Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 6758
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 32 (Who?), Viewed: 52340 times.
Search this Thread
Old 17th Mar 2012, 1:54 AM Lowered Garage method #26
megan10123
Test Subject

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1


okay so i built a house for starlight shores, and it needed a man cave. I could place the stairs cause a message said cant place stairs inside foundation. I had also had a "basement" garage in the house. (i believe the sim supply on you tube has a video for this) ans techniqually, the garage is outside the basement. Simply make a drop in floor. (constrainfloorelevation false* cheat is needed) and then add you stairs on the lowered not foundationed floor and bingo! You get a true basement.
Old 23rd Aug 2012, 5:11 PM #27
darylmarkloc
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 203
Thanks: 9959 in 32 Posts
12 Achievements


This is an old thread but no one seems to have posted a "stairs through foundation" solution without using cheats, so I'm adding it here now. Hold SHIFT when placing stairs from ground floor level (not basement level or ground level, but **ground floor** level). Stairs will go down from floor to floor, no worries.

I live vicariously through my Sims. This is a sad reflection on my life and theirs.
Old 13th Sep 2012, 3:40 PM #28
Mizz Rose Bud
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 66


Quote:
Originally Posted by darylmarkloc
This is an old thread but no one seems to have posted a "stairs through foundation" solution without using cheats, so I'm adding it here now. Hold SHIFT when placing stairs from ground floor level (not basement level or ground level, but **ground floor** level). Stairs will go down from floor to floor, no worries.


Thank you so much ... I just did it and it worked. I'm so going to have basements in all my pre-build houses now :D
Old 14th Sep 2012, 2:20 PM #29
genietwo
Test Subject

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5


My thanks, too! With this instruction, I feel I might actually be able to place basements in existing homes. My overly crowded Sims will be thankful too.
Old 5th Nov 2012, 1:53 AM #30
beep_sc
Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9


Quote:
Originally Posted by darylmarkloc
This is an old thread but no one seems to have posted a "stairs through foundation" solution without using cheats, so I'm adding it here now. Hold SHIFT when placing stairs from ground floor level (not basement level or ground level, but **ground floor** level). Stairs will go down from floor to floor, no worries.


Either I'm doing something wrong or this doesn't work anymore. When I click to place the stairs while holding SHIFT, mouse disappears and nothing happens.

I was gonna try the long text method from the previous page, but honestly, it's too complicated for me :/
Old 5th Nov 2012, 3:34 AM #31
etitepal
Test Subject

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1


wow thank you i have been trying to find a fix
Old 5th Nov 2012, 8:09 PM #32
Volvenom
dodgy builder

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,144
Thanks: 6198 in 80 Posts
17 Achievements

View My Journal


Quote:
Originally Posted by beep_sc
Either I'm doing something wrong or this doesn't work anymore. When I click to place the stairs while holding SHIFT, mouse disappears and nothing happens.


Same with me. Actually it's much better to
1. build a basement, then
2. add a staircase down,
3. build the foundation around and at last
4. fit the connection staircase to the one down to the basement.

If you don't wanna do that I have a tutorial a way to do it with the constrainfloorelevation cheat here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xcfj...ture=plpp_video
Old 22nd Apr 2013, 6:12 PM #33
espresso
Test Subject

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8


I've tried placing stairs while holding shift with and without the foundation. I received two messages : cant place stairs inside foundation ( AGH! ) and terrain too high. Which confused me.

I tried the constrainfloorelevation false/true trick but I still had thephantom foundation error ( AGH! ) I think the problem is the second floor?
ok I moved the second floor back....the roof? ( AGH!)

At least I can build half walls now. -sigh
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.