Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 18th Feb 2009 at 6:04 AM
Default Love in the Sandcastle
-Introduction-

"It's not what we do that counts, it's who we do it with."

That was my Nana's favourite saying.

It's funny... she died almost six years ago this winter, and that saying still resonates around in my head as if she were saying to my very face; I can see the laugh lines around her mouth deepen and her eyes sparkle as she hands me a fragrant jasmine tea, her soft demeanor and sweet face encouraging me to "sit a spell" on the deck.

We'd jabber about just about anything - what I studied in school that day, how strong the wind was - she loved listening, and, let's be truthful, I did so love talking. She wouldn't want me to be any other way.

"Madeline Hammond, don't let anyone tell you that you ain't allowed to speak your mind," she'd say, patting my knee gently. "They'll call girls that speak their mind all sorts of nasty things, but that don't matter. They don't know the great things you'll do."

Her death still hurts, if I'm really honest with myself. But that could have a little to do with the fact that I'm still living in her house - our house. The place I grew up, the place she raised me in, the place that still smells just like her - Ivory soap and baby powder. The Sandcastle.

It was my grandmother's pride and joy - the Bed and Breakfast on the beach that she and my grandfather built right from scratch. People would come from all over to stay at The Sandcastle.

Every morning I run along the beach, two miles; and every morning, as I run back towards The Sandcastle, I can't help but smile.

It's beautiful, charming place - but there's something more about it. Something warm and inviting. To this day I can't figure out what it is that makes it that way.