Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 3666
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 431 (Who?), Viewed: 196092 times.
Search this Thread
Old 17th Feb 2008, 7:52 PM #401
Numenor
The ModFather



Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,395
Thanks: 220910 in 162 Posts
39 Achievements

View My Journal


At step 20, you should have a list of file types in the Resource tree, among which you should find the GMDC (Geometry Data Container: don't confuse it with the Geometry Node, GMND). If there is no GMDC in your package, then probably you have cloned it uncorrectly; in particular, be sure that the cloning option "Reference original mesh" is NOT selected, when cloning.

PS: if you don't see the Resource Tree at all, then you just have to enlarge the SimPE window.

I've finally started my Journal. Information only, no questions.

My latest activity: CEP 9.2.0! - AnyGameStarter 2.1.1 (UPD) - Scriptorium v.2.2f - Photo & Plaques hide with walls - Magazine Rack (UPD) - Animated Windows Hack (UPD) - Custom Instrument Hack (UPD) - Drivable Cars Without Nightlife (UPD) - Courtesy Lights (FIX) - Custom Fence-Arches - Painting-TV - Smarter Lights (UPD)


I *DON'T* accept requests, sorry.
Old 18th Mar 2008, 5:51 AM #402
taureanbeauty81
Test Subject

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1119 in 3 Posts
7 Achievements


I've done everything correctly, and I'm stuck at step 20 as well.
Old 20th Mar 2008, 1:50 AM
joninmobile
This message has been deleted by joninmobile. Reason: problem solved!
Old 28th May 2008, 12:22 AM
kram215
This message has been deleted by kram215.
Old 8th Jun 2008, 4:08 AM #403
rawritssean
Test Subject

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 14


hello! i know you probably get SOOO many questions but
could someone tell me what the end table folder is in step 7?
i am totally lost on that!
Old 8th Jun 2008, 11:05 AM #404
Numenor
The ModFather



Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,395
Thanks: 220910 in 162 Posts
39 Achievements

View My Journal


The mentioned "End table folder" is a folder created by yourself, somewhere on your hard disk, purposely to store the temporary files needed for the tutorial. The only requirement is to create this folder outside the EA Games folder!

I've finally started my Journal. Information only, no questions.

My latest activity: CEP 9.2.0! - AnyGameStarter 2.1.1 (UPD) - Scriptorium v.2.2f - Photo & Plaques hide with walls - Magazine Rack (UPD) - Animated Windows Hack (UPD) - Custom Instrument Hack (UPD) - Drivable Cars Without Nightlife (UPD) - Courtesy Lights (FIX) - Custom Fence-Arches - Painting-TV - Smarter Lights (UPD)


I *DON'T* accept requests, sorry.
Old 8th Jun 2008, 7:35 PM #405
rawritssean
Test Subject

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 14


Oh, okay. Thanks.
^.^ You'd think I would have thought of that.
Old 10th Jul 2008, 3:37 AM #406
soccerskyman
Test Subject

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1047 in 4 Posts
7 Achievements


I tried this and when I uplode the mesh in SimPE, You can only see one face of the mesh at a time and everything else is invisible. when you turn the camera, the visible face turns invisible, and a different face turns visible. (that sounds counfusing) What am I doing wrong?
Last edited by soccerskyman : 10th Jul 2008 at 7:17 PM.
Old 21st Sep 2008, 9:46 AM #407
Blame Halo 3
Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5


Thanks Mod BV
Old 7th Oct 2008, 3:25 AM #408
erdasydney
Test Subject

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3


i think i misunderstood step 11?! and i DO NOT get step 20 AT ALL!
Old 15th Oct 2008, 7:14 PM #409
Bectaaa
Test Subject

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5


THANK YOU!!!! I have been waiting so long for an object tutorial that doesn't involve Milkshape. This is so brilliant! please make more! I want to know how to do everything without milkshape! Thanks!
Old 16th Oct 2008, 2:01 PM #410
Numenor
The ModFather



Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,395
Thanks: 220910 in 162 Posts
39 Achievements

View My Journal


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bectaaa
I want to know how to do everything without milkshape! Thanks!

You can't As long as you deal with non-animated meshes, then Wings is wonderful (I use it, too); but when it comes to work with joints, and animated meshes (including clothings), then Milkshape is the cheapest solution available, and Wings is no use. Almost
I dislike Milkshape, too, and therefore I use Wings to modify the mesh, and Milkshape just to assign the mesh to the joints; it's probably longer that editing the mesh with Milkshape, but I just don't feel comfortable with it.

I've finally started my Journal. Information only, no questions.

My latest activity: CEP 9.2.0! - AnyGameStarter 2.1.1 (UPD) - Scriptorium v.2.2f - Photo & Plaques hide with walls - Magazine Rack (UPD) - Animated Windows Hack (UPD) - Custom Instrument Hack (UPD) - Drivable Cars Without Nightlife (UPD) - Courtesy Lights (FIX) - Custom Fence-Arches - Painting-TV - Smarter Lights (UPD)


I *DON'T* accept requests, sorry.
Old 8th Nov 2008, 7:06 PM #411
Spidermonkey456
Test Subject

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 230 in 4 Posts
4 Achievements


Hey I have a quick question you know how at the top middle you see triangles? Well I see squares does that make a difference? And if it does how can i fix it?
Old 8th Nov 2008, 7:18 PM
Spidermonkey456
This message has been deleted by Numenor. Reason: Double post
Old 8th Nov 2008, 7:37 PM #412
Numenor
The ModFather



Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,395
Thanks: 220910 in 162 Posts
39 Achievements

View My Journal


It makes no difference. The older versions of Wings used pyramids, while the more recent ones use cubes, but the purpose of those icons is exactly the same.

I've finally started my Journal. Information only, no questions.

My latest activity: CEP 9.2.0! - AnyGameStarter 2.1.1 (UPD) - Scriptorium v.2.2f - Photo & Plaques hide with walls - Magazine Rack (UPD) - Animated Windows Hack (UPD) - Custom Instrument Hack (UPD) - Drivable Cars Without Nightlife (UPD) - Courtesy Lights (FIX) - Custom Fence-Arches - Painting-TV - Smarter Lights (UPD)


I *DON'T* accept requests, sorry.
Old 11th Dec 2008, 12:12 AM #413
Johnny ramone
Test Subject

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2


listen, i am making other object, and as i'm doing it, it as more then one mesh, how do I put 'em together to make 'em become one single mesh?
Old 20th Dec 2008, 10:18 PM #414
Rikachu
Mad Poster

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,689
Thanks: 1514 in 18 Posts
10 Achievements

View My Journal


I'm having a problem, after I get into the GMDC nothing is there. I can't access the materials
Old 19th Feb 2009, 11:35 PM #415
Echo
Retired Duck



Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,941
Thanks: 39929 in 27 Posts
27 Achievements

View My Journal


RiBlan, we'll need a bit more information. Does the GMDC file exist? Or is the problem that it has no data in it? Perhaps you could post a copy of the file you are working on?
Old 22nd Apr 2009, 12:39 AM
Kakashi4evr
This message has been deleted by Kakashi4evr. Reason: Wrong Thread
Old 23rd Apr 2009, 2:13 AM #416
Kakashi4evr
Test Subject

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 14


In part 2 I can't find the Geometric Data Container. I tried this before(yesterday) and it wasn't there then either. Am I doing something wrong? Everything else is right(I think).
Old 11th May 2009, 1:28 PM #417
sims2luver23
Test Subject

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8


Problem, I can't check the "material" box in step 21
Old 3rd Jun 2009, 9:39 PM #418
Lynn_aka
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 78


I'm stucked on part 8. When I click at object workshop it doesn'r appear this window we can see at step 9. What am doing wrong? Resolved that...

Now when I object data at SimPE, it doesn't show up anything where shoub be a box. Is blanky. Is it normal take several time to load stuff?

Forever young...
Last edited by Lynn_aka : 3rd Jun 2009 at 11:16 PM.
Old 11th Jun 2009, 4:03 PM #419
NessieCCullen
Test Subject

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5


Could somone tell me where that End Table Folder is? I cant find it
Old 10th Jul 2009, 10:24 AM
tj0nge
This message has been deleted by tj0nge.
Old 10th Jul 2009, 10:25 AM End Table Folder #420
tj0nge
Test Subject

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by NessieCCullen
Could somone tell me where that End Table Folder is? I cant find it


You have to make that folder 'End Table' by yourself. Just right-click on thye desktop, new, folder. Then call it 'End Table'.
Old 10th Jul 2009, 10:42 AM plugin view #421
tj0nge
Test Subject

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5


I donīt get that plugin view from step 12, on that picture:
(http://thumbs.modthesims2.com/getim...le=103092&stc=1)


SOLVED!
Beneath everything in SimPE, is a list with: package, resource, wrapper, PLUGIN VIEW (I needed this one) and Hex. Just clicked on Plugin View...
Last edited by tj0nge : 10th Jul 2009 at 10:49 AM. Reason: solved
Old 10th Jul 2009, 10:44 AM #422
tj0nge
Test Subject

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynn_aka
I'm stucked on part 8. When I click at object workshop it doesn'r appear this window we can see at step 9. What am doing wrong? Resolved that...

Now when I object data at SimPE, it doesn't show up anything where shoub be a box. Is blanky. Is it normal take several time to load stuff?


If you get a lot of objects ( for example lots of expansion and stuff packs) it will take a while to load the objects. I got that too.
Old 10th Jul 2009, 11:46 AM Step #43, too many vertices or faces #423
tj0nge
Test Subject

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5


When i' ve reached step #43, SimPE gives the following error:
'(...) too many vertices or faces'
I think I can solve this problem by making my objects (a fountain) less smooth, but I don't know how How can I do that or is there any other way to solve this ' problem'?
Last edited by tj0nge : 10th Jul 2009 at 12:14 PM. Reason: incomplete
Old 24th Jan 2010, 12:41 AM #424
mythrilgirl
Test Subject

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5


This is utterly amazing. I never thought I would be able to make my own objects! Thanks so much!!
Old 25th May 2010, 4:24 PM #425
FAFADA
Test Subject

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6


I have there sometimes a question: Now I have here 1 box and 1 cylinder as a table! But when I have said I want to be supposed to substitute TOGETHER material only one angular box that came there floated. I have tried everything, however, it did not leave. Please, help me!
Lots of love FAFADA!
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.