Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1428
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 17 (Who?), Viewed: 27083 times.
Search this Thread
Old 28th Dec 2011, 10:33 AM [solved] How to expose a basement so that it's visible from aboveground? #1
Mugendai
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6


I've been trying to figure this out... Basically, I want to create a large, tall library with a really high ceiling (7 stories from the floor), but accessible from multiple floors. I planned on making it partially underground with four underground floors, reaching up to the roof, as the main building (a mansion) itself is only three floors aboveground, but the room itself is visibly tall.

The problem I have is that if I use the EA tool for making basement levels, the first basement level is covered by the terrain layer, and I can't figure out how to remove the terrain tiles so that I can see the basement from the first floor. I know there is probably some way to do this, because you can see the underground levels if you add stairs or use the pool tool. Neither work for me, of course, because I want wide, open space.

What I'm trying to build is the Voile Library in the Scarlet Devil Mansion, a location in a series of video games called Touhou Project. Here's some image examples to show you what I'm talking about:

http://img853.imageshack.us/img853/...ibrarynight.jpg
http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/634/voile.png
Last edited by Mugendai : 6th Jan 2012 at 2:52 AM.
Old 28th Dec 2011, 5:45 PM #2
BloomsBase
Sockpuppet

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,399
Thanks: 2387 in 19 Posts
12 Achievements


I also have been struggling to do this......curious if it is possible.
Old 28th Dec 2011, 7:19 PM #3
zonaxzynaphynx
Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 21
1 Achievements


I found this out messing around by accident. Place basement. Go to basement and place stairs. Now you have 4 holes, but if you delete stairs the ground reappears. So continue and place a foundation 1 square away from top of stairs on surface ground and place a stair from foundation to beginning of basement stairs to combine one long stairway to bottom of basement. Now delete basement stairs. The little stairs from the foundation will hold the 4 open holes open. Delete little stairs and foundation and you will have 4 open holes. Repeat setup beside or in front of 4 open holes to make any size opening. Mess around and see what you can do. Here are two examples I did.

http://www.thesims3.com/assetDetail...assetId=1748577

http://www.thesims3.com/assetDetail...assetId=3867388
Old 28th Dec 2011, 7:49 PM #4
birdyfly
Forum Resident

Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 793
Thanks: 194 in 1 Posts
5 Achievements

View My Journal


Will this thread help?
http://www.modthesims.info/showthre...hlight=basement

It is about walk-in basements and how to make them.
Old 28th Dec 2011, 9:10 PM #5
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,652
Thanks: 9354 in 10 Posts
20 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by zonaxzynaphynx
I found this out messing around by accident....


Finally! An explanation I understood! I've been trying to work out what the tuts and pictures are trying to tell me for months. I obviously just needed it in plain words :D

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 28th Dec 2011, 11:21 PM #6
zonaxzynaphynx
Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 21
1 Achievements


Here it is in picture form.
Screenshots
Click image for larger version

Name:  1 - Place basement.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  179.0 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  2 - Place stairs.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  41.9 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  3 - Place foundation and little stairs.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  173.4 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  4 - Remove basement stairs.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  168.6 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  5 - Remove little stairs and foundation.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  167.5 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  6 - Add more basement stairs, foundation and little stairs.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  228.9 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  7 - Remove basement stairs.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  239.3 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  8 - Remove little stairs and foundation.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  223.4 KB  
Old 29th Dec 2011, 12:14 PM #7
BloomsBase
Sockpuppet

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,399
Thanks: 2387 in 19 Posts
12 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by zonaxzynaphynx
I found this out messing around by accident. Place basement. Go to basement and place stairs. Now you have 4 holes, but if you delete stairs the ground reappears. So continue and place a foundation 1 square away from top of stairs on surface ground and place a stair from foundation to beginning of basement stairs to combine one long stairway to bottom of basement. Now delete basement stairs. The little stairs from the foundation will hold the 4 open holes open. Delete little stairs and foundation and you will have 4 open holes. Repeat setup beside or in front of 4 open holes to make any size opening. Mess around and see what you can do. Here are two examples I did.

http://www.thesims3.com/assetDetail...assetId=1748577

http://www.thesims3.com/assetDetail...assetId=3867388


Thank you
Old 6th Jan 2012, 2:52 AM #8
Mugendai
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6


Quote:
Originally Posted by zonaxzynaphynx
I found this out messing around by accident. Place basement. Go to basement and place stairs. Now you have 4 holes, but if you delete stairs the ground reappears. So continue and place a foundation 1 square away from top of stairs on surface ground and place a stair from foundation to beginning of basement stairs to combine one long stairway to bottom of basement. Now delete basement stairs. The little stairs from the foundation will hold the 4 open holes open. Delete little stairs and foundation and you will have 4 open holes. Repeat setup beside or in front of 4 open holes to make any size opening. Mess around and see what you can do. Here are two examples I did.

http://www.thesims3.com/assetDetail...assetId=1748577

http://www.thesims3.com/assetDetail...assetId=3867388


Thanks, this worked for me!
Old 18th Aug 2012, 10:58 PM #9
dcpuser
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3


bumping an old thread but how do you get the items in the basement to appear? I was able to remove the ceiling and able to look down from ground level but all I can see is the wallpaper and the ground tiles. I dont see any objects I placed there.
Last edited by dcpuser : 18th Aug 2012 at 11:16 PM.
Old 21st Aug 2012, 6:33 PM #10
Volvenom
dodgy builder

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,549
Thanks: 6565 in 80 Posts
17 Achievements

View My Journal


I don't really remember how it looks, but you may be hiding objects on different floors then the one your on? Have you checked your settings.
Old 27th Aug 2012, 10:29 AM #11
lichtje
Test Subject

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 46


Hello,
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcpuser
bumping an old thread but how do you get the items in the basement to appear? I was able to remove the ceiling and able to look down from ground level but all I can see is the wallpaper and the ground tiles. I dont see any objects I placed there.

As far as I experienced, some objects are just not meant to be seen outside the basement. Sims can be seen, some plants and some beds too, desks and chairs not. Some objects can't be seen at first, especialle plant, but they can be seen after switching modes.

I don't see a pattern... might be something in the programming of the objects no one payed attention to, because basements were not supposed to be seen from above.

Greetings
lichtje
Old 27th Aug 2012, 1:30 PM #12
Tee Hee She
mature minion



Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 416
Thanks: 2569 in 12 Posts
9 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by lichtje
Hello,

As far as I experienced, some objects are just not meant to be seen outside the basement. Sims can be seen, some plants and some beds too, desks and chairs not. Some objects can't be seen at first, especialle plant, but they can be seen after switching modes.

I don't see a pattern... might be something in the programming of the objects no one payed attention to, because basements were not supposed to be seen from above.

Greetings
lichtje


Two things to make them appear, firstly go to options and make sure that object hiding is turned off.

Then the sneaky part, if there isn't a complete wall in the "room" you're working on it counts it as outside and lights it as such but also enables you to see all the objects from the above ground floors. The hard part is hiding this break in the wall, I've usually put it below the stairs into the room where you can't see it but try experimenting and see what you can come up with :D
Old 9th Nov 2012, 7:17 AM #13
luckylush
Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tee Hee Hee
Two things to make them appear, firstly go to options and make sure that object hiding is turned off.

Then the sneaky part, if there isn't a complete wall in the "room" you're working on it counts it as outside and lights it as such but also enables you to see all the objects from the above ground floors. The hard part is hiding this break in the wall, I've usually put it below the stairs into the room where you can't see it but try experimenting and see what you can come up with :D


I'm having a similar problem with my basement. My basement has four floors. From the top basement floor you can see all the way to the bottom floor. But from the ground floor, only the first basement floor is visible - everything below is replaced by blue.

Does anyone know how this can be fixed? Or is there a way to construct a basement where this issue doesn't happen? Or at the very least be able to see 2 basement floors down?

Thanks in advance.
Screenshots
Click image for larger version

Name:  Screenshot-1.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  194.8 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  Screenshot-2.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  213.9 KB  
Old 12th Nov 2012, 2:19 PM #14
Tee Hee She
mature minion



Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 416
Thanks: 2569 in 12 Posts
9 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by luckylush
I'm having a similar problem with my basement. My basement has four floors. From the top basement floor you can see all the way to the bottom floor. But from the ground floor, only the first basement floor is visible - everything below is replaced by blue.

Does anyone know how this can be fixed? Or is there a way to construct a basement where this issue doesn't happen? Or at the very least be able to see 2 basement floors down?

Thanks in advance.


Its a really annoying problem but from above ground the game only shows the first basement level...I've tried everything I can think of but all for naught. I think we're stuck with only seeing the first floor unfortunately.
Old 13th Nov 2012, 5:16 AM #15
luckylush
Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3


Oh well, thanks for trying though.
Old 13th Nov 2012, 11:48 AM #16
Tee Hee She
mature minion



Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 416
Thanks: 2569 in 12 Posts
9 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by luckylush
Oh well, thanks for trying though.


Don't worry if I find a way round it this forum will be the first to know
Old 7th Oct 2019, 3:18 PM #17
jje1000
Mad Poster

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,332
Thanks: 930 in 5 Posts
6 Achievements


Necrobumping, is this still possible today?

Tried it but it gave me the problem of not being able to intersect objects.

Edit: It worked! But only with a 4-tile wide stair.
Last edited by jje1000 : 7th Oct 2019 at 3:33 PM.
Old 12th Oct 2019, 1:42 AM #18
AGuyCalledPi
Mad Poster

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5,815
Thanks: 864 in 5 Posts
8 Achievements


That's good to hear. Might have to find an excuse to play around with this.

Hypocrisy is only okay if I do it.
( Join my dumb Discord server if you're into the whole procrastination thing. But like, maybe tomorrow. )
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.