Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Lab Assistant
Original Poster
#1 Old 8th Sep 2009 at 1:22 PM Last edited by Lois99 : 9th Sep 2009 at 12:15 PM. Reason: Problem Solved
Default Object invisible when in use (solved)
I am new to meshing in the Sims 3 and after successfully cloning a number of chairs and simple objects I decided to try my hand at the crib as I don't particularly like either of the ones supplied with the game. But I have come across an odd problem and I'm not at all sure where I might have gone wrong. My cloned crib is visible in buy mode and in live mode, but invisible when in use.

I followed the following steps:

1) I exported the sleigh crib object from the Sims 2 game using sim pe
2) then I remapped the object in UV mapper to get just one map (there are two on the original object)
3) I made a cloned object from the expensive crib using S3OC 4) I tested the cloned object in Sims 3
5) I exported the 3 MLOD AND 1 MODL files using S3PE 6) I decompiled the exported files with Wes Howe's Tool
7) I imported into milkshape, imported the sleigh object (resized and repositioned)
8)Assigned bones but only in the 00000000 MLOD and the MODL file(as looking at the other imported MLOD files they don't seem to have bones assigned) - I don't really understand about the bones and assigning them, could this be where I have gone wrong?
9) I exported all four files from milkshape once I had imported the new object and assigned the bones as stated above.
10) I recompiled with Wes Howe's tool
11) I imported the new files into s3pe, replacing the originals in the cloned file and saved.
12) I tested in game and got a visible object that becomes invisible when the parent puts the baby in the crib.