Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1618
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 8 (Who?), Viewed: 9688 times.
Search this Thread
Old 11th Jul 2016, 1:40 AM DefaultConvert this to Obj or make new Mesh? #1
OkamiFukuro
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 179


Hi! I was wanting to make this (http://www.sharecg.com/v/53936/view...Trek-Replicator) for Sims 3. However, I have no way to open the file type. I tried installing the Poser Tools for Blender, but they wouldn't enable, and I don't have access to the Poser program as it is way too expensive. I'm no good at meshing either, so I can't even make it myself (trust me, I've tried. It did NOT end well. >~<). So, if anyone has access to the program and could convert it, or would be willing to create the mesh/help me create the mesh, that'd be awesome.

Alternatively, there is a similar mesh for TS2 that may work, with a few modifications. Found in Blue Heaven Sims "Modular Kitchen" set (http://blueheavensims.blogspot.ca/search?q=replicator), it's the wall replicator. If it could be modified to appear like the one in the first link, that'd work too.

I'd like it to work too; as a replacement for the ITF Food Synthesizer.

Thanks so much in advance,

Okami~
Last edited by OkamiFukuro : 11th Jul 2016 at 1:52 AM.
Old 12th Jul 2016, 2:16 PM #2
Lyralei
Puffin McMuffin



Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,389
Thanks: 1087 in 11 Posts
18 Achievements


You mean as default replacement or just cloning the object? Because if you just clone the object in TSRW, it automatically comes with scripts and all so the only thing you want to do is importing the mesh (I guess it has only one bone though, like decor pieces, chairs, etc). So that will save you some time.

Also, you want to export meshes from SimPE NOT extract them (like explained in this thread: http://www.modthesims.info/showthre...68#post5052968). Just export it as a obj. Match it to the size of the actual food synthesizer, and it's about done!

Maybe, if you want to keep it base game compatible (And I guess EA just tweaked it's script and added it to the food synthesizer) is this object: http://sims.wikia.com/wiki/Food_Replicator
It clones food though, a bit different from the ITF food synthesizer since that one sort of works like a fridge. Although, i guess it's possible to make it BG compatible when it comes to the script.
Old 12th Jul 2016, 4:53 PM #3
OkamiFukuro
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 179


I only meant as an object clone, and I'm fine with it being the ITF one. It actually acts exactly how I want it to, as the item I'm basing this off of works somewhat like a fridge. I wasn't going to make it the same size; just match up the openings where the food comes out and go from there since the design is only meant to be a wall replicator, not a full size one.

The problem is, the first mesh I linked I can't access, because I don't have the program and I couldn't get the tools for Blender to install properly, so I was hoping you or someone else could change the files to Obj or get in and extract the meshes or whatever would have to be done. The second mesh would almost work, however I'd like it edited to look like the image in the first link, or possibly make a whole new mesh all together. However, because I'm terrible at meshing, I wanted to get some help with that.
Old 12th Jul 2016, 7:46 PM #4
Lyralei
Puffin McMuffin



Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,389
Thanks: 1087 in 11 Posts
18 Achievements


allright, usually I won't do 'requests' but since this mesh is just fair too easy to mesh, I meshed and uv mapped it for you. you only need to make it the same size and height as the EA food synthesizer, add the textures to your liking. I did add an multiplier and a .blend file for you to open it up.
Download - please read all instructions before downloading any files!
File Type: zip Food synthesizer.zip (237.8 KB, 8 downloads) - View custom content
Old 12th Jul 2016, 7:54 PM #5
OkamiFukuro
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 179


Oh my gosh. Thank you so much! I hadn't intended for my words to come off as asking you to do it; I just meant to ask for a sort of... tutorial, I guess? That's not quite the word I'm looking for, but it'll do. Again though, thank you very, very much! <3
Old 12th Jul 2016, 7:58 PM #6
Lyralei
Puffin McMuffin



Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,389
Thanks: 1087 in 11 Posts
18 Achievements


No problem! Just took 5 min of my time and thought it wouldn't be so bad to mesh something really quick for you ^-^ But if you're looking for Blender tutorials, I would really recommend trying these out: https://cgcookie.com/lesson/first-steps-with-blender/
Old 13th Jul 2016, 12:45 AM #7
OkamiFukuro
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 179


Okay, so, one tiny question. For the texture in the bottom part of the inner box, it's only supposed to be a small strip across the middle. However, with the way it is mapped, it ends up like the first picture below (I filled in that little section entirely to see how the texture would appear). I've tried remapping that tiny area, but it won't change. Do you have any ideas of how I could get around that?

If not, that's okay. I don't mind just having a plain gray texture on the bottom.
Screenshots
Click image for larger version

Name:  Screenshot_2.png
Views: 0
Size:  55.0 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  Screenshot_3.png
Views: 0
Size:  99.4 KB  
Old 13th Jul 2016, 10:11 AM #8
Lyralei
Puffin McMuffin



Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,389
Thanks: 1087 in 11 Posts
18 Achievements


Oh wait... i'm an idiot. I forgot to mark the corners when uv mapping it. So I fixed that for you and you can keep your current texture, but you got to redo the gray texture part though >-<
Download - please read all instructions before downloading any files!
File Type: zip Food_synthesir fixed UV map.zip (150.7 KB, 6 downloads) - View custom content
Old 13th Jul 2016, 4:18 PM #9
OkamiFukuro
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 179


That's okay; it won't take too long to fix the textures. Thanks!
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.