Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1121
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 3 (Who?), Viewed: 118 times.
Search this Thread
Old 3rd Dec 2020, 5:58 AM DefaultSimPE Help - Not loading custom neighborhood on browser #1
AbandonedLoneliness
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life


Hi!
I recently downloaded SimPE and I wanted to change some relationships my sims had in this custom neighborhood I downloaded from Mod The Sims. However, when I go to Tools>Neighborhood>Neighborhood Browser the custom neighborhood is not one of the selectable ones, just the pre-made ones. I searched all over for an answer to this problem but I cant seem to find one? I hope I explained myself, I appreciate any help.
Old 3rd Dec 2020, 1:30 PM #2
simsample
-.-- -.-- --..



Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21,204
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 9105 in 33 Posts
19 Achievements

View My Journal


Which neighbourhood is it? Look at the neighbourhood folder in Documents/ EAGames/ The Sims 2/ Neighborhoods- it needs to be titled with four characters, like N001 or SS01 or even ABCD or 1234. If it has more than four characters you need to rename it for SimPE to parse it. You could probably file>Open and browse to the neighbourhood package file instead.
Old 3rd Dec 2020, 1:57 PM #3
RoxEllen1965
Mad Poster

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,752
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life


Which neighborhood are you trouble with? I have heard of this problem with orkahm's Harborview neighborhood because the file names use a 5-character identifier for the neighborhood instead of the standard 4-character identifiers.

For example, the files for Maxis' Pleasantview neighborhood start with N001 (4 characters). orkahm's Harborview uses files beginning with ORK02 (5-characters). SimPE will apparently only read neighborhoods whose files start with a 4-character ID, so Harborview will never show up in SimPE's Neighborhood Browser.

Supposedly, simply renaming the Harborview files from ORK02 to something with only 4 characters should make the neighborhood show up in SimPE. I did download this neighborhood myself, but haven't had time to look at it yet to confirm this.

EDIT: Ninja'd by Simsample. I take too long to compose my posts!
Old 4th Dec 2020, 4:41 AM #4
AbandonedLoneliness
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life


Thank you both! Renaming the file did fix the issue! Also @RoxElle1965 it was Harborview! Its such a lovely neighborhood. ^-^
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.