Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 4492
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 8296 (Who?), Viewed: 732598 times.
Search this Thread
Old 13th Mar 2019, 3:03 PM #8276
CatMuto
Scholar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 657 in 23 Posts
8 Achievements


My game was horribly slow, even in CAS, despite using NRaas to hide the multiple choices... so, I'm starting a new folder for Sims 3, see if that fixes the problem. (I'll also comb through my CC, though most of that is stuff I've used before...) Though I recall I had multiple NRaas mods merged, and I think I accidentally had ErrorTrap merged in that, too? I fixed that, but the slowness was still there...

My question is, what is better: less CC packages, but merged into a big one? Or more CC packages, but smaller sizes?
The answer is probably less, but also smaller size...
If so, what would be a 'good' size for (merged) CC packages?
Old 13th Mar 2019, 4:52 PM #8277
Gargoyle Cat
Mad Poster

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3,566
1 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Elynda
Last time any of my sims had a live in butler he just wouldn't stop preparing meals. If my sims weren't hungry I had to keep moving meals into the fridge before they went off. And so that they wouldn't have to be continually clearing out decomposing carbonara or rotting ratatouille, I had to buy one of the really expensive fridges. These days I usually have a sim as part of the family - one who's a good cook, has the Handy skill, and the Neat trait, and just call him a butler.


Thanks. I'll pass on the butler and install the sim that I use specifically for nanny purposes.
Old 17th Mar 2019, 12:08 AM #8278
CatMuto
Scholar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 657 in 23 Posts
8 Achievements


I know that IP and Pets (and Seasons?) are the heaviest EPs on the PC. I wanted to ask, what are some of the more... 'lenient' ones? Generations?
Old 17th Mar 2019, 2:08 AM #8279
igazor
Mad Poster

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,095


Quote:
Originally Posted by CatMuto
I know that IP and Pets (and Seasons?) are the heaviest EPs on the PC. I wanted to ask, what are some of the more... 'lenient' ones? Generations?

Pets is the heaviest, Seasons is close behind. IP (using a fixed up version of Isla Paradiso or just not playing that world) and ITF I would say would be tied for third. Behind that, Late Night, Uni, Supernatural, and Showtime not in any particular order but these don't typically stress a system out unless the player's processor is too weak to keep up and can't even launch or keep the game running -- that would tend to be the older less than 2.2 GHz models that aren't meant to be carrying such a game or be running in turbo mode consistently.

Generations is not really stressful on a system, but it is actually one poorly programmed scenario after another. Gen, Ambitions, and WA would then be the least stressful. Note that travel transitions, especially if considering running them without NRaas Traveler, ErrorTrap, and Overwatch, are going to be jarring on the game so I'm not really taking those into account but thinking more of "ordinary" homeworld play.

Any combination of these EPs could be too much for a system that lacks sufficient RAM which these days would tend to mean less than 6 GB total.
Old 17th Mar 2019, 2:28 AM #8280
AGuyCalledPi
Mad Poster

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,826
Thanks: 654 in 8 Posts
7 Achievements


Didn't know ITF did much to slow the game down. I imagine the descendant system updates a lot though.

Look out for BRIDGEPORT'88 - it's the hottest new show on YT this season!
Already renewed for '89!

(Oh, and follow me on my Tumblr.)
Old 17th Mar 2019, 3:31 AM #8281
igazor
Mad Poster

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,095


Quote:
Originally Posted by AGuyCalledPi
Didn't know ITF did much to slow the game down. I imagine the descendant system updates a lot though.

Yes, without getting into transitioning to the future world repeatedly that is exactly the component that puts the stress on the game. Likely players on strong enough processors won't really feel the effects much, though.
Old 17th Mar 2019, 3:48 PM #8282
SneakyWingPhoenix
Mad Poster

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3,269


When is a Sim is classified as rich (might have asked this here a long time, but either I forget or never seen the answer). Tried googling, didn't get an accurate answer. :/

P.S. Sorry for my bad english.
Old 17th Mar 2019, 7:17 PM #8283
Mrmo
Inventor

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 913


A very stupid question: Is there a list of animals that sims can interact whit? I did try to make my sim inteact whit a racoon but she could just take a look at it, not pet it. Non in the family can interact whit the deer (not even look) and I have seen sims standing around a bird just to take a look. There seems to be no interactions what so ever. The family cat is a good hunter (mostly) and can catch ladybugs, snakes and such but that not so interesting.

As I did mention briefly in a picture thread I have seen a review of TS3 on Youtube and there seems to be a lot of animals in the hood after installing pets but where can they be found? The sims in the family I play have jobs so the can not run around the hod 24-7 and serch for animals (and I have not find out how to use the MasterController mod yet so I'm afraid to jump over to an other family. And even if I would it could take many (real time) days to find anything.
Old 17th Mar 2019, 7:30 PM #8284
Kylaaab
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 169
Thanks: 189 in 11 Posts
4 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrmo
A very stupid question: Is there a list of animals that sims can interact whit? I did try to make my sim inteact whit a racoon but she could just take a look at it, not pet it. Non in the family can interact whit the deer (not even look) and I have seen sims standing around a bird just to take a look. There seems to be no interactions what so ever. The family cat is a good hunter (mostly) and can catch ladybugs, snakes and such but that not so interesting.

As I did mention briefly in a picture thread I have seen a review of TS3 on Youtube and there seems to be a lot of animals in the hood after installing pets but where can they be found? The sims in the family I play have jobs so the can not run around the hod 24-7 and serch for animals (and I have not find out how to use the MasterController mod yet so I'm afraid to jump over to an other family. And even if I would it could take many (real time) days to find anything.


I believe there are signs that you can place on your lot to summon strays that come with pets. They are in the miscellaneous section of pet essentials in buy mode.
Old 17th Mar 2019, 8:18 PM #8285
CatMuto
Scholar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 657 in 23 Posts
8 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by SneakyWingPhoenix
When is a Sim is classified as rich (might have asked this here a long time, but either I forget or never seen the answer). Tried googling, didn't get an accurate answer. :/


I think I've noticed a Sim classified as 'rich' ([Your Sim] has found out that [Other Sim] is rich!) when they have about 20,000ยง as a household fund? Not worth of the house, but as the spending money.
Old 19th Mar 2019, 2:49 PM #8286
TheThirdWizard
Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 25


Today, after a break from TS3, I started thinking of a few stupid questions that I would appreciate if someone answered:

1.What mods/CC do you usually play with if you play with any?

2.What mods/CC do you occasionally play with if you play with any?

3.If you don't currently play with mods/CC, have you ever played with them? How does the transition from mod-powered to modfree feel?

4.Have you ever disabled an expansion with Sim Game Selector? How does it feel like?

5.Have you ever ecountered a bug which forced you to play another save? Have you encountered it again in other saves?

6.Has your will for creating the perfect game ever stopped you from enjoying TS3 or any other game?

If any of you have seen my thread in the Help section about my issues with UL and the time alteration bug, this is what caused me to take a break from the game and to ask those questions today. After playing any game but TS3 for two months and encountering another game-breaking, probably unfixable bug in another game, I decided that I want to return to TS3. I really miss enjoying a free playstyle in a game where I can do almost everything. But I really need to get rid of that bug if I really want to do it. As for now, I see my only options being starting a new save, playing modfree, or disabling UL altogether and forgetting about any plans I had with it.
Old 19th Mar 2019, 3:52 PM #8287
igazor
Mad Poster

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,095


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheThirdWizard
Today, after a break from TS3, I started thinking of a few stupid questions that I would appreciate if someone answered:

I'm probably not your intended audience, but here are my responses anyway.

1 & 2: This is MTS. I think most of us participating will say that we play with far too many mods and CC to even try listing them out or, if newer at it than some, we intend to shortly. It would, of course, also go without saying that I play with most NRaas mods in place (among many other mods).

3: Only when testing things out to establish a baseline where a new test world works as expected first. Usually even that would include a minimal set of NRaas mods to enable troubleshooting to go properly (Overwatch, ErrorTrap, Selector, MasterController). It does not feel good or bad, just different and of course new games with no or very few mods load up and save faster than with a full set. These would be for my own purposes but also testing grounds for new NRaas beta versions and releases being worked on.

4: Not on purpose. When I played the Origin/Patch 1.69 version of the game, that function periodically hid a couple of my EPs on me causing wastes of time on startup until I could get them recognized and loading again. Am on Steam/1.67 now, there is no way to utilize EPs selectively on that platform (the mod that does so doesn't work on Steam installs). I don't feel that I am missing anything, I paid for all 11 EPs (or 20 EP/SPs if we include those, the only one I don't have is Katy Perry) and want all of them loading on every game session.

5: No. I started playing my first ongoing save in late 2011. No one ever told me that we were supposed to start over occasionally, so that is still the ongoing save I am playing today. With Rotational Play (NRaas StoryProgression) and 16 Traveler mod connected worlds within it, I have no need to start a new ongoing game again except for testing purposes although I will add a new world occasionally and retire an old one when I become bored with it or find that everyone my sims knew or could have been related to back there has long since died of old age and I am not interested in reviving what's left of the world for whatever reason. Some of these are custom vacation destinations for my sims though, so they have never really been played as progressing homeworlds.

Of course I have encountered bugs and glitches along the way and have had to replay portions of this game at times, but starting over is not a reasonable option for me at this point. And with 200 or so backups from different points in time of this monster of an ongoing game of mine stored in various places, it shouldn't be necessary. Of course none of this would ever have been possible without NRaas mods and other techniques that keep the ongoing saves clean(er) and prevent them from falling apart through the generations.

6: No. I don't necessarily want a perfect game or even perfectly orchestrated game sessions. I want one that keeps me engaged, amuses, and entertains me, allows me to be creative, and progress through it as I wish. TS3 meets those requirements just fine. It could be better, it certainly could perform better and not be in need of so much "help" to keep things going, and yes it can be frustrating short-term when things don't work as they should, but for me long-term it is not in need of replacing. Some day I expect to be fascinated by other kinds of games, such as city simulations and civilizations types of platforms as I have been in the past and will likely wander away from TS3 for a bit here and there, but I can't really see another life simulation game seriously being able to replace it. I would have given the exact same answer to this question early in 2014 and the release of TS3's successor in the series has done absolutely nothing to change that. Will watch and wait on the next iteration if there is to be one, but with markedly less optimism than prior.

If the player finds the game's shortcomings, limitations, and programmatic flaws and their solutions more distracting and frustrating overall than they find the game enjoyable, then even I would have to say that for sanity's sake, this is perhaps not the best game to be playing and devoting large amounts of time to. That, of course, is up to the individual player.
Last edited by igazor : 19th Mar 2019 at 5:00 PM.
Old 19th Mar 2019, 9:07 PM #8288
CatMuto
Scholar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 657 in 23 Posts
8 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheThirdWizard
4.Have you ever disabled an expansion with Sim Game Selector? How does it feel like?


Yes, I have done this. I had Seasons, WA, and Showtime installed. But I wanted to focus on just the WA stuff and, since I noticed that WA worlds don't have seasons or weather in them, anyway, I just deselected the other two and played with just WA selected. But since I did this for a new save, I can't say I noticed any 'problems' occuring.
Old 19th Mar 2019, 11:01 PM #8289
Giga
Field Researcher

Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 277


@SneakyWingPhoenix

I looked into tuning and I found that if the overall property value is more than $100 000, then the sim is classified as rich. In the future worlds, the amount must be over $500 000.
I actually meant to look into this as I wanted to make the threshold larger otherwise, most sims in my game are considered rich which is boring. Let me know if you want the mod.

@TheThirdWizard Lately (for last couple years really) I have had my game in "creating mode" which means I only have the essentials to make it easier to test whatever I am currently working on. The essentials are Overwatch, Errortrap, MasterController, NoCD, a couple of my own mods. When I actually want to play, I have a plethora of my own mods, mostly tuning and default replacements, only a few pieces of furniture and a few other people's stuff. I have gotten really picky about CC e.g. I only have 8 or so hairstyles.

As for the other questions, the answer is no. Or maybe bugs that forced me to play another save when new expansions were still coming out but now that there are no more patches and the main mods are stable, I have not have to do that even once. I'd say that my desire to create the perfect game is the main force that keeps me interested in TS3. Sometimes I do get overwhelmed and I have to take breaks. Sometimes I lose my interest in games entirely but that usually doesn't last longer than a year. Sometimes I can't play even if I wanted because work etc. is keeping me too busy.
Last edited by Giga : 19th Mar 2019 at 11:24 PM.
Old 19th Mar 2019, 11:10 PM #8290
Annette19
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 105


I use the game selector all the time, but I also start a new folder quite often too. I have a testing game into which I put new custom content or new mods to see if they work. Inevitably I like my test sim and get interested in her story so put in another expansion pack....and another and suddenly the test folder is the real folder. So a new test folder happens!
I am trying to treat my 7 year old computer gently so if I want to play a resource heavy pack such as Island Paradise I do it in a folder without Pets or Seasons. Apparently they also make heavy demands on the system and I don't need them in Paradise, though the birds would be nice.

I have had game breaking bugs in WA. Sometimes an adventure chain can't be completed because of a random bug: such as the sim who gives you the quest disappearing and I just have to start a new game if finishing the quest is important. I had a case recently where my sim met a child in China who turned out to be her daughter. That was weird and off putting. My sims may not be the brightest but I think they would notice being pregnant. So I left that game and started another. Same thing happened to the new sim.......so a new folder was started. I haven't seen that bug since but what was a game breaker for me might be a charming happenstance for someone else.

This is important .........Remember to write down which packs are used in which save because it does effect game play. I spent a lot of time recently trying to find out what had happened to Gnubb , my must have game in any park, only to realize it comes with Ambitions which wasn't installed. Always check the packs you want installed are installed if you allow Origin to update or download from the exchange/ the store as these things will reset your choices to the base game only.
Enjoy
Old 21st Mar 2019, 9:25 AM #8291
TheThirdWizard
Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 25


Thank you for all your answers!

Quote:
Originally Posted by igazor
When I played the Origin/Patch 1.69 version of the game, that function periodically hid a couple of my EPs on me causing wastes of time on startup until I could get them recognized and loading again. Am on Steam/1.67 now, there is no way to utilize EPs selectively on that platform (the mod that does so doesn't work on Steam installs). I don't feel that I am missing anything, I paid for all 11 EPs (or 20 EP/SPs if we include those, the only one I don't have is Katy Perry) and want all of them loading on every game session.


Doesn't it work on Steam installs? I didn't know... But perhaps when I would have downloaded the Sim Game Selector, I would have read its description. I have a Steam install, but I see your point in not disabling anything. You actually just convinced me to not give up in fixing the issue. How strange it is that someone not from my intended audience just did that! LOL, just kidding! Being a well-known modder doesn't make you different in my eyes. Well, at least not signifficantly different.

Quote:
Originally Posted by igazor
With Rotational Play (NRaas StoryProgression) and 16 Traveler mod connected worlds within it, I have no need to start a new ongoing game again except for testing purposes[...]


Sixteen?!
As I too like to always play the complete TS3 experience, and as a user of the all-in-one world New Sunset Valley 2013, may I ask you what your loading time is? (Asking questions is the whole point of this thread anyway.)

I have considered connecting worlds with Traveler for a long time. One world can't always do it all, especially when I'd like to play store worlds more often, and I can just hardly stand that they are so Base Game sometimes... And most of the time I'm not patient enough to place lots from other EPs, especially when I have limited room for them. Unfortunately, my play time is limited and scattered across multiple days of the week, and that's why I'm asking: if it loads slowly, then I'd better stay away from it. Though doesn't the game load only one world at once? How much would loading the list of worlds take? Also, what about the hard drive space that it eats up? Either way, I'd better let the specialist answer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by igazor
If the player finds the game's shortcomings, limitations, and programmatic flaws and their solutions more distracting and frustrating overall than they find the game enjoyable, then even I would have to say that for sanity's sake, this is perhaps not the best game to be playing and devoting large amounts of time to. That, of course, is up to the individual player.


That's exactly what I feel for TS4, what I felt for just a few weeks with TS3 UL's recent issues. But compared to my years, few yet still years, of TS3 enjoyment, it's nothing. I came here from TS4 after all, a game which I remember and still try out illegally for an hour or two from time to time to see if things have changed, and which I immediately uninstall and forget about afterwards. And that's what I also felt for other games, until 'fixing' mods came in to fix my gameplay while screwing up major DLC features I paid for. Anyway, I won't detail the topic here since this is not the place to talk about games outside The Sims series and the life simulator genre, after all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Annette19
This is important .........Remember to write down which packs are used in which save because it does effect game play. I spent a lot of time recently trying to find out what had happened to Gnubb , my must have game in any park, only to realize it comes with Ambitions which wasn't installed. Always check the packs you want installed are installed if you allow Origin to update or download from the exchange/ the store as these things will reset your choices to the base game only.


Important point taken. I'll try to not forget it, in case I'll ever touch an Origin install.

@Giga I didn't feel like further discussing your opinions, but thank you for your input though!
Old 21st Mar 2019, 3:24 PM #8292
igazor
Mad Poster

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,095


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheThirdWizard
Being a well-known modder doesn't make you different in my eyes. Well, at least not signifficantly different.

Slight correction, if I may. I am on the management team at NRaas, but am not a mod developer.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheThirdWizard
Sixteen?!
As I too like to always play the complete TS3 experience, and as a user of the all-in-one world New Sunset Valley 2013, may I ask you what your loading time is? (Asking questions is the whole point of this thread anyway.)

I have considered connecting worlds with Traveler for a long time. One world can't always do it all, especially when I'd like to play store worlds more often, and I can just hardly stand that they are so Base Game sometimes... And most of the time I'm not patient enough to place lots from other EPs, especially when I have limited room for them. Unfortunately, my play time is limited and scattered across multiple days of the week, and that's why I'm asking: if it loads slowly, then I'd better stay away from it. Though doesn't the game load only one world at once? How much would loading the list of worlds take? Also, what about the hard drive space that it eats up? Either way, I'd better let the specialist answer.

Loading times average around three weeks, why do you ask?

Just kidding. Only the actively being played in world loads into RAM, the rest of the save comes along for the ride and for file reference with each loadup and save (as). My load times vary from 4-5 minutes to my personal threshold of around 18-20, depending on the world that is active at the time. I've let a few of the more progressed ones become overpopulated. My current system is aging and getting cranky on me mechanically, its replacement will have an SSD and that will reduce the loading and save times dramatically. But in the meantime, I tend to do things like surf the web, answer player questions, or wash dishes while the game is loading. It's pretty rare that I would sit still for that long just to watch a startup/loading screen, they aren't really all that interesting after a while.

Each of my individual saves is about 2.3 GB currently, and that's with all of the worlds' nhd files within it save cleaned periodically. My TravelDB file is too large and accounts for around 900 MB of this, that one I have to tend to again pretty soon but that's another component of the game that does not load into RAM on startup as it just gets copied back and forth. Whether having ten or fifty such saves is taxing on drive space of course depends on how much space one has to work with in the first place and how much of it can be devoted to the game. I tend to move excess saves to external storage and only pull them back when I need to load a very old game save to look something up from the past.

I didn't sit down one day and organize this collection of connected worlds, it all just kind of sprawled outwards once I started moving siblings and their resulting families to other worlds within the same game a few generations ago. In addition to being more fun for me to play this way, if I had kept them all within a single world everyone there would probably have been related to each other by now.
Last edited by igazor : 21st Mar 2019 at 3:47 PM.
Old 22nd Mar 2019, 7:58 PM #8293
kewpie
Scholar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,374


Does uploading pics on the loader actually do anything? If it does, where do the pics go?
Old 22nd Mar 2019, 8:37 PM #8294
CatMuto
Scholar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 657 in 23 Posts
8 Achievements


What CC should not be merged?
* Counters
* NRaas ErrorTrap should be kept separate, I think? (And Story Progression, too?)
Old 22nd Mar 2019, 9:41 PM #8295
TheThirdWizard
Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 25


Quote:
Originally Posted by igazor
Slight correction, if I may. I am on the management team at NRaas, but am not a mod developer.


Ok. Perhaps next time I should ask before making any assumptions. I am new to being involved in the game community too rather than being involved only in the game itself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by igazor
My load times vary from 4-5 minutes to my personal threshold of around 18-20, depending on the world that is active at the time. [...] I tend to do things like surf the web, answer player questions, or wash dishes while the game is loading. It's pretty rare that I would sit still for that long just to watch a startup/loading screen, they aren't really all that interesting after a while.


That's great to hear! So my save, usually loading in 30 minutes, could at worst reach around 35 I'd say for my machine and huge mod and store items collection. That's still acceptable for TS3 and my playtimes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by igazor
Each of my individual saves is about 2.3 GB currently, and that's with all of the worlds' nhd files within it save cleaned periodically. My TravelDB file is too large and accounts for around 900 MB of this, that one I have to tend to again pretty soon but that's another component of the game that does not load into RAM on startup as it just gets copied back and forth.


I don't mind sizes lower than 2 GB. Anyway I'm sure I won't connect too many, or at least less than 10, so perhaps I could try connecting a few worlds around... One more question though. I have read a few tutorials on how to connect multiple worlds together, but is there also a way to delete some of them? Anyway, thank you for lending me your data!
Old 22nd Mar 2019, 10:26 PM #8296
igazor
Mad Poster

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,095


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheThirdWizard
I have read a few tutorials on how to connect multiple worlds together, but is there also a way to delete some of them?

You would just delete the nhd file of the foreign world from the save folder of the save in question. Note though that any sims who lived there would also be out of your game, which might matter if your sims knew or were related to any of them. Once you have done so, a new instance of that world will spawn should your sims ever attempt travel to it again.
Old 24th Mar 2019, 11:17 PM #8297
TheThirdWizard
Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 25


Thank you very much @igazor! I find it great that the sims living within the deleted world are deleted too, so they don't take up useless space in my save, but thank you for your needed warnings anyway.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.