Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1495
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 6 (Who?), Viewed: 5117 times.
Search this Thread
Old 18th Feb 2018, 7:57 PM DefaultSlaved Object Not Picking Up Master Object's Recolours #1
lauratje86
Original Poster

Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,933
Thanks: 3395 in 33 Posts
37 Achievements

View My Journal


TS2 creators, would anyone who is familiar with the repository technique be able to have a look at a package file for me and tell me why it isnt working?

I am trying to slave a piece of custom furniture to the Maxis bedding. I have reached the point where the object is picking up the mesh texture but not the recolours. I have followed Kiris tutorial over on BlogSpot as well as referring to HugeLunatic's tutorial and although Ive remade the object a few times I cant figure out what Im doing wrong! (One attempt to fix things led to me game being unable to load any hood where the object had been placed - ooops!). It isn't crashing the game any more, but I can't get it to actually work properly.

If anyone would be willing to have a quick look at it for me to tell me what Ive done wrong I would really appreciate it! I am not sharing the file here as it is a secret surprise project but I can PM a link to the file :-)
Last edited by lauratje86 : 21st Feb 2018 at 3:34 PM.
Old 18th Feb 2018, 8:17 PM #2
Rosebine
Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,419
Thanks: 1376 in 19 Posts
13 Achievements


For this, I always follow JWoods tutorial, that I have downloaded and keep in my Tutorials folder. I guess, we all have our fav tuts.
http://modthesims.info/t/82227
Upload your object, I can take a look...or PM me, I can take a look.
EDIT:
Check your pm. It is now working as you want, I uploaded your edited file on my SFS as a private one. As soon as you grab it, me will delete it.
In the pm, I also explain what I did.
If any other questions, just ask.

Je mange des girafes et je parle aussi français !...surtout :0)

Find all my old MTS Uploads, on my SFS, And all new uploads Here . :)
Last edited by Rosebine : 18th Feb 2018 at 11:27 PM.
Old 19th Feb 2018, 6:57 PM #3
lauratje86
Original Poster

Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,933
Thanks: 3395 in 33 Posts
37 Achievements

View My Journal


Thank you for fixing it for me and explaining how you did so! :-)
Old 19th Feb 2018, 7:00 PM #4
Rosebine
Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,419
Thanks: 1376 in 19 Posts
13 Achievements


And you are welcome again!

Je mange des girafes et je parle aussi français !...surtout :0)

Find all my old MTS Uploads, on my SFS, And all new uploads Here . :)
Old 20th Feb 2018, 7:25 PM #5
lauratje86
Original Poster

Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,933
Thanks: 3395 in 33 Posts
37 Achievements

View My Journal


Not actually solved! *sighs*

I am having more issues with this slaved object. My slaved version overwrites the original (custom) object, even though I have attempted to change the GUIDs for my version (I assume that I did something wrong!). And I had to recreate the object as I completely messed up whilst trying to change the GUIDs and now it has stopped picking up recolours from the master object again and once again I cannot figure out why! :-(

Would anyone be able to have a look at it for me to see where I have gone wrong this time?! I can share a link to my file and the original file through PM if anyone is willing to have a look! :-)
Old 20th Feb 2018, 7:56 PM #6
HugeLunatic
Dancing Flamingo



Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,387
Thanks: 178879 in 256 Posts
70 Achievements


I can take a look if you like.
Old 20th Feb 2018, 8:05 PM #7
lauratje86
Original Poster

Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,933
Thanks: 3395 in 33 Posts
37 Achievements

View My Journal


Thank you! I have PM'd you a link to the file. I have managed to stop my slaved version from overwriting the original but it isn't picking up the master object's recolours for some reason :-(

**ETA** Thank you for your help, HL, it's working now! :-)
Last edited by lauratje86 : 21st Feb 2018 at 3:34 PM.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.