7Ghz, it's definitely not up to scratch for TS3 as it stands now. I don't know if you have EPs and SPs and so on - if you do, that would certainly make things worse; if you're using just the basegame, then I'd hink you could play on that system, but yeah, there will probably be some slowness.

TS2 does work on Windows 8, as long as you're not trying to use the original 4-CD version of the basegame. If you have the basegame on DVD or Origin, or as part of Deluxe or Double Deluxe, then everything will work fine.

What I lack in decorum, I make up for with an absence of tact.
Old 29th Sep 2013, 10:10 PM
DanceDreamerMusouka
This message has been deleted by DanceDreamerMusouka.
Old 29th Sep 2013, 10:28 PM #3
Nysha
Née whiterider



Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19,757
Thanks: 45761 in 114 Posts
37 Achievements

View My Journal


Could you double-check the model of your graphics card? It would be silly to suggest an amazing processor if it would just get bottlenecked by your graphics card. Very roughly, you'd be looking for a quad core between 2.0-3.0Ghz - but beyond that, I wouldn't like to say without more info.

Another important consideration is the power rating of your PSU, and whether your desktop is a normal sized one, or a slimline or all-in-one.

What I lack in decorum, I make up for with an absence of tact.
Old 30th Sep 2013, 12:44 AM
DanceDreamerMusouka
This message has been deleted by DanceDreamerMusouka.
Old 30th Sep 2013, 1:16 AM
DanceDreamerMusouka
This message has been deleted by DanceDreamerMusouka.
Old 1st Oct 2013, 9:25 AM #4
DanceDreamerMusouka
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19


The rar file
Download - please read all instructions before downloading any files!
File Type: zip Computer Info.zip (12.1 KB, 12 downloads) - View custom content
Old 11th Dec 2013, 4:49 AM #5
ellacharmed
In the Arena



Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7,841
Thanks: 20381 in 35 Posts
21 Achievements

View My Journal


Hi,
are you still awaiting a response or no longer need help?
Old 11th Dec 2013, 3:22 PM #6
ajaxsirius
Scholar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,122
1 Achievements


I think he/she decided to buy a new computer, here's a thread she started later on: http://www.modthesims.info/showthre...25#startcomment
 


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.