Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1424
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 56 (Who?), Viewed: 24296 times.
Search this Thread
Old 17th Jun 2011, 7:23 PM DefaultHow does this basement peek out of the ground? #1
unghie
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 36
Thanks: 80 in 1 Posts
2 Achievements


I was looking at domangcop's blog and I found this house:

http://blog.naver.com/PostThumbnail...ntCategoryNo=11

How does one execute such a basement?
Last edited by unghie : 18th Jun 2011 at 8:59 AM.
Old 17th Jun 2011, 7:25 PM #2
HystericalParoxysm
world renowned whogivesafuckologist



Join Date: Tommorow
Posts: 23,185
Thanks: 363562 in 240 Posts
47 Achievements

View My Journal


Image link is busted. Can you link to the page it's on instead?
Old 18th Jun 2011, 12:06 AM #3
Volvenom
dodgy builder

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,194
Thanks: 6208 in 80 Posts
17 Achievements

View My Journal


Isn't that the guy with the walk-in-basement using the basement tool?
Old 18th Jun 2011, 8:59 AM #4
unghie
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 36
Thanks: 80 in 1 Posts
2 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by HystericalParoxysm
Image link is busted. Can you link to the page it's on instead?
http://blog.naver.com/PostThumbnail...ntCategoryNo=11
Old 18th Jun 2011, 11:14 AM #5
Volvenom
dodgy builder

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,194
Thanks: 6208 in 80 Posts
17 Achievements

View My Journal


All those pictures and they are all of the front! Makes me think the back is no good oh no that was only my slow pc lol.

Isn't this the house we picked up the open basement technic from: http://blog.naver.com/PostThumbnail...ntCategoryNo=11
You can build as many basements you want below each other, but here he has the ground close to the wall. Too bad these guys don't post on english sites.
Last edited by Volvenom : 18th Jun 2011 at 11:24 AM.
Old 18th Jun 2011, 11:48 AM #6
Tee Hee She
mature minion



Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 416
Thanks: 2516 in 12 Posts
9 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by unghie
I was looking at domangcop's blog and I found this house:

http://blog.naver.com/PostThumbnail...ntCategoryNo=11

How does one execute such a basement?


To have your basement "peak" out of the ground like that requires three quite basic steps.

I - build your basement where you want it to be (making sure the ground is flat)

II - use the cheat "constrainFloorElevation False"

III - use the lower terrain tool to drag the ground below the height of the basement wall

(optional IV - use "moveobjects on" to add windows)

Oh and always remember use "constrainFloorElevation True" once you're done messing with CFE!

Please IGNORE this post - Read on for actual solution
Last edited by Tee Hee Hee : 18th Jun 2011 at 2:48 PM.
Old 18th Jun 2011, 1:09 PM #7
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,362
Thanks: 9185 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


I just went into the game to try this... I still can't reproduce the effect in that picture. The top of the wall becomes crooked too and I can't find a way to straighten it without bringing the ground back up again.

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 18th Jun 2011, 1:28 PM #8
Tee Hee She
mature minion



Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 416
Thanks: 2516 in 12 Posts
9 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Inge Jones
I just went into the game to try this... I still can't reproduce the effect in that picture. The top of the wall becomes crooked too and I can't find a way to straighten it without bringing the ground back up again.


Ok, I'll investigate! To the mystery bus...oh no wait...just to the sims 3, silly me :D
Old 18th Jun 2011, 2:47 PM #9
Tee Hee She
mature minion



Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 416
Thanks: 2516 in 12 Posts
9 Achievements


Ok, so this is possible, not in a neat, elegant or simple way though...

I will get a quick picture tutorial up soon (I promise)

Just to prove it is possible and as a sneak peak -



To show a more elaborate version of what this technique can do -

Last edited by Tee Hee Hee : 18th Jun 2011 at 5:44 PM.
Old 18th Jun 2011, 2:56 PM #10
missroxor
The other one

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,941
Thanks: 2178 in 14 Posts
14 Achievements

View My Journal


OMG....the bending skills of that builder(s).....I have no words he/she's a frickin genius. I suddenly feel like a complete novice.

That's it, as soon as the little one goes for a nap I'm gonna have to investigate....but have a feeling I'm just not smart enough to figure it out

Edit: Beat to it by teehee

Guys, rules are good! Rules help control the fun. ~ Monica E. Geller
Old 18th Jun 2011, 6:05 PM #11
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,362
Thanks: 9185 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Hmm I don't understand how you get a roof on it.

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 18th Jun 2011, 6:39 PM #12
missroxor
The other one

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,941
Thanks: 2178 in 14 Posts
14 Achievements

View My Journal


I find the link that Volvenom posted fascinating. I've been working on trying to re-create it but I'm going round in circles, lol. I'm having issues with the simplest thing: for some reason I can't get pool windows to work anymore. Are they working fine for everyone else or is it just me?

I figure the back bit doesn't look like pool water, more like pond water but they must use 1 tile of pool or fountain to get the windows in....I think. I tried just flooding the basement but it looked pants...will keep trying (In the mean time if anybody know how to do this please put me out of my misery )

Edit: I did think about downloading it so I could just reverse engineer it but it downloads as an application rather than a sims3pack and when I try to open it my security checker goes nuts. I scanned it and it said there were no viruses or anything but I'm just wary of opening stuff up from sites that I don't know, especially when it makes my computer freak!


2nd Edit: Actually, I managed to do a flooded basement area for around the back and it worked fine. My current version is a bit messy, I'll try to do a neater version and post a pic.
Screenshots
Click image for larger version

Name:  Screenshot-5.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  202.2 KB  

Guys, rules are good! Rules help control the fun. ~ Monica E. Geller
Last edited by missroxor : 18th Jun 2011 at 7:02 PM.
Old 18th Jun 2011, 6:58 PM #13
Tee Hee She
mature minion



Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 416
Thanks: 2516 in 12 Posts
9 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Inge Jones
Hmm I don't understand how you get a roof on it.


The roof is on top of artificially lowered wall, same height as a foundation. That's why the rocks are used to cover the back where you can't place the wall due to the stairs

Quote:
Originally Posted by missroxor
I find the link that Volvenom posted fascinating. I've been working on trying to re-create it but I'm going round in circles, lol. I'm having issues with the simplest thing: for some reason I can't get pool windows to work anymore. Are they working fine for everyone else or is it just me?

I figure the back bit doesn't look like pool water, more like pond water but they must use 1 tile of pool or fountain to get the windows in....I think. I tried just flooding the basement but it looked pants...will keep trying (In the mean time if anybody know how to do this please put me out of my misery )

Edit: I did think about downloading it so I could just reverse engineer it but it downloads as an application rather than a sims3pack and when I try to open it my security checker goes nuts. I scanned it and it said there were no viruses or anything but I'm just wary of opening stuff up from sites that I don't know, especially when it makes my computer freak!


This was explored and explained in this thread I think, hope it helps!
Old 18th Jun 2011, 7:08 PM #14
missroxor
The other one

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,941
Thanks: 2178 in 14 Posts
14 Achievements

View My Journal


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tee Hee Hee
This was explored and explained in this thread I think, hope it helps!

Wow, thanks Teehee! That thread looks awesome! My pc was broke in January when that thread was being discussed so I guess I missed more than I realised

Guys, rules are good! Rules help control the fun. ~ Monica E. Geller
Old 19th Jun 2011, 7:10 AM #15
unghie
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 36
Thanks: 80 in 1 Posts
2 Achievements


Can't wait to see TeeHee's tut
Old 19th Jun 2011, 8:20 AM #16
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,362
Thanks: 9185 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Ok... I could do it with a "foundation" or lowered wall above, but doesn't this defeat the object a little as it still uses up an above-ground level and of course still suffers from the minimum 4-click height above ground? We might just as well use just a foundation to make the half submerged basement, as it does everything else required, including accepting windows with "moveobjects" cheat.

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 19th Jun 2011, 5:06 PM #17
QBUILDERZ
Captain Louie



Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,012
Thanks: 68496 in 143 Posts
35 Achievements

View My Journal


To me, personally, it looks like this:

http://www.modthesims.info/showthread.php?t=412319

With a stage foundation placed over it; the bushes cover where the gaps are probably located. I'll test it out in a second.


Changed my mind - I think Tee Hee Hee is actually right :P

Looking for a challenge? Do you like to build, or do you want to expand your abilities? Look no further than this thread! Join the "Groundwork" foundation challenge today!
But seriously, it will be fun. Join us.
Old 19th Jun 2011, 5:13 PM #18
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,362
Thanks: 9185 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


So that basement we started by talking about was never made by the basement tool at all, it;s just a foundation?

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 19th Jun 2011, 5:15 PM #19
QBUILDERZ
Captain Louie



Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,012
Thanks: 68496 in 143 Posts
35 Achievements

View My Journal


See, I still wonder how it is accessible without extreme CFE *inside* of the mountain. Has anyone downloaded the lot to check it out closer?

Looking for a challenge? Do you like to build, or do you want to expand your abilities? Look no further than this thread! Join the "Groundwork" foundation challenge today!
But seriously, it will be fun. Join us.
Old 19th Jun 2011, 7:13 PM #20
Tee Hee She
mature minion



Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 416
Thanks: 2516 in 12 Posts
9 Achievements


Ok, this is a bit picture heavy so I'll put it in a spoiler











If any of that isn't as clear as mud please let me know and I'll try to explain :D
Old 19th Jun 2011, 8:07 PM #21
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,362
Thanks: 9185 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


I understood it, but I am not sure I see the benefit of this over using a foundation? I think it would only be preferable if you didn't have to have the extra wall above, if you could have the ground appearing to be on top of the roof without rock camouflage. And then there are the stairs half way up the wall to make it look weird...

Thanks anyway for the tut

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 19th Jun 2011, 8:20 PM #22
QBUILDERZ
Captain Louie



Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,012
Thanks: 68496 in 143 Posts
35 Achievements

View My Journal


The only benefit is being able to place a window. With a foundation you either need two windows or place a wall - however, with the wall, the inside will become distorted as well.

It is really an issue of practicality vs. aesthetics (that are quite odd to begin with)

Looking for a challenge? Do you like to build, or do you want to expand your abilities? Look no further than this thread! Join the "Groundwork" foundation challenge today!
But seriously, it will be fun. Join us.
Old 19th Jun 2011, 8:25 PM #23
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,362
Thanks: 9185 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Can you not place a window on a foundation wall with moveobjects?

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Old 19th Jun 2011, 9:17 PM #24
Tee Hee She
mature minion



Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 416
Thanks: 2516 in 12 Posts
9 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Inge Jones
Can you not place a window on a foundation wall with moveobjects?


You can, absolutely...but the height of it is determined by the ground level on one side

Therefore you can't have windows which have the bottom 1/2 (for example) completely below ground.


Also the benefit of this is not having to double wall to hide the change in elevation as there isn't one (in the same place at least!)
Old 20th Jun 2011, 12:01 AM #25
Inge Jones
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,362
Thanks: 9185 in 18 Posts
20 Achievements


Oh that's a good point!

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.