Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 6571
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 6 (Who?), Viewed: 6214 times.
Search this Thread
Old 5th Aug 2009, 6:32 PM DefaultWindow/Door walls masks & Diagonal Linking #1
HugeLunatic
Original Poster

Dancing Flamingo



Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,334
Thanks: 178162 in 286 Posts
69 Achievements


So I had to jump in on this as well, I chose to make a new window. I asked in the thread for the s3oc, but Inge sent me over here.

I am having trouble finding the wallmasks. The object works in game and places, is recolorable with the same number layers (?) as the original, but the wall cutout is still the same as the original. I have looked at all the dds files and none seem to be the wallmask, or at least what I think the wall mask should look like.

Also an issue, is the diagonal is not linked to the original. I am not sure where to find that information either.
Last edited by HugeLunatic : 6th Aug 2009 at 4:22 PM.
Old 6th Aug 2009, 8:40 PM #2
teko
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148


Wallmasks don't come with S3OC yet. With some fellow FAs we found out how to add them manually. See the link for the instructions:

How to do windows with wallmasks

Also you don't need to care about the diagonal windows because they don't exist. This time diagonal stuff is much smarter done.

Minisite

TSR Workshop
A Custom Content Tool for The Sims 3
Old 6th Aug 2009, 8:45 PM #3
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,318
Thanks: 9173 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Teko if you have any future information about how to find stuff cloner doesn't get yet, please let me know directly. It would be save a load of poeple having to do this task manually! Don't assume it's been left out because we didn't feel like adding it - it's almost certainly going to be because there was something we didn't know

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 6th Aug 2009, 8:49 PM #4
HugeLunatic
Original Poster

Dancing Flamingo



Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,334
Thanks: 178162 in 286 Posts
69 Achievements


Thank you teko, just as soon as I get my game reinstalled I will give this a try. I do like not having to do diagonals, but I thought it necessary since S3OC was showing some.
Old 6th Aug 2009, 9:12 PM #5
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,318
Thanks: 9173 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Basically it turns out that unticking Default Textures Only will get you the wallmasks. Though we're going to see if we can get cloner to go for the masks explicitly.

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 6th Aug 2009, 9:39 PM #6
teko
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148


Will do so, Inge. We've been looking for a solution without including all the other dds junk (if unticked Default Textures Only). Maybe it helps you to get the wallmasks automatically with the TGIBlocks we've located.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HugeLunatic
I do like not having to do diagonals, but I thought it necessary since S3OC was showing some.

Ah yes that's true. It looks like those are different in width when placed diagonal.

Minisite

TSR Workshop
A Custom Content Tool for The Sims 3
Old 6th Aug 2009, 10:00 PM #7
HugeLunatic
Original Poster

Dancing Flamingo



Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,334
Thanks: 178162 in 286 Posts
69 Achievements


So I think the wallmasks start at 17, and go up. I pulled 17, 18, and 19 and they look correct for my 3-tile window. If teko used 17 & 18, it sounds logical that 17 would be single tile.

But regarding diagonals, the window I cloned reverts to the original when placed on a diagonal. Some windows don't have a diagonal in s3co so maybe it is window dependent.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.