Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 3532
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Closed Thread   Locked by: simsample Reason: Please see last post  Replies: 133 (Who?), Viewed: 75896 times.
Search this Thread
Old 10th Mar 2012, 5:30 AM DefaultTitanic on sims 3! #1
zelda101
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
1 Achievements


So, I have this weird minor obsession where I used to try to build the Titanic on the Sims 2. And that was over 4 or 5 years ago, and somehow after watching the movie again I picked up this habit again, but only on the sims 3.

The sims 3 gave me a lot more options and advantages to build it as well as some disadvantages. Here it is so far, well a photoshop'd version of it. I'm running the game on a mac so it's kinda annoying taking good pictures now. The game doesn't save images. :O (I hear that I'm not the only one..)



I would say that it's somewhat close to being done but not really there yet. I've gotten as far as near of the stern, only because I ran out of space to build on. (the lots are 64x64 and I have 3 of them so far, trying to push for one more) So I'll have to go back into the neighborhood's world editor and play around with the lots and move it for space. I just need to build the very back of the ship and then it'll be somewhat done.

The piece that I focused more on is the second lot only because it has the grand staircase with a dome-like glass from DasMatze2, it would be more better if it were rounded but I couldn't find anything like that. It also has things like Rose's cabin from the movie as well as the first class dining room. It's also the most expensive lot out of the rest, costing over 700,000 furnished. I'll upload more images to share later.

Also the lot was placed in Bridgeport near the water and the farmers field along the park trail.

Anyways just felt like sharing my progress with you all. Happy simming!
Screenshots
Click image for larger version

Name:  TitanicSims3.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  156.9 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  Titanicoriginal.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  150.8 KB  
Last edited by zelda101 : 10th Mar 2012 at 5:40 AM. Reason: minor tweaking
Old 10th Mar 2012, 6:32 AM #2
Shenti
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 81


holy cow, that's amazing. Your computer probably hates you though, lol. I play with around 30 sims in one household that only has a few floors and, combined, it's nowhere near as big as that monstrosity you created, and it -still- lags like crazy. Not unplayable though.

How about some pictures of the interior?

smash that disagree button fam, red's my favorite color
Old 10th Mar 2012, 6:49 AM #3
Louma37
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 58
Thanks: 679 in 9 Posts
6 Achievements


that's amazing :o
Old 10th Mar 2012, 7:21 AM #4
Simsdestroyer
Forum Resident

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 632


Wow now that's f---ing amazing!! Seriously!!
Old 10th Mar 2012, 3:57 PM #5
morphius1
Scholar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,037


Uhhhh....ok?
Old 10th Mar 2012, 4:25 PM #6
eskie227
One Minute Ninja'd

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,926
2 Achievements


Actually, that's pretty cool. When I first saw this thread I misread the title and thought it was about how EA is turning the Sims series into the Titanic, starring SHT as the iceberg (and then maybe Katy Perry is supposed to be Kate Winslet...I mean Katy...Kate...it's only off by one letter)
Old 11th Mar 2012, 6:08 AM DefaultUpdates #7
zelda101
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
1 Achievements


After more building and constant saving, I decided to upload some of the rooms of the ship. I can upload more updates of this projects as it progresses, and hopefully my post doesn't get deleted. lol.. Anyway's enjoy!
Screenshots
Click image for larger version

Name:  GrandStaircase.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  169.4 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  1st Class Dining.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  219.1 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  Rose.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  234.0 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  Roses Private lounge.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  221.5 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  Roses room.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  78.1 KB  
Old 11th Mar 2012, 6:19 AM #8
sierrakusterbeck
Field Researcher

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 330


Holy crap I wouldn't be patient enough to finish that! That's AMAZING.
Old 11th Mar 2012, 3:38 PM #9
gelis
Field Researcher

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 375


I love the idea and what you have done so far. I definitely want to see more.

I'm just wondering should this thread be in GFF? You could get more feedback with great advises and suggestions.
Old 11th Mar 2012, 4:02 PM #10
~MadameButterfly~
Mad Poster

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,441
Thanks: 3480 in 15 Posts
6 Achievements


My son is a huge fan of historical technology, so I just had to show him this. The Titanic is one of his favorite topics.
Old 11th Mar 2012, 4:40 PM #11
ThomasRiordan
Field Researcher

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 305
Thanks: 1099 in 8 Posts
11 Achievements

View My Journal


That'd be a pretty awesome lot. Especially if you were to use world tool to make an island of just that lot and surround it with water so it actually looked like it was at sea. Or even adding it to an existing EA world out in the ocean would be cool.
Old 11th Mar 2012, 5:06 PM #12
metal_goat
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 93


This is amazing, dang.

"It sucks because the vampires don't run fast enough. Lets be realistic - any vampire could run at leas a 4.5 40. These guys ran somewhere between a 4.8.-4.9."
Old 11th Mar 2012, 6:59 PM #13
zelda101
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
1 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasRiordan
That'd be a pretty awesome lot. Especially if you were to use world tool to make an island of just that lot and surround it with water so it actually looked like it was at sea. Or even adding it to an existing EA world out in the ocean would be cool.


I know! Unfortunately, I've been looking at different worlds and can't seem to find the right one, I'm looking for one thats flat and plain, as well as long enough to hold four (64x64) lots. And because I'm running on a mac I can't use the create a world tool. :O If anyone knows of any worlds that is flat along a shore, it would be greatly appreciated if you let me know. And I havent added water to the lot yet because I'm saving that for last.
Last edited by zelda101 : 12th Mar 2012 at 11:36 PM.
Old 24th Mar 2012, 11:08 AM #14
bornas12
Test Subject

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20


How did you make more than five floors?
Old 31st Mar 2012, 6:24 PM #15
zelda101
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
1 Achievements


I used the constrain floor elevation cheat to make it appear bigger. It's really only 5 floors so far.
Old 31st Mar 2012, 6:37 PM #16
tizerist
Theorist

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,437


So ideally, you need a hood that has 4 64x64 lots, and nothing else,right? I'm assuming they should have zero space between them?
It might be worth asking on the official forums for that request, theres alot of hood builders there that specialise in smaller hoods.

Great example of bending the game engine to produce what you need though, I must say.

#BlairWitchPetition
TS3 NEEDS: TENNIS COURTS > BUSES > PIGS/SHEEP
Can't find stuff in build and buy mode? http://www.nexusmods.com/thesims3/mods/1/?
Old 31st Mar 2012, 8:11 PM #17
kiatyn
Field Researcher

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 354


I would also suggest just a terrain paint that's various water colors and so forth. Then, you could really plop it anywhere
Old 31st Mar 2012, 9:16 PM #18
jessica x gore
Field Researcher

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 229


Holy Jesus! That is amazing and you did a superb job on it.
Old 1st Apr 2012, 2:49 PM #19
LadyAngua
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 206
1 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by zelda101
I know! Unfortunately, I've been looking at different worlds and can't seem to find the right one, I'm looking for one thats flat and plain, as well as long enough to hold four (64x64) lots. And because I'm running on a mac I can't use the create a world tool. :O If anyone knows of any worlds that is flat along a shore, it would be greatly appreciated if you let me know. And I havent added water to the lot yet because I'm saving that for last.



Have you found a world for this yet? What do you visualize? Just the Ship out in the ocean? With an iceberg off in the distance. It seems you want the ship to cover the 4 lots you mentioned? You would need something to cover the gaps, I couldn't do that but the world wouldn't be hard to make.
Old 1st Apr 2012, 3:29 PM #20
Gcgb53191
Scholar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,568
1 Achievements


Just wanted to say this looks phenomenal!!!!! I love it!
Old 1st Apr 2012, 7:18 PM #21
tizerist
Theorist

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,437


Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyAngua
Have you found a world for this yet? What do you visualize? Just the Ship out in the ocean? With an iceberg off in the distance. It seems you want the ship to cover the 4 lots you mentioned? You would need something to cover the gaps, I couldn't do that but the world wouldn't be hard to make.


It's hard to tell from the pictures, but there appears that there is either no gaps between the lots, or, gaps cleverly disguised between the lots, or the pictures are so well photoshopped that they are misleading.

Perhaps if we could reverse-engineer the construction of the ship, then we would have a better idea of how to turn this into a cruise ship neighbourhood.

If there are 3 or 4 lots, you would probably want something like this:
Lot 1: Base camp
Lot 2: Bar / Club
Lot 3 (+4): Visitors allowed

Zelda, would you be okay to disclose more about the apparent lack of gaps between the lots, and how you did it, etc. because it would appear we may be onto something here.


This is an image of a lot from Fresh Princes Vice City. This is the closest anyones come to a cruise ship thus far.

#BlairWitchPetition
TS3 NEEDS: TENNIS COURTS > BUSES > PIGS/SHEEP
Can't find stuff in build and buy mode? http://www.nexusmods.com/thesims3/mods/1/?
Old 2nd Apr 2012, 12:11 PM #22
LadyAngua
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 206
1 Achievements


That's what I was visualizing as well. I couldn't stop thinking about this last night, it has great potential as a vacation spot. A talented mesher could create fake ship pieces to cover the gaps, it would have to be custom built to fit the building and the lots could be sunk so the ship is really in the water, like Fresh Prince did.

I've been playing around in CAW and I think this is what you want. As you can see I'm not a very good builder and the world only took a few minutes and I've yet to play test it but it looks pretty awesome. I'll test it to see if you can put lots down on a sunken lot and what the sims reation is to a lot covered in water ( I think they ignore the water). Plus I'm not sure how they will travel as the water is not route-able. May be subways
Screenshots
Click image for larger version

Name:  Ocean Liner 1.JPG
Views: 0
Size:  89.5 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  Ocean Liner 2.JPG
Views: 0
Size:  74.6 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  Ocean Liner 3.JPG
Views: 0
Size:  58.3 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  Ocean Liner CAW.JPG
Views: 0
Size:  94.1 KB  
Last edited by LadyAngua : 4th Apr 2012 at 9:04 AM.
Old 4th Apr 2012, 12:34 PM #23
LadyLollerskates
Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 56


OP, can I ask how you managed to merge the lots together?
Old 4th Apr 2012, 10:35 PM #24
Riptide651
Top Secret Researcher

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,662
Thanks: 599 in 6 Posts
7 Achievements

View My Journal


@Lady Angua, does the water go into the floor of the ship? because that could be a problem. You might also have routing problem on your hands if there are no roads, and the sims cant go to other lots.

Also, this feels like it belongs more if CFF than here...

Why did I move here? I guess it was the weather.

GTA V
Old 6th Apr 2012, 4:46 PM #25
zelda101
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
1 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyAngua
That's what I was visualizing as well. I couldn't stop thinking about this last night, it has great potential as a vacation spot. A talented mesher could create fake ship pieces to cover the gaps, it would have to be custom built to fit the building and the lots could be sunk so the ship is really in the water, like Fresh Prince did.

I've been playing around in CAW and I think this is what you want. As you can see I'm not a very good builder and the world only took a few minutes and I've yet to play test it but it looks pretty awesome. I'll test it to see if you can put lots down on a sunken lot and what the sims reation is to a lot covered in water ( I think they ignore the water). Plus I'm not sure how they will travel as the water is not route-able. May be subways



Jesus thats amazing! How did you get the lots below sea level!? I havent been as active on the sims in far too long with college and all. As for the ship and the perfectionist I am, I noticed I'm a bit off with the floor plans, so I'm going to work on it a bit more longer. Also, the exterior is furnished, I'll edit this post later to add more pics. As for the subway theory, you can possibly put one inside the ships somewhere, but maybe it would be a good idea to create land nearby, maybe the water could be a port?


But as for the gaps, I think I found a cure, I noticed that you can put rugs over the gaps in between the two lots to conceal the gaps on the floors. I just need to find one that looks exactly like wooden floors. And you can use fences on the edge farther than you can allow a wall: but it's only one tile or two, it would work perfectly if there were a fence designed to look like a wall to download.
Closed Thread


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.