Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1497
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 8 (Who?), Viewed: 1734 times.
Search this Thread
Old 21st Nov 2018, 9:23 PM DefaultOld VW Bug #1
faerytech
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 103
Thanks: 72 in 2 Posts
3 Achievements


For my own personal use (not for uploading) I want to take the mesh from the VW bug (http://modthesims.info/download.php?t=400454) and change the stats, including price, to the stats of the sloppy jalopy or big lemon. I feel like this should be relatively simple, but I've never done any sims modding. Can anyone help guide me through this?
Old 21st Nov 2018, 10:12 PM #2
faerytech
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 103
Thanks: 72 in 2 Posts
3 Achievements


I opened it via Postal and was able to change the price but am confused about which lines change the cars stats (speed, buffs, etc)
Old 21st Nov 2018, 10:30 PM #3
faerytech
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 103
Thanks: 72 in 2 Posts
3 Achievements


Okay I lied, I tried to change it but can't figure out how to save the changes
Old 21st Nov 2018, 10:46 PM #4
faerytech
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 103
Thanks: 72 in 2 Posts
3 Achievements


Okay, forget that, I figured out how to use SimPE to edit price. Still not sure how to edit other factors. What are niceness and crap scores? It currently has a niceness of 1 and a crap of 0. Should I change this?
Old 21st Nov 2018, 10:47 PM #5
Ghost sdoj
Site Helper

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,701
Thanks: 93 in 1 Posts
7 Achievements

View My Journal


I haven't used Postal, but if you can't find an option that probably should be there, you can always try right-clicking.


Edit:

Try cloning the sloppy jalopy in s3oc. Then check the data it has. If you want to make your car equal to it, you can get an idea of what to change by simply matching its stats.

And don't forget to Commit before saving.

I am Ghost. My husband is sidneydoj. I post, he downloads, and I wanted to keep my post count.
Group for Avatar Makers* Funny Stories *2017 Yearbook
Old 21st Nov 2018, 10:48 PM #6
faerytech
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 103
Thanks: 72 in 2 Posts
3 Achievements


Do I need to change the name GUID so it doesn't overwrite the package that I'm copying it from?
Old 21st Nov 2018, 10:51 PM #7
Ghost sdoj
Site Helper

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,701
Thanks: 93 in 1 Posts
7 Achievements

View My Journal


That would probably be best, yes.

I am Ghost. My husband is sidneydoj. I post, he downloads, and I wanted to keep my post count.
Group for Avatar Makers* Funny Stories *2017 Yearbook
Old 21st Nov 2018, 11:33 PM #8
faerytech
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 103
Thanks: 72 in 2 Posts
3 Achievements


Well, I edited the things and committed and saved but it did not show up in game. Luckily my game did not explode either. But I'm pretty clueless as to what I actually did wrong.
Old 22nd Nov 2018, 1:25 AM #9
faerytech
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 103
Thanks: 72 in 2 Posts
3 Achievements


Ended up just modifying and overwriting the other modders package. Could not get the new package to show up in game. If anyone can help with that I'd appreciate, but for now it's fine.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.