Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 3338
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 7 (Who?), Viewed: 7144 times.
Search this Thread
Old 10th Mar 2018, 9:09 PM Free Buffet on Community Lots #1
caoscreativo
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2


Hello everyone! I hope this is the right place to post this.
I need help! Please
I've just created a Piano Bar community lot for my active Sim who is a musician because I wanted to give him a place to earn some money playing the piano. He has no job, he plays the piano for a living (his name is Doremi Pentagram by the way).
I was looking for a modded buffet table for community lots with free food on it and I didn't find any. Since my Sim is a poor fellow I wanted to find one that doesn't charge him when used. When I visit my custom created Piano Bar lot with my musician sim and he opens the buffet table he is the one who PAYS for each dish. The other sims (townies) can eat for free. Is there a way to make the food of the buffet table free for everyone? Even for the sim who opens it up?
I'd like to create a mod myself but I have no experience. Can anyone explain me how to mod the buffet table or clone it and create a brand new one with free food on it?
I have the TS2 Ultimate Collection and I've installed and used SimPE only few times to recolour some basic objects. But if somebody explains me how to create this new object I'd be happy to post it here for testing and download. Can anyone help? Thank you very much.
Old 10th Mar 2018, 11:20 PM #2
Rosebine
Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,419
Thanks: 1369 in 19 Posts
13 Achievements


Wait a sec..is he Faso Latee's cousin?
I'll check buffet table for you. I never cloned one, but maybe I can find where the price and things are.

EDIT:
So, I got it to work, nothing is charged when your sim *serve Food* but i must fix the BHAV a bit, because even though the interaction for serving food works, the sim jumps instead of performing it.

RE-EDIT:
Ok! I got it to work nicely now. You still see the small sign flying up, but it says 0.
The buffet itself still cost 300 to buy, of course.

@caoscreativo
Let me know if you'd rather me uploading it, or learn how to make yours free! it is VERY simple.
Though if you'd like me to upload the one I just made, it would be nice if it fits your Pub's decor..so I'd need a picture.

Je mange des girafes et je parle aussi français !...surtout :0)

Find all my old MTS Uploads, on my SFS, And all new uploads Here . :)
Last edited by Rosebine : 11th Mar 2018 at 12:21 AM.
Old 18th Mar 2018, 4:23 PM #3
Goldenbtrfly
Forum Resident

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 823
Thanks: 2392 in 47 Posts
14 Achievements

View My Journal


I say upload it, @Rosebine. People will find it useful.
Old 18th Mar 2018, 5:40 PM #4
Rosebine
Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,419
Thanks: 1369 in 19 Posts
13 Achievements


That would be neat though, to have more than one model. I cloned the base game white tablecloth one to make this, didn't alter the mesh or the look at all.
I'll make a few variations and upload then. I can always write a small tutorial for Caoscreativo as well.
Thank you for your outlook Goldenbtrfly.

Je mange des girafes et je parle aussi français !...surtout :0)

Find all my old MTS Uploads, on my SFS, And all new uploads Here . :)
Old 18th Mar 2018, 11:35 PM #5
HugeLunatic
Dancing Flamingo



Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,386
Thanks: 178869 in 256 Posts
70 Achievements


What I would suggest, reclone and tick the box to reference original mesh. This will smallenate the file size, and you really don't need the mesh/texture parts anyway.
Old 18th Mar 2018, 11:38 PM #6
Rosebine
Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,419
Thanks: 1369 in 19 Posts
13 Achievements


Yes, this is what I wanted to do at first anyway, since I was just trying/editing codes..But! I did not, as I knew if it worked, that I would want to make my own mesh for it. So I left it there to be replaced by mine. Of course, the one referring to maxis will be a smaller .package, when I will upload.

Je mange des girafes et je parle aussi français !...surtout :0)

Find all my old MTS Uploads, on my SFS, And all new uploads Here . :)
Old 19th Mar 2018, 12:25 AM #7
joandsarah77
Needs Coffee



Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26,205
Thanks: 5524 in 62 Posts
30 Achievements

View My Journal


Sim wardrobe buffet already does this. It can be set paid or free.

"I dream of a better tomorrow, where chickens can cross the road and not be questioned about their motives." - Unknown
~Call me Jo~
Old 19th Mar 2018, 12:28 AM #8
Rosebine
Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,419
Thanks: 1369 in 19 Posts
13 Achievements


I guess, this is even better. caoscreativo wanted to edit one to be free, and was asking how to achieve this. There is now more options for him.

Je mange des girafes et je parle aussi français !...surtout :0)

Find all my old MTS Uploads, on my SFS, And all new uploads Here . :)
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.