Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 3958
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 7 (Who?), Viewed: 2368 times.
Search this Thread
Old 30th Jan 2018, 11:44 PM DefaultCan anyone provide a guide for porting TS1 hairs to TS2? #1
BkajnlConcepts
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 107
Thanks: 169 in 3 Posts
4 Achievements


Basically, the title. I want to port the beehive hairstyle to TS2 and I need to figure out how first.

Hello? Nice to meet you. I'm a rather small Sims 2 modder that well, mods (And seems to post a lot on the forums with seemingly with a lot of posts. Or maybe just around 60 but who cares idk how to count well actually I do but that's a story for myself.)

Check out my creations Here!
Old 31st Jan 2018, 2:08 PM #2
omglo
Theorist

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,119
Thanks: 307 in 7 Posts
4 Achievements


I think you'd have to recreate it from scratch because TS1 isn't 3D. @Azelanne did some TS1 to TS2 conversions. Maybe she can give you some pointers.
Last edited by omglo : 31st Jan 2018 at 2:47 PM.
Old 31st Jan 2018, 5:50 PM #3
mixa97sr
Theorist

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,153
Thanks: 657 in 9 Posts
5 Achievements


Actually no. TS1 sims are fully 3D meshes and I'm sure you can find sims 1 head with that hairstyle in the game files (I really dont know how you would export it tho). But I'm sure you can. The next thing you would need to do is delete face mesh and leave only hair mesh, fix it so it fits sims 2 head, retexture it so it has a better quality look, and then weight paint it, or whatever is done with the hairs in TS2.
Old 31st Jan 2018, 11:41 PM #4
BkajnlConcepts
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 107
Thanks: 169 in 3 Posts
4 Achievements


I beelive (xD!) I have found the files for the blonde beehive. I just need a way to get this into some editor. If anyone knows an editor that uses .cmx files can they tell me? I think this is a rather obscure format though.

EDIT: It seems to be a somewhat relevant format, but I still don't know an editor.
Attached Images
 

Hello? Nice to meet you. I'm a rather small Sims 2 modder that well, mods (And seems to post a lot on the forums with seemingly with a lot of posts. Or maybe just around 60 but who cares idk how to count well actually I do but that's a story for myself.)

Check out my creations Here!
Last edited by BkajnlConcepts : 1st Feb 2018 at 12:09 PM.
Old 1st Feb 2018, 6:11 PM #5
Giga
Field Researcher

Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 265


That is just the texture, and I'm afraid you can't directly import that to ts2. What you could do is make a proper ts2 texture and use that picture as a reference.

I'm not sure how to extract the mesh and which format it would be, and very likely the mesh would be way too low poly for sims 2. You probably have to make the mesh from scratch too.

This will be helpful when trying to convert sims 1 meshes into .obj https://www.kelahn.com/SkinTut3.htm
Last edited by MeowMixPls : 1st Feb 2018 at 6:27 PM.
Old 4th Feb 2018, 3:55 AM #6
BkajnlConcepts
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 107
Thanks: 169 in 3 Posts
4 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by MeowMixPls
That is just the texture, and I'm afraid you can't directly import that to ts2. What you could do is make a proper ts2 texture and use that picture as a reference.

I'm not sure how to extract the mesh and which format it would be, and very likely the mesh would be way too low poly for sims 2. You probably have to make the mesh from scratch too.

This will be helpful when trying to convert sims 1 meshes into .obj https://www.kelahn.com/SkinTut3.htm


This provides no use at all. I know that is a texture, I have the model and texture, the files are not .obj s. And I'm trying.

Hello? Nice to meet you. I'm a rather small Sims 2 modder that well, mods (And seems to post a lot on the forums with seemingly with a lot of posts. Or maybe just around 60 but who cares idk how to count well actually I do but that's a story for myself.)

Check out my creations Here!
Old 4th Feb 2018, 10:34 AM #7
Nysha
Née whiterider



Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19,777
Thanks: 43946 in 93 Posts
36 Achievements

View My Journal


To be honest, given how low-poly TS1 meshes are, it'd probably be quicker to reproduce the mesh from scratch than try to find an editor for that file format.

What I lack in decorum, I make up for with an absence of tact.
Old 15th Feb 2018, 8:01 PM #8
mixa97sr
Theorist

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,153
Thanks: 657 in 9 Posts
5 Achievements


Or subdivide and work with that? Sims 1 meshes are like low poly LOD, tho sims 2 does not use LODs.

And some of sims 1 hairs indeed actually fit on Sims 2 sims really well.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.