Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1419
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 10 (Who?), Viewed: 42187 times.
Search this Thread
Old 30th Dec 2012, 2:50 PM DefaultTutorial: How to change genetics after plastic surgery #1
Amairani
Original Poster

Inventor

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 995
Thanks: 309 in 3 Posts
4 Achievements


Tutorial: how to change genetics after plastic surgery

This tutorial explains how to save changes you applied to your Sim's appearance through a plastic surgery and ensure Sim's children inherit those new genetics.

Genetics can be changed through:
- the Dr. Vu's Automatched Cosmetic Surgery station, which is a "The Sims 2 University" Career Reward Object and is rewarded in level 6 of the Show Business track.
- Sim Blender by TwoJeffs from SimBology
- ChristianLov's GussyUp closet Plug-In - I think there was such option included but I can't load the game right now to check.
Probably there are other mods that allow the genetics to be changed in-game.

I used SimPE ver. 0.73 for this tutorial, but as far as I remember there's not much difference in older versions.

1. Open SimPe, then open your Neighbourhood via Neighbourhood Browser.



Click on picture of your neighborhood and click Open. It might take up to one minute for the Neighborhood to load in SimPe, so you might need to wait.





2. Open the Sim Browser



3. Find the Sim that you put through the plastic surgery. By clicking on Name panel, all names get sorted alphabetically for easier search (Sims are listed by their first name) . Click Open.



4. Click on Plugin View tab to see Simís information panel .



5. Click on More and choose Open Character File.



6. Click on List tab. Under Resource Tree you will see Facial Structure. Click it and under Resourse List two Facial Structure lines will appear. If you see only one line, then it means plastic surgery hasnít been done to chosen Sim.



7. Right click the second line and choose "Extract... "



Save the extracted file to somewhere you'll find it again easy, like to the Desktop. Two files will appear where you chose to save, a SIMPE file and XML file.



8. Right click the first line and choose "Replace... "



9. The IMPORTANT part! Out of two files, choose the SIMPE file, NOT the xml file.



10. Save the file.



That's all
17 users say thanks for this.
[ Click here to view a longer list ]
Old 30th Aug 2014, 8:58 PM #2
Lin
Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 36


Thank you! Great tutorial
Old 4th Oct 2014, 2:39 PM #3
LittleFlower1995
Test Subject

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 21


where do you download the other updated versions?
Old 13th Dec 2015, 4:22 AM #4
Loudspeaker
Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 14


I don't get the option of the second file, even that i am certain i made a sucesful surgery (the Sim appears in the game as I made her). I don't have the "list" tab either as shown in your picture, Maybe I have another version of SimPE?
Old 13th Dec 2015, 7:07 PM #5
Loudspeaker
Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 14


I think I have found a method to change facial structure, even if there is only one file on my surgery patient. I extract facial structure from the archetype sim and then go back and replace the one of the patient.

Will this only affect the facial structure, or will the skin type also be changed? If not, where can I find the file needed for at permanent change of skin type?

Thanks in advance.
Old 22nd Apr 2016, 5:16 AM #6
luvme17
Test Subject

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 8


At last!!! No more hideous Capp babies! Thanks a lot!

Edit: I have a question though. I have given several sims plastic surgery and I would love for them to pass it on to their children. Do I have to keep the extracted file for each and every sim that I edited? Or once I replaced it and saved the package file, I can delete the saved extracted file on my desktop? Thanks a lot!
Last edited by luvme17 : 23rd Apr 2016 at 3:41 AM.
Old 7th May 2016, 6:11 AM #7
SimGamerTS4
Banned

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 64


Does this mean that you will replace the sims model?
Old 24th Jun 2016, 7:53 AM #8
C.Syde65
Field Researcher

Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 366


Thank you so much for this! It really helped a lot!
Last edited by C.Syde65 : 24th Jun 2016 at 8:18 AM.
Old 6th Jan 2017, 2:46 AM #9
Stepbot54
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 8


Thank you so much for this :D
Old 15th Mar 2017, 4:01 AM #10
kayleigh83
Field Researcher

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 293
Thanks: 4421 in 6 Posts
8 Achievements


I have one question to make sure I'm doing it right! I go into the character file, and there are two lines and one says (1) and the other says (2). However, the (2) is above the (1). Maybe my default sorting is just different? Is the point to choose the one that says (2) or the one that is below the other one, even if that one says (1)?
Old 1st May 2017, 7:41 AM #11
shampuru
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4


Quote:
Originally Posted by kayleigh83
I have one question to make sure I'm doing it right! I go into the character file, and there are two lines and one says (1) and the other says (2). However, the (2) is above the (1). Maybe my default sorting is just different? Is the point to choose the one that says (2) or the one that is below the other one, even if that one says (1)?


That is correct, yes.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.