Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 6742
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 8 (Who?), Viewed: 3642 times.
Search this Thread
Old 7th Aug 2018, 1:52 PM DefaultHow do I edit the BHAVs in the Behavior Function Editor and get it to save my changes? #1
Squidconqueror
Original Poster

Inventor

Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 903


I'm trying to make a mod where the lightning won't change my sims' outfits and hair so I clicked on Electrocute Me - Set Burned State then clicked view BHAV and it took me to Behavior Function Editor where I found CT - Set Face Override. After I made my changes I closed down the BHAV Function Editor but it didn't save my changes and it went back to the default settings. Is there anyway that I can fix this?
Screenshots
Click image for larger version

Name:  BHAV Function Editor.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  258.6 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  BHAVs.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  363.7 KB  
Old 7th Aug 2018, 2:34 PM #2
Lamare
just a girl

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 5552 in 43 Posts
22 Achievements


This is probably because you were trying to edit the objects.package and SimPE prevented that. Extract the BHAV you want to edit, open it in SimPE, make changes and save as new package (or include it in the lightning fix package you have). When you put that package in the Downloads, edited BHAV will override the original one from objects.package, and this is how you modify the game's behavior.
Old 7th Aug 2018, 3:08 PM #3
Squidconqueror
Original Poster

Inventor

Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 903


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamare
This is probably because you were trying to edit the objects.package and SimPE prevented that. Extract the BHAV you want to edit, open it in SimPE, make changes and save as new package (or include it in the lightning fix package you have). When you put that package in the Downloads, edited BHAV will override the original one from objects.package, and this is how you modify the game's behavior.

Hey first of all thank you for replying to me. How do I go about extracting the BHAVS that I want and make my changes stick?
Old 7th Aug 2018, 3:47 PM #4
Lamare
just a girl

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 5552 in 43 Posts
22 Achievements


Hey. I'll try to explain it. Feel free to ask questions if I'm not clear.



See this Extract button? Push it to extract the BHAV you are viewing at the moment. It prompts you to save the file. Save it wherever you will be able to find it later. Then open your working package in SimPE (or create new one) and right-mouse-click somewhere in the resource list to bring up the context menu. From it, choose Import Resource or Add Resource (forgot the name of the option, but you get the idea), browse to the file you extracted earlier and add it. After you've made your changes, press Commit File (the button is not far from the Extract button) and then Save the whole package (File - Save).
Old 7th Aug 2018, 4:45 PM #5
Squidconqueror
Original Poster

Inventor

Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 903


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamare
Hey. I'll try to explain it. Feel free to ask questions if I'm not clear.



See this Extract button? Push it to extract the BHAV you are viewing at the moment. It prompts you to save the file. Save it wherever you will be able to find it later. Then open your working package in SimPE (or create new one) and right-mouse-click somewhere in the resource list to bring up the context menu. From it, choose Import Resource or Add Resource (forgot the name of the option, but you get the idea), browse to the file you extracted earlier and add it. After you've made your changes, press Commit File (the button is not far from the Extract button) and then Save the whole package (File - Save).

Thank you. Do you know what all the arrows are supposed to do because I don't know why they're even there?
Last edited by Squidconqueror : 7th Aug 2018 at 6:18 PM.
Old 7th Aug 2018, 9:52 PM #6
Lamare
just a girl

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 5552 in 43 Posts
22 Achievements


They point to nodes to be executed next after a given node returns true or false. The arrows help you follow the path, making the code more readable, I guess, like in a mind map.
Old 8th Aug 2018, 12:48 AM #7
Squidconqueror
Original Poster

Inventor

Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 903


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamare
They point to nodes to be executed next after a given node returns true or false. The arrows help you follow the path, making the code more readable, I guess, like in a mind map.

So does that mean that the arrows only point to nodes that are linked? I actually think that's a really cool feature that the developers put in so kudos to them.
Old 8th Aug 2018, 2:56 PM #8
Lamare
just a girl

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 5552 in 43 Posts
22 Achievements


And unlinked nodes are pointed at by grey arrows from nowhere. You can spot one on your screenshot.
Old 9th Aug 2018, 1:15 AM #9
Squidconqueror
Original Poster

Inventor

Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 903


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamare
And unlinked nodes are pointed at by grey arrows from nowhere. You can spot one on your screenshot.

I just like to say thank you. Thanks to you and your help I was able to make my first mod which prevents the lightning from giving your sims a singed outfit,hair and face. It's currently in the beta stage right now.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.