Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1292
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 3 (Who?), Viewed: 3329 times.
Search this Thread
Old 25th May 2017, 2:09 AM DefaultI can't extend the road in CAW. #1
Emmett Brown
Original Poster

Forum Resident

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 854


I may have made a bad mistake.
I put put in residential lots and then put houses on them. I knew the layout and planned on putting in the roads after the lots were in.


As you can see from the spoiler, I can't extend the road down the path I set for it.

In another part of the town I have the same problem, except that the road is well away from these lots.

I'm open to harsh but helpful criticism here. What did I do wrong? How can I fix it?
Old 25th May 2017, 3:59 AM #2
Emmett Brown
Original Poster

Forum Resident

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 854


I fixed it. Deleted the houses. Deleted the residential lots. Built roads. Put lots back...
Get this! Putting lots back in the two spaces to the right of the road made the roads disappear! So, I cloned 40x40 lots and move those into that space and it took that.
Then I put the houses back. CAW sure is glitchy. Did they really give this tool to their developers? Didn't pay their workers enough, imho.

Conclusion: Make a "lot" just to use to measure, then build roads, delete the "measurement lot", and put your lots in, then houses.

N.B. The more I work with CAW, the more impressed I am at the art and the completeness of some of the better made worlds out there.
Old 26th May 2017, 5:33 AM #3
SimmyRN
Scholar

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,126
Thanks: 25855 in 56 Posts
20 Achievements


Glad you got it to work! I've never tried to add roads after placing lots so I'm not sure what was causing your problem. CAW has more than its share of idiosyncrasies, for sure!
Old 31st May 2017, 8:45 AM #4
daisylee
Top Secret Researcher

Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,583


I normally do roads first and add the empty lots in CAW in the sizes I want. I then drop the built lot in the space in EIG if I have a lot that is done that I want in that space.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.