Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1713
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 5 (Who?), Viewed: 660 times.
Search this Thread
Old 13th Sep 2017, 3:29 PM Default[solved] What's igoproxy64.exe and vcruntime140.dll...Sims not starting? #1
jezzfrompleasantview
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 65
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life


Out of nowhere I got this error message saying that igoproxy64.exe is not working because vcruntime140.dll is missing and should be reinstalled. I ignored it because everything was working (for example I could play TS2 and start origin as usual), but later decided to fix it because it annoyed me.

I didn't knew what the message meant and looked it up on google. Most sites said this error was caused by an origin update. And I actually found these "programms" or whatever they are in the origin folder. A lot of people told me to download something called "visual c++" (latest version) from microsoft to fix it (again I had no idea what this exactly is or does...see where this is going?). So I did and I'm a 100% sure that I downloaded and installed it correctly.

The error message disappeared but then I couldn't start TS2 anymore. So I uninstalled that programm (btw I already had it on my PC but another version. I mean I still have the old version so I don't think there's anything missing) and decided to ignore the error message (that also appeared again) but now nothing is working. Origin doesn't open, Sims doesn't open...I have no idea what I did and how to fix it and since it's somehow sims- or atleast origin-related, does anyone here know what to do?

Fun Facts about me:
1. My name is not Jezz
2. I don't have any households in Pleasantview
3. Last time I checked, I owned 4 copies of the Sims 2
4. I'm one of the authors of this site
Last edited by jezzfrompleasantview : 15th Sep 2017 at 2:42 PM.
Old 13th Sep 2017, 4:00 PM #2
marka93
Mad Poster

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6,682
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 6184 in 39 Posts
26 Achievements

View My Journal


All my Beginning Hoods here at MTS. http://www.modthesims.info/member.php?u=7749491
All my Beginning Hoods as Shopping Districts plus Old Town. http://www.modthesims.info/download.php?t=523417
MooVille, a tribute to Mootilda and her fabulous lots http://www.modthesims.info/download.php?t=534158
Old 13th Sep 2017, 4:22 PM #3
Nysha
Née whiterider



Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19,716
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 42704 in 93 Posts
36 Achievements

View My Journal


Since your game ceasing to work didn't happen when you installed the update, it's probably unrelated. Just delete your cache files.

What I lack in decorum, I make up for with an absence of tact.
Old 13th Sep 2017, 4:47 PM #4
Rosebine
Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,010
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
11 Achievements


Try to update origin...

Je mange des girafes et je parle aussi français !...surtout :0)
Old 13th Sep 2017, 6:01 PM #5
AmandieLove
Forum Resident

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 825
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life


90% of my game issues get resolved by deleting the cache files, so I'd try that before anything else. Oftentimes I have to do that before the game will start at all, but it's only a minor annoyance IMHO.

~Someday my prince will come... And he better not bring all his hood's character files with him.~
@)->----- Place this ASCII flower in your sig as a thank you to all of our amazing moderators at MTS!
TS3 vs. Your CPU: The Solution
Shameless plug for my fledgeling Simblr here
Old 15th Sep 2017, 2:42 PM #6
jezzfrompleasantview
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 65
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life


Thanks for all the help, I completetly forgot about the cache files...The game runs now, the error message is still there but I decided to not care about it

Fun Facts about me:
1. My name is not Jezz
2. I don't have any households in Pleasantview
3. Last time I checked, I owned 4 copies of the Sims 2
4. I'm one of the authors of this site
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.