Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 4056
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 41 (Who?), Viewed: 60869 times.
Search this Thread
Old 20th Jul 2007, 12:10 AM #26
Birgit43
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 103
Thanks: 777 in 0 Posts
3 Achievements


Thank you very much for your idea and your great template
now it works and the logs look like wood.
but I wrote in shape :
subset name:logs
material definition file: fireplacehearthvalue_logswood

I found the name in the text lists at resource tree under model materials

Thank you very much again for your help
Birgit
Old 20th Jul 2007, 12:42 AM #27
Numenor
Original Poster

The ModFather



Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,395
Thanks: 220934 in 162 Posts
39 Achievements

View My Journal


The reference you've put in the shape is correct:
"fireplacehearthvalue_logswood" is the Material Definition (TXMT) for the logs;
"fireplacehearthvalue-colors-white" is the Texture (TXTR), that is used by the TXMT.

I mentioned the texture because when creating an UVmap you need to load a texture into your UV program.

I've finally started my Journal. Information only, no questions.

My latest activity: CEP 9.2.0! - AnyGameStarter 2.1.1 (UPD) - Scriptorium v.2.2f - Photo & Plaques hide with walls - Magazine Rack (UPD) - Animated Windows Hack (UPD) - Custom Instrument Hack (UPD) - Drivable Cars Without Nightlife (UPD) - Courtesy Lights (FIX) - Custom Fence-Arches - Painting-TV - Smarter Lights (UPD)


I *DON'T* accept requests, sorry.
Old 5th Aug 2007, 7:43 PM #28
dylanw
Test Subject

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13


Thank you Numenor for a brilliant and easy to use template!

I am using the 2-tile no chimney fireplace and I have one question:

Is it possible to make the flames larger? I want to make them taller (perhaps move them forward a bit too), but I don't know if this is possible. Is there anything I can experiment with or are the flames fixed by the game?

Thank you in advance!

Dylan
Old 5th Aug 2007, 8:17 PM #29
Numenor
Original Poster

The ModFather



Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,395
Thanks: 220934 in 162 Posts
39 Achievements

View My Journal


The flames are "effects", fixed by the game; the only thing you can do is modify the BHAV(s) that call the flame effect and change it, so to call a different effect (there are several size of flame effects, in game; I don't know which one is used in the fireplaces).

On the other hand, moving the current effect is easier: open the CRES, look in the hierarchy and select the node that mentions the effect (sometimes the effects are referred to as "fx"); when you select it, you will be presented with a window that contains (on the left) the "Translation" box; change the Y value (if I remember well, a smaller Y moves the node toward the camera, but I'm not sure).

Please note that the Y value is expressed in tiles.

I've finally started my Journal. Information only, no questions.

My latest activity: CEP 9.2.0! - AnyGameStarter 2.1.1 (UPD) - Scriptorium v.2.2f - Photo & Plaques hide with walls - Magazine Rack (UPD) - Animated Windows Hack (UPD) - Custom Instrument Hack (UPD) - Drivable Cars Without Nightlife (UPD) - Courtesy Lights (FIX) - Custom Fence-Arches - Painting-TV - Smarter Lights (UPD)


I *DON'T* accept requests, sorry.
Last edited by Numenor : 5th Aug 2007 at 8:27 PM.
Old 14th Aug 2007, 7:15 AM #30
Elvira0731
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 106
Thanks: 8499 in 52 Posts
12 Achievements


Before I get started on this, I have one question: I have found a beautiful Tudor-style fireplace front that has no mantle. It lies flush with the wall. Is it possible to use this for a recolor?
Old 14th Aug 2007, 10:09 AM #31
Numenor
Original Poster

The ModFather



Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,395
Thanks: 220934 in 162 Posts
39 Achievements

View My Journal


If you want to recolour the Tudor fireplace, then this clone template is no use for you. This template is needed only if you want to create a brand new fireplace.

Of course, when it comes to recolouring custom objects, you can do that only if the creator set it to be recolourable (if the Tudor fireplace has been created using these templates, then it should be recolourable)

I've finally started my Journal. Information only, no questions.

My latest activity: CEP 9.2.0! - AnyGameStarter 2.1.1 (UPD) - Scriptorium v.2.2f - Photo & Plaques hide with walls - Magazine Rack (UPD) - Animated Windows Hack (UPD) - Custom Instrument Hack (UPD) - Drivable Cars Without Nightlife (UPD) - Courtesy Lights (FIX) - Custom Fence-Arches - Painting-TV - Smarter Lights (UPD)


I *DON'T* accept requests, sorry.
Old 14th Aug 2007, 2:23 PM #32
Elvira0731
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 106
Thanks: 8499 in 52 Posts
12 Achievements


I chose my words incorrectly. It would be creating a new fireplace. Frpm what I've seen so far, it would be unique.
Old 16th Aug 2007, 1:49 AM #33
Numenor
Original Poster

The ModFather



Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,395
Thanks: 220934 in 162 Posts
39 Achievements

View My Journal


Then you are in the right place The fact that the your fireplace will not have a mantle, it's not a problem.

I've finally started my Journal. Information only, no questions.

My latest activity: CEP 9.2.0! - AnyGameStarter 2.1.1 (UPD) - Scriptorium v.2.2f - Photo & Plaques hide with walls - Magazine Rack (UPD) - Animated Windows Hack (UPD) - Custom Instrument Hack (UPD) - Drivable Cars Without Nightlife (UPD) - Courtesy Lights (FIX) - Custom Fence-Arches - Painting-TV - Smarter Lights (UPD)


I *DON'T* accept requests, sorry.
Old 16th Aug 2007, 4:43 AM #34
Elvira0731
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 106
Thanks: 8499 in 52 Posts
12 Achievements


So far, I am struggling with this. It appears that all of the individual elements of the "face" have to be arranged in a certain way in a single collage and I haven't got it right yet.... Oh well... I'll keep plugging away until I do. Thanks, Numenor. You're my hero....
Old 2nd Nov 2007, 1:01 PM #35
Jimbo64
Test Subject

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 45
Thanks: 6005 in 3 Posts
10 Achievements


On the no chimney 2 tile, is it me, or are the lights set too far right?

Is there a way to adjust them side to side?

Jimbo-
Old 7th Nov 2007, 2:10 AM #36
Jimbo64
Test Subject

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 45
Thanks: 6005 in 3 Posts
10 Achievements


I'll donate 10 bucks to ya numenor, if you'll just answer this question...
Old 7th Nov 2007, 1:31 PM #37
Numenor
Original Poster

The ModFather



Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,395
Thanks: 220934 in 162 Posts
39 Achievements

View My Journal


LOL! No, please, don't donate anything for just one answer
If you appreciated my overall activities and creations, then you are welcome, but this answer is offered absolutely for free -
I'm just very busy with the real life, currently: that's why I sometimes reply with great delay...

As for the problem you point out, you are right, the light looks placed too far to the right in my opinion, too. However, it's the same light and position that Maxis included in the original fireplace (click on the thumbs for larger view):

ClickMe ClickMe

That said, you CAN move the light wherever you like, by editing certain values in the CRES.

1) Open the package in SimPE and select the CRES;
2) select the "Hierarchy" tab to reveal the CRES structure: you will see several nodes: the last two ones are the lights:


3) click on the first light and then select the "cTransform" tab:


4) Edit the X value to move the light horizontally; remember that the X-Y-Z values are expressed in tiles (i.e. 0.5 means half a tile), and that the Sims2 axis are set like this:

This means that increasing the X moves the light to the left (similarly, a greater Y moves the light toward the camera and a greater Z movers the light upwards).
I suggest to use a value of X = 1.5: this should move the light half tile to the left.

5) When done, remember to commit and save!

6) Repeat the same steps for the second light; use the same X value for it, too.

I've finally started my Journal. Information only, no questions.

My latest activity: CEP 9.2.0! - AnyGameStarter 2.1.1 (UPD) - Scriptorium v.2.2f - Photo & Plaques hide with walls - Magazine Rack (UPD) - Animated Windows Hack (UPD) - Custom Instrument Hack (UPD) - Drivable Cars Without Nightlife (UPD) - Courtesy Lights (FIX) - Custom Fence-Arches - Painting-TV - Smarter Lights (UPD)


I *DON'T* accept requests, sorry.
Old 7th Nov 2007, 4:44 PM #38
Jimbo64
Test Subject

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 45
Thanks: 6005 in 3 Posts
10 Achievements


I tried that as soon as I decided they needed to be moved, but It wouldnt move regardless of the numbers I put it. The flame effect moves just fine and have built 3 nice fireplaces, but for the life of me I cant get the lights to move.

I'll try again, maybe I'm just screwy

Thank you for replying Numenor :D

Jimbo-
Old 30th Dec 2007, 12:43 AM #39
must be dreaming
Test Subject

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 36


Thanks so much for this! I made a fireplace and it replaced the maxis one, I didn't know about the difficulties involved when I decided to try it, this is perfect, I can't wait to try it out!

And thanks for everything else you do for our community!!!!!

Sue (SusanJoan19)
Old 27th Jun 2008, 4:05 AM #40
Starfish of Terror
Forum Resident

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 636


Oh, this is lovely! I've never liked fireplaces with chimneys anyway, as they got to be such a hassle. Now if I can just figure out what parts of the texture correspond with what part of the fireplace, then I'll be all set. :]
Old 1st Jul 2008, 8:32 AM #41
kathy4321
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12


You are one amazing person for making things for the Sims. I really appreciate all your work, mods, creations and help on here. Thank you!
Old 14th Apr 2010, 12:28 AM #42
dragonmisteress1
Test Subject

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 14


How do you actually MAKE them???????????
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.