Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 5477
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 27 (Who?), Viewed: 17911 times.
Search this Thread
Old 10th Sep 2006, 3:35 PM Default"Is Chair a Booth" / "Is Sofa a Sectional" global patches - Discussion thread #1
Inge Jones
Original Poster

One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,346
Thanks: 9182 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


EDIT by Numenor: the actual packages can be downloaded from this thread in the Downloads forum.

-------------------------------------------------------------

These two patches enable the game to recognise cloned booth chairs and sectional sofas as such, provided you have not changed the Proxy GUID values in the OBJD resource (you should never have reason to change these values anyway)

Both are compatible with all games up to and including Pets, but of course you need an EP that knows about sectionals in order to use a cloned sectional in the first place!

Place the packages in your Downloads folder, as normal.

SharedIsChairABoothGlobal.zip
hacked global BHAV 0x0433 "EP2 - Is Chair a Booth?"

SharedIsSofaASectionalGlobal.zip
hacked global BHAV 0x0478 "EP2 - Is Chair a Sectional Sofa?"

If you are cloning a booth or sectional sofa to share, point your users to this thread to download the patch. It's best not to include it with your object, in case the patch needs updating. Having several versions of it could cause problems.
Last edited by Numenor : 9th Dec 2006 at 2:43 AM.
Old 10th Sep 2006, 6:59 PM #2
worship4ever0227
Field Researcher

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 279
Thanks: 10687 in 53 Posts
16 Achievements

View My Journal


Do what now? I'm making a picnic table with the bench made out of a booth.

Worship4Ever0227 ~ Visit My Site! SimSafe2.com
Please Check Out The Prayer Room.
Old 10th Sep 2006, 7:40 PM #3
Inge Jones
Original Poster

One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,346
Thanks: 9182 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Edited: post no longer relevant
Old 10th Sep 2006, 7:49 PM #4
worship4ever0227
Field Researcher

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 279
Thanks: 10687 in 53 Posts
16 Achievements

View My Journal


Uhm... I'm still not sure I understand, but here is the GUID: 0x0025354C

Worship4Ever0227 ~ Visit My Site! SimSafe2.com
Please Check Out The Prayer Room.
Old 10th Sep 2006, 8:05 PM #5
Inge Jones
Original Poster

One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,346
Thanks: 9182 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Ok download the file in the first message, unzip it and put it in your downloads folder with your new seat. That *should* make them work.
Old 10th Sep 2006, 8:09 PM #6
worship4ever0227
Field Researcher

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 279
Thanks: 10687 in 53 Posts
16 Achievements

View My Journal


Okay, I'll give that a shot. thanks

Worship4Ever0227 ~ Visit My Site! SimSafe2.com
Please Check Out The Prayer Room.
Old 10th Sep 2006, 8:23 PM #7
worship4ever0227
Field Researcher

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 279
Thanks: 10687 in 53 Posts
16 Achievements

View My Journal


Okay, either your hack or my bench crashes the game.

Worship4Ever0227 ~ Visit My Site! SimSafe2.com
Please Check Out The Prayer Room.
Old 10th Sep 2006, 8:29 PM #8
Inge Jones
Original Poster

One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,346
Thanks: 9182 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Well if you did anything wrong in your scenegraph thing, that will crash the game now as the bench is *trying* to work.

What I would be inclined to do is make a bench from a decoration and use some normal booth seats coloured invisible to put in the same place (using move_objects).

But if you want to, you could send me your bench and it might help us both understand why it's not working. Do you have anyone else's cloned booths in your game? Send it to me at [email protected]
Old 10th Sep 2006, 8:33 PM #9
worship4ever0227
Field Researcher

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 279
Thanks: 10687 in 53 Posts
16 Achievements

View My Journal


All I messed with was the GMDC, TXTR, OBJD, and Object Description files... right now I'm testing the game w/o my bench to see what happens.

EDIT: It was my bench.

oh, and no I don't have anyone else's custom booth.

Thanks

Worship4Ever0227 ~ Visit My Site! SimSafe2.com
Please Check Out The Prayer Room.
Old 10th Sep 2006, 9:20 PM
worship4ever0227
This message has been deleted by worship4ever0227. Reason: No longer relevant
Old 11th Sep 2006, 3:05 AM #10
worship4ever0227
Field Researcher

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 279
Thanks: 10687 in 53 Posts
16 Achievements

View My Journal


It's fixed and all done, thanks for your help

Worship4Ever0227 ~ Visit My Site! SimSafe2.com
Please Check Out The Prayer Room.
Old 11th Sep 2006, 4:55 AM #11
J. M. Pescado
Fat Obstreperous Jerk

Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,144
Thanks: 9516 in 37 Posts
14 Achievements


If you really want to make some kind of globally-compatible version for custom chairbooths, why not use a CT test so anyone can plug in a "Return true" answer? Then you won't need to collect all the GUIDs. Alternatively, test the fallback GUID instead. If creators don't change those, the game will still be able to read that it was originally cloned from a Maxian chairbooth.

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I cannot accept, and the wisdom to hide the bodies of those I had to kill because they pissed me off.
Old 11th Sep 2006, 7:20 AM #12
Inge Jones
Original Poster

One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,346
Thanks: 9182 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Well as I was saying to Peter yesterday that was one of the many things Maxis could have done that would have been better than what they did. Or they could have used a proper class scheme. Either way would have been also helpful in other ways, as in "find me all the possible toilets" when a sim needs to go, rather than looking at all the objects including tables and working out how much bladder they offer etc. At least that way it would be possible to ask maids to prioritise their cleaning.

The fallback GUID might work, but the CT adding would probably stump a lot of meshers. I'll have a think about that one, but in the meantime what I've started doing won't stop that working if we change over to it.
Old 11th Sep 2006, 12:16 PM #13
Inge Jones
Original Poster

One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,346
Thanks: 9182 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Ok Pes I have changed it to test for Proxy GUID and it is certainly working for my bench and Worship's. It's probably not quite as foolproof as adding the GUIDs, but one hell of a lot more convenient :D
Old 4th Dec 2006, 1:33 PM #14
Inge Jones
Original Poster

One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,346
Thanks: 9182 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


I have added the counterpart patch for sectional sofas, to the first post.

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 4th Dec 2006, 2:32 PM #15
blake_boy
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 159
Thanks: 34745 in 29 Posts
16 Achievements


beautiful work, thanks inge
Old 7th Dec 2006, 5:01 PM #16
jotapomba
Test Subject

Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10


Great work Inge, thank you so much.
Old 8th Dec 2006, 6:19 PM #17
haldox
Test Subject

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8


I downloaded this mod so i could use it for blake boy's new Dana modular sofa, but i dont know if it is this mod or the sofa that is crashing my computer.(computer restarts on its own). i have the sims 2 and nightlife ep. Did i do smth wrong??
Old 8th Dec 2006, 7:29 PM #18
Inge Jones
Original Poster

One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,346
Thanks: 9182 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Well it's obviously not crashing his computer, cos he tested with my patch. So that rules out a just plain flakey patch or sofa.

Usually when there is an error in the code of a hack, the game can crash but it would not normally crash the computer. Can you describe what you have to have just done in order to get this crash?

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 8th Dec 2006, 8:14 PM #19
haldox
Test Subject

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8


thank you for replying so quick.!

yesterday i downloaded his sofa and ur patch..installed to the downloads folder .and my computer crashed 3 times while in the game of course.then this morning i removed the patch and sofa files from the downloads file and it has stopped crashing. i know its not the lot i was trying to put the sofas into because it plays just fine now
Old 8th Dec 2006, 8:50 PM #20
Inge Jones
Original Poster

One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,346
Thanks: 9182 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Could you do me a favour please and put in my patch but leave out Blake Boy's sofa and just try to play with a Maxis sectional sofa for a little while and let me know if it still crashes?

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 8th Dec 2006, 11:18 PM #21
Dunefuture
Test Subject

Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49


Thank you
Old 8th Dec 2006, 11:47 PM #22
haldox
Test Subject

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8


ok i put back the patch .and forgot to also include the crash or restart is only happening when i push the save button..*SORRY* but yes it still happened
Old 9th Dec 2006, 8:42 AM #23
Inge Jones
Original Poster

One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,346
Thanks: 9182 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


!! In all my years modding I cannot think of any modding bug that can cause a crash only when saving!! Did your sims manage to sit on the hacked sofa ok before you pressed Save?

Unfortunately because of the peculiarity of your report and that there would be no error report to send me (it doesn't get logged when there is a full computer crash) I don't think I will be able to analyse this unless someone else reports similar, upon which time I can begin to look for a common factor.

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 9th Dec 2006, 4:32 PM #24
haldox
Test Subject

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8


Ok, no problem, i guess ill just have to live without ur patches and blake boy's new sofas. thank you so much for replying so quick .
Old 9th Dec 2006, 7:55 PM #25
Cynna
Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 15


Is this global hack compatible with the file that comes with Shaklin's sectional chairs? I think this might be the problem because my game has begun crashing as well when I added this patch. I hope this is not the case because it would mean having to choose between sectionals. I'm off to thes this out.

-- Cynna
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.