Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 3949
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 48 (Who?), Viewed: 127275 times.
Search this Thread
Old 14th Jun 2009, 2:22 AM DefaultBuilding an Aquarium pool in S3 #1
aphexZero
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Thanks: 7 in 1 Posts


Hello! This is my first contribution on this site, i hope you like it...

So this is what i try to explain:
There was a tutorial for S2 (http://www.geocities.jp/invisiblesi...um01/index.html to build an Aquarium.

What i did is to convert this to S3.

Since i wanted the pool to be on ground-level, i started like this:

11x6 pool

I flat the ground (3 stairs) +one square wide.
This is different to the S2 tutorials because i didn't get it to work on ground level! However this seems to look even better - Aquarium-Pool with 4-steps over ground...



[CTRL-Shift-C]
constrainfloorelevation false



[CTRL-Shift-C]
constrainfloorelevation true
Now build the walls on the edges of the pool.
One square over the edge that is...



Now you can see how it looks like from ground-level:


There is still a slope on the edge of the pool:


[CTRL-Shift-C]
constrainfloorelevation false
Use the flat tool from the edge of the pool to a 2x2 area


Then cut the half wall with the flat tool starting from the top of the wall




The problem with the above is that the waterline gets somehow distroyed!
If you mind forget about the flat tool and skip the last section.

Now you can fill the slopes with foundations.
(See the difference left vs right edge)




I hope this was somehow usefull for you...



Last edited by plasticbox : 17th Sep 2009 at 1:01 PM.
Old 14th Jun 2009, 2:31 AM
aphexZero
This message has been deleted by aphexZero. Reason: unimportant
Old 14th Jun 2009, 6:14 AM #2
VICIOUS713
Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 55
Thanks: 75 in 3 Posts
3 Achievements


This is fantastic! Thanks for sharing!
Old 14th Jun 2009, 11:22 PM DefaultThis is how the lot looks like now... #3
aphexZero
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Thanks: 7 in 1 Posts


Okay, the rocks on the roof look a bit unusual, but they do look good at night with the spots! I'd like to have some kind of garden there, but it seems to be impossible...

The chimney doesn't look good. This is because i used half-walls for the roof.
I don't see a way to cut it, yet.

I tried to use standard objects for the household. Most of them are recolored to match each other.

I decided not to flatten the pools edges to keep the nice waterline.
Instead i changed the wallpapers. Now the triangular shape look like shadows, as you can see below.

From here you have a good view on the pool!
Old 18th Jun 2009, 1:45 PM #4
crazyharry
Test Subject

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9


Thanks for the guide. After some mistakes I use to have a nice pool with a nice small fitness room.


After finishing all that stuff I was shocked about my pond. Ok, i can use it as a skatepark. ^^

Old 19th Jun 2009, 4:47 PM #5
akven
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 65
Thanks: 309 in 3 Posts
6 Achievements


the difference between sims 2 instructions and sims3 instructions: none. i am not surprised. i do not have the game, but from this it is looking like the build tools in ts3 are mostly just the same as in ts2.
Old 19th Jun 2009, 5:48 PM #6
Mootilda
Site Helper

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14,403
Thanks: 33151 in 158 Posts
27 Achievements

View My Journal


I believe that this is why TS2 and TS3 building stuff share a forum.
Old 20th Jun 2009, 7:27 PM #7
xiaohuan
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3


thanks, that's so beautiful~~~
Old 23rd Jun 2009, 11:17 PM #8
skdisk07
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1


how do i get rid of the empty space in the middle where windows are standing??
i keep getting the space
Last edited by skdisk07 : 25th Jun 2009 at 3:26 AM.
Old 26th Jun 2009, 2:02 AM #9
mydeadlypassion
Test Subject

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24


I want your lot! It's so pretty, and I can never manage to make stuff like that in my game!
Old 26th Jun 2009, 10:24 AM #10
austin316hockey
Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19


Sweet! Thanks for sharing the tip, I'll have to give it a try!
Old 28th Jun 2009, 8:49 AM #11
elektro
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 33
Thanks: 1027 in 6 Posts
7 Achievements


this is fantastic! thank you for showing us how to do this!

Slowly creating TS3 patterns!
Old 28th Jun 2009, 9:47 PM #12
Julee...
Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8


wowww awesome!!! thanks for sharing it

...?
Old 29th Jun 2009, 1:57 AM #13
Snk211
Test Subject

Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5


Wow, now that is something I would have never thought of! Great job!

Where do people come up with ideas like this?!
Old 29th Jun 2009, 7:15 AM #14
xiaohuan
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3


i built an aquarium pool today... succeeded... but, after i saved the building and try to play, the edge of pool changed like the picthure below




help~~~~~~~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 29th Jun 2009, 10:28 AM #15
Darim
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 87


Flatten out the pool base. Fixes your problem Xiaohuan, aswell as the water falling down near the windows.
Old 30th Jun 2009, 1:41 PM Defaultthanks! #16
gwenny
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2


thank you very much for this tutorial! It rules! :D
Old 1st Jul 2009, 4:10 PM #17
jokera_us
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 59


thanks for this tutorial! i had a blast with the constrain cheat the other night. i had my sim living in his pool. a table, chairs,fridge. i couldnt get the microwave to lower in the water.

thanks again
Old 2nd Jul 2009, 12:59 PM #18
mgjv
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3


Quote:
Originally Posted by Darim
Flatten out the pool base. Fixes your problem Xiaohuan, aswell as the water falling down near the windows.


I don't think it does fix the problem. I had a perfect looking swimming pool while building the house, and I had flattened the pool bottom. Saved it, came back later and the waterline is all mucked up like in the above picture. Tried it a few times now, and end up with the same problem each time, some times during the build process, some times after saving and returning to it.
Old 2nd Jul 2009, 1:41 PM #19
gwenny
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2


Thanks for the great tutorial! However, I was hoping you could help. When I tried this I was able to get as far as cutting the wall in half but I can't seem to get further. Do you know how I can cut the wall in half? The flat too won't let me start at the top of the wall. Thanks for your help!
Old 2nd Jul 2009, 7:30 PM #20
psaop
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14


I've been trying to do this and I thought everything was going perfectly until:

1: I tried to eliminate the sloped gap between the terrain and my basement wall - this causes the wall to go flying up.

So I gave up on that and figured it wasn't that big of a deal.

2: I then tried to set up the foundation around it, which I did, along with the walls of the main floor. When I went to do the floor tiles for the main floor, I couldn't. Only some of them were placeable and they were all skewed as if not properly levelled (and the lower level IS levelled....)

HELP!!!!
Old 4th Jul 2009, 10:46 AM #21
lewisb40
Mad Poster

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,432
Thanks: 2510 in 31 Posts
9 Achievements


Your lot looks good. I see you mentioned that you were not satisfied with the chimney. With "moveobjects on" you can remove parts of the chimney, making them the height you want. You all may know this, already. :D

Resident member of The Receptacle Refugees
Let's help fund mammograms for everyone. If you want to help, Click To Give @ The Breast Cancer Site Your click is free. Thank you.
Old 7th Jul 2009, 1:42 AM #22
gahman900
Test Subject

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5


can u do this with a lake in ts2?
Old 7th Jul 2009, 8:00 PM #23
Aquateen
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 17


I'm not understanding how you did certain things.... First of all how you made the wall go over the pool, second of all how you did the windows...

Edit: Nevermind I got that part...

but..

Quote:
Then cut the half wall with the flat tool starting from the top of the wall


Whenever I do this it just makes the half wall bigger/longer.
Last edited by Aquateen : 7th Jul 2009 at 8:29 PM.
Old 11th Jul 2009, 3:19 AM #24
lilartistgrrl
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 112
Thanks: 416 in 7 Posts
5 Achievements


Thank you so much for this incredible tutorial! I've been wanting to do this and didn't think it was possible. Now I can finally build my dream home!
Old 15th Jul 2009, 1:13 PM #25
Splutnov
Test Subject

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2


I don't understand how to get
[CTRL-Shift-C]
constrainfloorelevation false
Use the flat tool from the edge of the pool to a 2x2 area

And
Then cut the half wall with the flat tool starting from the top of the wall
That.

My walls stay just like this:



Someone, please, help.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.