Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1497
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 4 (Who?), Viewed: 5043 times.
Search this Thread
Old 24th Oct 2017, 12:12 PM DefaultTS 3 to TS 2 conversion #1
Charity
Original Poster

Mad Poster

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8,638
Thanks: 3388 in 41 Posts
14 Achievements


I'm trying to convert a TS 3 object to TS 2. I've extracted the mesh and the textures and managed to open the mesh up in Milkshape and edit it, but I can't export it as a TS 2 mesh. It tells me Err: no quaternion values stored. I looked that up and it seems to be a problem with bone assignments. I checked a similar TS 2 mesh and the difference seems to be that the TS 3 mesh has a skeleton and the TS 2 one does not. Is there any way to remove the skeleton from the TS 3 mesh or is there another way to fix it?
Old 24th Oct 2017, 5:15 PM #2
simmer22
Mad Poster

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,470
Thanks: 3 in 1 Posts
3 Achievements


If it's for a static non-animated object, export as OBJ. You'll be able to import the mesh via the "import" button in the GMDC resource in SimPE.

If it's an animated object, you should extract as OBJ, find a similar animated object in TS2 to clone and then extract the GMDC from (like clothing), open the GMDC in Milkshape, import the OBJ, edit the placement, and reassign the vertices.

If it's clothes, you need a clothing conversion tutorial.

If it's a simple accessory or hair, you can export as OBJ and reassign to a TS2 skeleton.
Last edited by simmer22 : 24th Oct 2017 at 6:49 PM.
Old 24th Oct 2017, 5:54 PM #3
Nysha
Née whiterider



Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19,775
Thanks: 44061 in 93 Posts
36 Achievements

View My Journal


You can also just go into the joints tab, tick Show Skeleton, select all the bones and delete them.

What I lack in decorum, I make up for with an absence of tact.
Old 25th Oct 2017, 4:11 AM #4
Charity
Original Poster

Mad Poster

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8,638
Thanks: 3388 in 41 Posts
14 Achievements


Couldn't figure out how to export as OBJ, but managed to delete the skeleton. Thanks!
Old 25th Oct 2017, 4:27 PM #5
simmer22
Mad Poster

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,470
Thanks: 3 in 1 Posts
3 Achievements


There's an option in the "file --> export" panel, called "Wavefront OBJ"
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.