Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Field Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 29th Nov 2005 at 6:16 AM Last edited by syberspunk : 29th Nov 2005 at 11:58 AM.
Default How do you distinguish between dormies you "live" with versus YA visitors?
Hi everyone, :wave:

I'm still very new to modding and I have a question regarding dormies. I am trying to make a simple hack and I need to be able to distinguish between dormies that you live with (the ones that are in the dorm lot that your sim lives in) versus the random dormies that either walkby and are greeted or dormies/YAs that you might invite over to visit.

The problem is, it seems that the Person Type, as designated by Person Data 20 (in hex, 32 dec if you look at an error log) is set to Visitor (1) for all dormies. It seems that the dormies you live with are flagged as greeted visitors (Person Type = 1, Greet Status = 1). Which makes them essentially indistinguishable from other YAs that you greet from walkbys or invites.

There must be some other way that the game can distinguish between them, because how else do the dormies you live with "know" to come back? Is it some kind of token, or some other field value that I am overlooking?

I've searched on MTS2 and SimPE, and I've looked at dizzy's bhavs table on VS. I've even went in game, forced errors on as many different types of sims, to generate errors logs, so that I can compare their Person Data and I could not see anything that distinguishes between actual greeted visitor YAs versus the YAs that you live with, which are flagged as greeted visitors.

I thought that Person Misc Flags might have helped, but I still saw a case where, a dormie that was walking by at random, which I greeted, still had the same value as the dormies that I lived with.