Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 3682
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 36 (Who?), Viewed: 42358 times.
Search this Thread
Old 29th Dec 2008, 9:05 PM #26
teril02
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 127
Thanks: 7285 in 83 Posts
11 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Inge Jones
You don't have to delete a .bak file if you can't find one. The rest of the instructions should work just fine without.


Okay, thank you. One other quick question. Is it normal that under the Object Workshop, when you go under Sim Type and such, that you should find two seperate lines for each career type?
-teril02

Life is a swirl of emotions, rushing through a raging river; one that no one can break free of...
- by teril02
Old 29th Dec 2008, 9:15 PM #27
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,363
Thanks: 9187 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Often, yes, because one will be the normal adult career, and the other will be the teen and elder version of it.

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 3rd Jan 2009, 12:36 PM #28
Gwenke33
Instructor

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 530
Thanks: 21418 in 42 Posts
16 Achievements


I have all EPs up to AL, but I would like to extract/clone a career (the Small Business aka OfB employee career) as it exists in Free Time only, for compatibility reasons. I believe the two are different.
If I launch object workshop, I do not seem to get an option to open earlier versions.
How do I do this, apart from installing the needed EPs on another computer?
I am pretty new to this, so sorry if it is a dumb question.
Old 3rd Jan 2009, 12:42 PM #29
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,363
Thanks: 9187 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


In Extra/Preferences/Filetable, there are tickboxes. If you turn off everything after OFB, and "reload" or "refresh filetable" depending on which option is convenient, object workshop *should* then offer you the resources as if OFB was your latest EP.

Please let us know if it doesn't work, cos that means SimPE needs fixing.

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 5th Jan 2009, 9:00 AM #30
Gwenke33
Instructor

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 530
Thanks: 21418 in 42 Posts
16 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Inge Jones
In Extra/Preferences/Filetable, there are tickboxes. If you turn off everything after OFB, and "reload" or "refresh filetable" depending on which option is convenient, object workshop *should* then offer you the resources as if OFB was your latest EP.

Please let us know if it doesn't work, cos that means SimPE needs fixing.

It seems to have worked. If I want to edit this same file again, do I tick the same limited number of EPs when I start up SimPE again, or is it just fine to edit it with the regular setup?
Old 5th Jan 2009, 10:16 AM #31
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,363
Thanks: 9187 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


You can use the normal ticks, but if you are going to pull in any further resources you need to be careful you get them from the correct objects.package etc, for the EP you are trying to be compatible with.

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 16th Jan 2009, 7:23 AM #32
joninmobile
Banned

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 109619 in 383 Posts
39 Achievements

View My Journal


ok I've made a career this way before, and was successful, but I forgot what I did! I have just one important question when I'm in the clone screen do I untick any of the boxes, or leave them all the same?
Old 16th Jan 2009, 8:27 AM #33
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,363
Thanks: 9187 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


In the clone screen (previously I was talking about the filetable screen) you leave the default ticks on.

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 17th Jan 2009, 3:18 PM #34
joninmobile
Banned

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 109619 in 383 Posts
39 Achievements

View My Journal


I'm sure this was adressed before, however newer versions of SimPE have come out since then.I'd like to know how to overwrite Maxis careers properly.
Old 18th Jan 2009, 9:13 AM #35
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,363
Thanks: 9187 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


If you want to override (not overwrite - you don't want to do that) an original career, clone it as usual but do not give it a new GUID.

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 11th Aug 2009, 1:53 AM DefaultA more detailed version please #36
Dougborski
Test Subject

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1


I need a detailed version on how to activate bidous career editor on SimPE
Old 30th Sep 2009, 10:42 PM Defaultis there a website with.... #37
sparrow_from_planet_astos
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 197


step by step intsructions concerning bidou's career editor thingy?
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.