Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 3778
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 163 (Who?), Viewed: 70902 times.
Search this Thread
Old 29th May 2012, 5:11 PM DefaultCreating a glass dome #1
zelda101
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
1 Achievements


Hey there so,
I have a thread on the titanic on here, links here.

And for the grand staircase the dome I found, the only dome I found wasn't big enough or was satisfying enough for me.

I want to create a dome from scratch, or maybe I can co-create it with a mesher on here. I can work on the texture, as I'm about 3/4 done the black and write design using PS.

I'm trying to duplicate it from the actual ship, attached is the sample.
Is there any tips or any help that could help me build it, I want the dome to be as big as 8x8, and not as high as a ceiling.
Last edited by zelda101 : 2nd Jun 2012 at 11:18 PM.
Old 29th May 2012, 8:27 PM #2
BloomsBase
Sockpuppet

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,400
Thanks: 2339 in 19 Posts
12 Achievements


so 8x8 and 3 tiles up?
If you would mesh the dome you would only mesh one segment but uvmap the 3 designs.
Then its just a matter of copying and rotating the segments.
Probably a bit diffrent then you had in mind?
Ill see wat i can do
Old 29th May 2012, 11:12 PM #3
zelda101
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
1 Achievements


I'm not sure what you mean by three tiles up?
But I've never meshed before, I was kind of looking to use the black designs possible as iron bars or something like that, and have a layer of glass on top of it. I'm hoping to achieve something like this:

Also would it be possible to make an floor-tile ceiling attached to the dome, as you can't cut out the floor without it looking like an octagon. (The dome is rounded into a circle).
Old 30th May 2012, 6:47 AM #4
maxonick
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 88


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mSoq3QUNvrk
You should try to contact the creator and ask for the dome, so someone could convert it from TS2 to TS3
Old 30th May 2012, 7:00 AM #5
maxonick
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 88


or this one (seams to be better):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niEa...=watch_response
Last edited by maxonick : 30th May 2012 at 10:12 AM.
Old 30th May 2012, 8:41 AM #6
BloomsBase
Sockpuppet

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,400
Thanks: 2339 in 19 Posts
12 Achievements


The dome mesh is not the hard part(i made one yesterday) but the uvmapping and the texturing is.
The dome has 32 segments, all are the same except for the glass(if it is glass?) wich has 3 diffrent designs on it.
So i made one segment, one glass part with one iron barr next to it.
I am going to uvmap it properly today and when done i duplicate that meshpart and rotate it 11.25 degrees.
the glass on the duplicate needs a diffrent design so i need to remap(or move cos i have it already) that part on the uvmap.
I repeat the first steps for the 3rd design, when done i have 3 segments with the glass uvcoordinates on 3 diffrent spots on the uvmap.
Then im pretty much done, all i have to do now id duplicate the 3 and rotate them again, and again.
The hardest part will be the texturing and there is not much info to find.
Best picture i could find is this one: http://www.encyclopedia-titanica.or...titanic0008.jpg
So you best create one from scratch, all 3 designs.




Edit,
Oops, i made a mistake on the size...
Instead of 8x8 i made it 16x16, so the screenshot shows wrong proportions.
This is how it shouldbe made, look at its texture setup bot dont start creating yet cos i prolly redo it.


Not sure about the floortiles, got to look into that
Last edited by BloomsBase : 8th Jun 2012 at 8:02 AM.
Old 30th May 2012, 2:24 PM #7
bornas12
Test Subject

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20


maxonick the dome can be found on this forum here:
http://ancientdreams.heavenforum.or...grand-staircase
You can ask us there, but most of creators there including myself don't know how to convert it.
Old 30th May 2012, 3:29 PM #8
BloomsBase
Sockpuppet

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,400
Thanks: 2339 in 19 Posts
12 Achievements


i haven't seen that dome but i imagine its a high polygon one?(not something you want on a lot that is already heavy.)
If it has both mesh and textures youi might be able to convert it.
I can finish this dome if you like but i suk at texturing, i lose patience very quick,

a quick photoshop texturing....... but with this detail you best handdraw the texture.
Last edited by BloomsBase : 8th Jun 2012 at 8:02 AM.
Old 30th May 2012, 5:40 PM #9
maxonick
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 88


bornas12, I can find someone who can do it, I'll try, I eve have found 'em before but I haven't needed their help
Old 30th May 2012, 5:48 PM #10
zelda101
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
1 Achievements


Woaah Thanks so much!
It's greater than I expected.
If you want I can try at texturing the image.
I created the smaller one attached earlier.
When it comes to texturing, is it ever in black in white, or is a coloured image?
Old 30th May 2012, 5:57 PM #11
bornas12
Test Subject

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20


Okay, but you need to ask the creator for his permission before you do so!
You can ask him trough a private message.
Old 30th May 2012, 6:56 PM #12
BloomsBase
Sockpuppet

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,400
Thanks: 2339 in 19 Posts
12 Achievements


There are alot ways of texturing the parts, even make them recolorable ingame.
I can give you the new template so you can start texturing altho it still believe its easier to do it by hand but have a go and see.
With the template things are pretty straight forward.
Do you have a 3d editor were you can view the mesh and it texture?
Here you have the template i will be using.:
left the circle and right the square
PM me for the mesh if you have a 3d editor and want to view the results yourself.
Last edited by BloomsBase : 8th Jun 2012 at 8:02 AM.
Old 30th May 2012, 8:30 PM #13
zelda101
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
1 Achievements


I have Blender, will that work?

Most of the sims 3 stuff isn't compatible for macs unfortunately, so things like milkshape doesn't work for me. :/
But thanks I will work right on it!
Old 30th May 2012, 9:15 PM #14
BloomsBase
Sockpuppet

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,400
Thanks: 2339 in 19 Posts
12 Achievements


Blender is good, do you know how to apply a texture?
Mesh as OBJ is here: http://www.sendspace.com/file/e44xcy
The glass ends at the small iron bar(before the 45 degrees glassegments)
Last edited by BloomsBase : 31st May 2012 at 4:37 PM.
Old 31st May 2012, 1:41 AM #15
zelda101
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
1 Achievements


Alright so far, this is how far I've gotten. And I already knew the basics of Blender so applying a texture wasn't all that hard for me.
I still have to add a few more things, obviously. Just thought to let you know on my process. I'm going to round the lines going near the center to make it look more round.



I have a question about the hole in the center, how big is that? And is there anyway to cover it?
Old 31st May 2012, 2:23 AM #16
BloomsBase
Sockpuppet

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,400
Thanks: 2339 in 19 Posts
12 Achievements


hehe, i have all the other parts here.
the iron bars for in between, the round part and the iron bar wich goes between that.
Still need to make the lamp and floor'.
Ill try to sent you the rest tomorrow.
Looks good!

The small horizontal line at the top i have as iron bar so you need to lift all a little
Ill try to put a picture before i go to bed.

Edit,
Hope this clear things up.

The red part is were the lamp is going to be
The quarter panels arround it are also glass, they are not on your file.
All wat is black is iron, no need to texture those parts.
While looking at it the 4 panels are way to big so i need to either scale the lamp part bigger or the small iron bar smaller
here is a pic of the glass quarter panels, they are much smaller then i thought, i might need to scale and update the template http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/me...b5/the-dome.jpg
Wat do you think? Scale both sides towards eachother?(the lamp is huge i have seen)
I think it also needs to be higher? http://www.sfdi.com/photosjulieturkoise5.jpg
ITs only one floor high now, can you wait with the texturing till we agree about the size and such?
Last edited by BloomsBase : 31st May 2012 at 3:25 AM.
Old 31st May 2012, 6:08 AM #17
maxonick
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 88


BloomBase, may I also have it?
Old 31st May 2012, 6:14 AM #18
zelda101
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
1 Achievements


Here is a more updated progress, how does it look so far?
Last edited by zelda101 : 31st May 2012 at 1:03 PM.
Old 31st May 2012, 6:29 AM #19
maxonick
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 88


zelda101, it's almost as amazing as it was in the film
Old 31st May 2012, 1:35 PM #20
BloomsBase
Sockpuppet

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,400
Thanks: 2339 in 19 Posts
12 Achievements


Did you read my post Zelda?
We need to agree bout the mesh first, it doesn's hav the correct proportions yet.

@MAx
I uploaded the obj file few posts back, abd the template is the last one.
The pic Zelda is showing is not ingame but in Blender.
Old 31st May 2012, 1:46 PM #21
zelda101
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
1 Achievements


Yeah, so looking through what you wrote,
The lamp is actually bigger, but the size of the dome isn't.
That picture of a dome you sent is from something entirely else? :/

I'm not really sure what you mean by scaling both sides towards each other?
Is that what you meant by it not having the correct proportions yet?
Old 31st May 2012, 2:20 PM #22
BloomsBase
Sockpuppet

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,400
Thanks: 2339 in 19 Posts
12 Achievements


i only use pictures from the real dome, the deep see one is the real thing.
When you look at it it is about 2 floors high instead of one.
The picture you posted is a aftermarket one, little bit diffrent.
I agree on the 8x8 but i think it is much higher?
Old 31st May 2012, 2:53 PM #23
zelda101
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
1 Achievements


It is a bit high, should it stay at one floor high? So that way, any other ceiling lights can fit?

This is going a bit off topic, but the deep sea thing is not from the Titanic, I'm talking about the second picture btw.
For one, the titanic is thousands of feet deep, and divers can't do that far down. lol
Old 31st May 2012, 2:57 PM #24
BloomsBase
Sockpuppet

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,400
Thanks: 2339 in 19 Posts
12 Achievements


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WpIO...feature=related
http://m.static.newsvine.com/servis...8.jpg&width=900
https://www.google.com/search?q=rea...iEon08QO80qn2DQ

I was hoping i could make the dome itself as light but with a floor cutout on the lower floor, no idea if this is possible tho......
The underwaterpicture i put up seems inaccurate as the real wreck no longer has the dome.
Last edited by BloomsBase : 31st May 2012 at 3:44 PM.
Old 31st May 2012, 5:19 PM #25
maxonick
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 88


BloomBase, you can make it reach the ceiling with its top and then you can place any light you like with moveobjects on
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.