Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1072
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 74 (Who?), Viewed: 97079 times.
Search this Thread
Old 13th Mar 2009, 9:35 PM #26
Solowren
Test Subject

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 31


It changed all of them this time without ignoring any.
Old 13th Mar 2009, 9:44 PM #27
CatOfEvilGenius
Original Poster

Not actually evil.

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,179
Thanks: 99709 in 247 Posts
33 Achievements

View My Journal


Solowren Thanks for reporting. So the filenameTooltip_log.txt file had no filenames in it then? If it had no filenames, that's good.

Please spay or neuter your pets. --- Cat Music Video! --- my meshes
Old 13th Mar 2009, 10:00 PM #28
Gwenke33
Instructor

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 529
Thanks: 20908 in 42 Posts
16 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by CatOfEvilGenius
New Version - 20090311 beta

* plays nice with Wardrobe Wrangler, will change files modified by WW
* tooltip can be filename, user text, or both (feature requested by Gwenke)


I can't test now, but it sounds wonderful. As for my request, may I clarify a little better? I would like the ability to add the filename to the existing tooltip, rather than set the tooltip to custom text + filename. At least that's how I understand it would currently work.
(I already have descriptive tooltips for most things, and adding filenames to that would be great, but replacing the existing tooltips with anything I have to type anew + the filename would not really be of benefit.)
Old 13th Mar 2009, 10:25 PM #29
CatOfEvilGenius
Original Poster

Not actually evil.

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,179
Thanks: 99709 in 247 Posts
33 Achievements

View My Journal


Gwenke33 Your request is quite doable. I'll see about putting it in the next version, probably sometime next week. How about this for the UI? I could add two radio buttons below the "existing" checkbox.

checkbox: change existing tooltip
..radio button: replace
..radio button: append

The filename + user text is useful for me when filenames don't have the creator name in them. I label those filename + creatorName.

Please spay or neuter your pets. --- Cat Music Video! --- my meshes
Old 13th Mar 2009, 10:51 PM #30
Gwenke33
Instructor

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 529
Thanks: 20908 in 42 Posts
16 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by CatOfEvilGenius
Gwenke33 Your request is quite doable. I'll see about putting it in the next version, probably sometime next week. How about this for the UI? I could add two radio buttons below the "existing" checkbox.

checkbox: change existing tooltip
..radio button: replace
..radio button: append

The filename + user text is useful for me when filenames don't have the creator name in them. I label those filename + creatorName.


Wow, that was quick. Thank you, the radio buttons will be perfect.
As for the next version: have you looked into the ability to actually select from the final file list which files you want to process, rather than the program looking at all of them?
Old 13th Mar 2009, 10:58 PM #31
CatOfEvilGenius
Original Poster

Not actually evil.

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,179
Thanks: 99709 in 247 Posts
33 Achievements

View My Journal


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwenke33
As for the next version: have you looked into the ability to actually select from the final file list which files you want to process, rather than the program looking at all of them?

That feature is planned, just not sure when I'll have it. The file browser I use does support selection and removal, I just haven't put that in yet.

I also plan to have directory selection (all files in selected directory) and recursive directory selection (all files, all subdirectories, all files in subdirectories, etc.). That may be a bit harder because I'm using FLTK and FLTK may or may not let me do that, we'll see. May need to use a different UI library.

For right now though, I'm focusing on changing tooltips correctly, and only in the appropriate files. Will iron out the UI details once I'm sure tooltips are 100% correct.

Please spay or neuter your pets. --- Cat Music Video! --- my meshes
Old 18th Mar 2009, 6:17 AM #32
Jalynna
Test Subject

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5


I have been trying to organize my downloads recently. I was using Wardrobe Wrangler to modify my tool tips, but was not having great luck with that. I saw your new tool and decided to try it. I am not getting the correct tool tips in Body Shop.

Here are the steps I followed.
1. Open some hair files with your program - I had previous changed these files tool tips with WW, but they weren't displaying correctly in Body Shop.
2. Changed the tooltips with your program, used filename plus my own string and the Change Existing box was checked.
3. Received Changed message on all files.
4. Checked out the file's tool tip in SimPE and it was correct. The WW message was in the Str Desc field.
5. Opened Body Shop and still have the incorrect tool tip.
6. Checked my filenameTooltip_log.txt and there were no ignored files.

I have attached my files from before and after using the filenameTooltip.


Thanks for your help. I would love to use your program when I start sorting out all my clothes.
Download - please read all instructions before downloading any files!
File Type: rar Hair after tooltip.rar (1.57 MB, 12 downloads) - View custom content
File Type: rar Hair before tooltip.rar (1.57 MB, 7 downloads) - View custom content
Last edited by Jalynna : 18th Mar 2009 at 6:35 AM.
Old 18th Mar 2009, 6:59 AM #33
CatOfEvilGenius
Original Poster

Not actually evil.

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,179
Thanks: 99709 in 247 Posts
33 Achievements

View My Journal


Jalynna Thank you for the detailed report. I'll take a look at the files, but first, can you please double check that you don't have two copies of that hair? Not saying that you do, but if you did, the problem you're seeing would occur. Easy way to check is temporarily remove that hair from Downloads, and see if it still shows up in BodyShop. If it does, then you have another copy of it floating around somewhere.

edit: Does this hair need a mesh, or is it a Maxis recolor? I'm going to check which tooltip I see in my BodyShop, but if the hair needs a mesh, I would like that please.

Please spay or neuter your pets. --- Cat Music Video! --- my meshes
Last edited by CatOfEvilGenius : 18th Mar 2009 at 7:07 AM.
Old 18th Mar 2009, 2:31 PM #34
Jalynna
Test Subject

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5


There were no other copies of the hair - my downloads folder was clean except for those 4 files. It is a Maxis recolor.

Thanks for the quick response.
Old 19th Mar 2009, 2:10 AM #35
CatOfEvilGenius
Original Poster

Not actually evil.

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,179
Thanks: 99709 in 247 Posts
33 Achievements

View My Journal


Jalynna I put your "after" files in Downloads, did not make any changes to them. Here's the tooltip I see in BodyShop. Same as the STR# in the package file, has the filename of the package. Are you sure you don't have another copy of this hair, maybe in SavedSims? If you're sure you have no other copy of the hair, which EPs do you have?
Screenshots
Click image for larger version

Name:  tooltip.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  48.5 KB  

Please spay or neuter your pets. --- Cat Music Video! --- my meshes
Old 19th Mar 2009, 1:20 PM #36
Jalynna
Test Subject

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5


I am not certain but there could have been a copy of the file in one of my organizing folders, all of those are outside of My Documents/EAGames/. I didn't realize that those files would affect the tooltip information, but I bet that was my problem. Thanks for your help and I love your program.
Old 19th Mar 2009, 7:13 PM #37
CatOfEvilGenius
Original Poster

Not actually evil.

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,179
Thanks: 99709 in 247 Posts
33 Achievements

View My Journal


Jalynna To be sure, you can do a Windows file search, see if it turns up multiple copies. If you run into any more issues, feel free to report them.

Please spay or neuter your pets. --- Cat Music Video! --- my meshes
Old 21st Mar 2009, 9:21 PM #38
yetyak
Test Subject

Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8


I downloaded a bunch of new hairs so I could test out the newer version. No hardship, there... Anyway, all the hairs have the right tooltips; and there were no weirdnesses of any kind. Now I will go fix the grays and do the other stuff so there won't be any problems. Thanks again for this wonderful tool!
Old 22nd Mar 2009, 3:46 PM #39
HugeLunatic
Dancing Flamingo



Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,942
Thanks: 170879 in 262 Posts
64 Achievements


The Mac program doesn't work, it opens terminal and gives me this error message:

Bad CPU type in executable

Using an iMac PPC with OS X 10.5
Old 22nd Mar 2009, 9:12 PM #40
CatOfEvilGenius
Original Poster

Not actually evil.

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,179
Thanks: 99709 in 247 Posts
33 Achievements

View My Journal


HugeLunatic Thanks for that report. The Mac app was built and runs on an Intel Mac, not a PowerPC Mac. I'll see if I can find a cross-compiler that will make a PPC version. No promises though, I'm not a Mac expert.

Please spay or neuter your pets. --- Cat Music Video! --- my meshes
Old 25th Mar 2009, 12:40 AM #41
Jalynna
Test Subject

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5


Since my previous issue a few days ago(really a non-issue - just losing track of a few duplicate files) I have been testing this quite thoroughly. I have re-tooltipped several hundred clothing files and haven't had a single problem. Great work.
Old 4th Apr 2009, 12:49 PM #42
Gwenke33
Instructor

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 529
Thanks: 20908 in 42 Posts
16 Achievements


CatOfEvilGenius, are you planning a next version still (with the ability to add filename to existing toltip), or do you consider the project finished? I'm not nagging, just would like to know.
Old 5th Apr 2009, 2:36 AM #43
CatOfEvilGenius
Original Poster

Not actually evil.

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,179
Thanks: 99709 in 247 Posts
33 Achievements

View My Journal


Gwenke33 No, go ahead nag, or I'll forget! I am planning another version with the features that were requested: display existing tooltips, etc. I also need to find tools that will cross-compile for a non-Intel Mac. Next version maybe next week?

Jalynna Thank you for the report.

Please spay or neuter your pets. --- Cat Music Video! --- my meshes
Old 5th Apr 2009, 12:36 PM #44
Gwenke33
Instructor

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 529
Thanks: 20908 in 42 Posts
16 Achievements


I'll be looking forward to it, and keep nagging you then if needed
Old 5th Apr 2009, 12:54 PM
CheekyCharlieM13
This message has been deleted by Echo. Reason: Not relevant
Old 20th Apr 2009, 7:49 PM #45
Phaenoh
Doing all the things, and *mostly* not failing.



Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,630
Thanks: 124547 in 209 Posts
55 Achievements

View My Journal


Is it possible to only add to the existing tool tip? I'd love to have my tool tips be what the original creator wrote in AND what the file name is. That way between the two I will hopefully know who the creator was.
Old 20th Apr 2009, 8:00 PM #46
CatOfEvilGenius
Original Poster

Not actually evil.

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,179
Thanks: 99709 in 247 Posts
33 Achievements

View My Journal


Phaenoh I can add that feature in the next version. However, the problem is many creators don't put anything useful in the tooltip. I'm going to add a feature that shows you the existing tooltip, so you can decide if you want to add on to it or just make a new one.

Please spay or neuter your pets. --- Cat Music Video! --- my meshes
Old 21st Apr 2009, 8:01 PM #47
Phaenoh
Doing all the things, and *mostly* not failing.



Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,630
Thanks: 124547 in 209 Posts
55 Achievements

View My Journal


That sounds great! I find that sometimes creators leave their name in the tool tip (I do) or sometimes they only put their name in the file name. Unfortunately, sometimes they do neither, can't be helped then!
Old 21st Apr 2009, 8:24 PM #48
GeneralOperationsDirector
Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,628
Thanks: 26 in 1 Posts
1 Achievements


Will this be available for download from MTS2? I don`t like to go off-site for things.

This Space Intentionally Left Blank
Old 22nd Apr 2009, 5:32 AM #49
CatOfEvilGenius
Original Poster

Not actually evil.

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,179
Thanks: 99709 in 247 Posts
33 Achievements

View My Journal


Gen.O.D I don't understand your question. The link is right here on MTS2. When I finish testing this program, I'll upload the finished version to the tools section of Downloads on MTS2. Right now, the file is on a non-MTS2 server, one where I pay for web and storage space. I don't see how that's a problem.

Just FYI, everyone, I'm still working on this project but need to catch up on some RL work, so don't expect updates for a few days this week.

Please spay or neuter your pets. --- Cat Music Video! --- my meshes
Old 22nd Apr 2009, 8:21 PM #50
GeneralOperationsDirector
Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,628
Thanks: 26 in 1 Posts
1 Achievements


The link is here, but the file isn`t. I`ll keep an eye on this project; it looks interestsing.

This Space Intentionally Left Blank
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.