Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1386
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 15 (Who?), Viewed: 265 times.
Search this Thread
Old 26th Nov 2020, 8:04 PM DefaultCan't Check Into Hotel Rooms #1
StrangeTownChick
Original Poster

Scholar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,426
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 596 in 5 Posts
7 Achievements


This is my very first time sending sims on vacation (in 2020, I know), and the family just got to their hotel, I looked up how to check them in, and it seems fairly straightforward--click on the door, reserve the room, then click on the checkin desk and check in. Only, there's no option to click on the door. The door says "no actions available" when I mouse over it. Why is this and how do I fix it?

I've got one or two things on MTS, but most of my stuff is on my main site here:
http://simcessories.blogspot.com/
(Now recruiting budding creators.)
Old 26th Nov 2020, 10:54 PM #2
simsample
-.-- -.-- --..



Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21,177
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 9102 in 33 Posts
19 Achievements

View My Journal


Is it an EA hotel or a custom hotel? Does it have hotel doors?
Old 27th Nov 2020, 3:49 AM #3
StrangeTownChick
Original Poster

Scholar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,426
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 596 in 5 Posts
7 Achievements


It's an EA hotel, freshly generated vacation hood, with hotel doors.

I've got one or two things on MTS, but most of my stuff is on my main site here:
http://simcessories.blogspot.com/
(Now recruiting budding creators.)
Old 27th Nov 2020, 10:00 AM #4
simsample
-.-- -.-- --..



Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21,177
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 9102 in 33 Posts
19 Achievements

View My Journal


Did the hotel receptionist spawn okay? And is the active sim an adult/ elder?
If so then the only other things I can think of would be mod/cc conflict.
Old 27th Nov 2020, 2:21 PM #5
StrangeTownChick
Original Poster

Scholar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,426
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 596 in 5 Posts
7 Achievements


The receptionist is there and the active sim's an adult. Are there any mods known to cause this problem?

I've got one or two things on MTS, but most of my stuff is on my main site here:
http://simcessories.blogspot.com/
(Now recruiting budding creators.)
Old 27th Nov 2020, 3:53 PM #6
CrystalFlame360
Field Researcher

Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 335
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life


Okay, so I looked this up online and found someone with the same issue from over a decade ago here. Yahoo, I know, but I found something that you could consider.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anonymous
Check your downloads folder for a file titled, "buybuildenabler.package" and delete it. If that does not solve the problem or you don't have that download, disable custom content to see if it's indeed a file that's disrupting your enjoyment of the game.

Do you have the mod mentioned here?

When a game is predictable, it's boring.
That goes for any medium that isn't life.
That's why The Sims 2 is my favourite sims game.
It has elements of unpredictability and everything feels more involved.
The Sims 4 is another story altogether...
Old 27th Nov 2020, 4:00 PM #7
simsample
-.-- -.-- --..



Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21,177
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 9102 in 33 Posts
19 Achievements

View My Journal


No idea, easiest thing to do is to backup everything and test with downloads folder removed.
Old 27th Nov 2020, 5:21 PM #8
RoxEllen1965
Mad Poster

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,751
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life


Quote:
Originally Posted by CrystalFlame360
Okay, so I looked this up online and found someone with the same issue from over a decade ago here. Yahoo, I know, but I found something that you could consider.

Do you have the mod mentioned here?

The problem with cathair2005's buybuildenabler is that the BV-compatible version is linked in a post halfway down the comments thread for the Pets version (several posts in the comments thread also mention this issue of not being able to check into hotels with the Pets version of the mod). I have the BV-compatible version of this mod running in a game with all disk EPs and it causes no problems for me.
Old 27th Nov 2020, 6:49 PM #9
TadOlson
Scholar

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,413
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life


I also have the BV version of the buildbuy enabler installed in my game and it's been in there for years.
Old 27th Nov 2020, 8:37 PM #10
CrystalFlame360
Field Researcher

Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 335
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life


Quote:
Originally Posted by RoxEllen1965
The problem with cathair2005's buybuildenabler is that the BV-compatible version is linked in a post halfway down the comments thread for the Pets version (several posts in the comments thread also mention this issue of not being able to check into hotels with the Pets version of the mod). I have the BV-compatible version of this mod running in a game with all disk EPs and it causes no problems for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TadOlson
I also have the BV version of the buildbuy enabler installed in my game and it's been in there for years.
.
Okay, so that's something to knock off the potential cause list.

Still, the cause could be a mod (maybe), so the best bet could be, as others have mentioned, check if the hotels work after removing the downloads folder temporarily. I'd suggest making a test hood for this purpose and don't remove any mods that aren't safe to remove once added (such as NPC mods), though I bet everyone knows this anyway.

When a game is predictable, it's boring.
That goes for any medium that isn't life.
That's why The Sims 2 is my favourite sims game.
It has elements of unpredictability and everything feels more involved.
The Sims 4 is another story altogether...
Old 27th Nov 2020, 11:07 PM #11
StrangeTownChick
Original Poster

Scholar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,426
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 596 in 5 Posts
7 Achievements


The buybuild enabler might be it, I believe I have that. Will it cause problems to close the game in order to take the other one out and get the correct version? Considering that the last save was the autosave when they left the home lot?

I've got one or two things on MTS, but most of my stuff is on my main site here:
http://simcessories.blogspot.com/
(Now recruiting budding creators.)
Old 27th Nov 2020, 11:32 PM #12
joandsarah77
Needs Coffee



Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 28,151
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 6786 in 73 Posts
33 Achievements

View My Journal


You want the updated Build&Buy Enabler, it gives no issues, used it for years. I think it is post #48 in that thread or near about.

"I dream of a better tomorrow, where chickens can cross the road and not be questioned about their motives." - Unknown
~Call me Jo~
Old 28th Nov 2020, 11:48 PM #13
StrangeTownChick
Original Poster

Scholar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,426
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 596 in 5 Posts
7 Achievements


....will it cause problems to close the game at the point they are now or not, the game's been open for three days, I need to know.

I've got one or two things on MTS, but most of my stuff is on my main site here:
http://simcessories.blogspot.com/
(Now recruiting budding creators.)
Old 29th Nov 2020, 12:19 AM #14
simsample
-.-- -.-- --..



Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21,177
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 9102 in 33 Posts
19 Achievements

View My Journal


No, the autosave should either put them in the hotel ready for you to choose a room, or else dump you to the vacation hood screen to choose the hotel.
Old 2nd Dec 2020, 8:06 PM #15
StrangeTownChick
Original Poster

Scholar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,426
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 596 in 5 Posts
7 Achievements


Updating the mod worked, thanks everyone!

I've got one or two things on MTS, but most of my stuff is on my main site here:
http://simcessories.blogspot.com/
(Now recruiting budding creators.)
Old 2nd Dec 2020, 11:46 PM #16
simsample
-.-- -.-- --..



Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21,177
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 9102 in 33 Posts
19 Achievements

View My Journal


Well done! Clever people in this thread!
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.