Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1148
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 8 (Who?), Viewed: 4459 times.
Search this Thread
Old 21st Aug 2017, 10:58 PM DefaultHow to make an object placeable over other objects? #1
simsfreq
Original Poster

Alchemist

Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,028
Thanks: 2666 in 14 Posts
15 Achievements


I'd like to update and upload my co-sleeper object for the Maternity and Beyond theme, but I still have one problem that I've never managed to solve with it - it's not placeable without using moveobjects on. The object is designed to look as though it's placed on the adult's bed, so it needs to be placed within the footprint of the bed, much like decorative pillows or blankets often are.

From some searches I've seen that the solution to this is either:

- Clone the item from a rug to begin with and add the mesh etc to this. But I don't think this will work as this isn't a purely decorative object, it has other functions. I cloned it originally from the crib.

- Edit the "init" BHAV within the file. This object doesn't have any BHAV called "init" and, honestly, I'm really hopeless at BHAVs unless it's one step I need to change, I just get lost with it.

So currently, I will have to upload it with the instruction just to make sure to use moveobjects to place, but if it's an easy fix, I'd love to try and fix this before I upload it.

Livejournal: simsfreq.livejournal.com
Tumblr: simsfreq.tumblr.com

Co sleeper for babies/toddlers, and teen career overhaul (also custom schools) Plus! TS2:UNI careers enabled for teens: Here at simbology
Old 22nd Aug 2017, 3:00 AM #2
HugeLunatic
Dancing Flamingo



Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,942
Thanks: 170879 in 262 Posts
64 Achievements

Old 22nd Aug 2017, 11:18 AM #3
simsfreq
Original Poster

Alchemist

Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,028
Thanks: 2666 in 14 Posts
15 Achievements


Hi HugeLunatic, I found that, but the item I'm editing doesn't have a BHAV called "init", and I can't see one relating to placement at all. Would it work just to add a BHAV called init and add everything as shown there?

Livejournal: simsfreq.livejournal.com
Tumblr: simsfreq.tumblr.com

Co sleeper for babies/toddlers, and teen career overhaul (also custom schools) Plus! TS2:UNI careers enabled for teens: Here at simbology
Old 22nd Aug 2017, 4:08 PM #4
HugeLunatic
Dancing Flamingo



Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,942
Thanks: 170879 in 262 Posts
64 Achievements


No, it has to be the init from the crib. Use the ImportSemiGlobals, scan for cribglobals, then import just the Function - Init - SG. Edit to add the placement to that. Then in the OBJF, you will need to link to the Function - Init - SG in your package rather than the one in the game files.
Old 6th Sep 2017, 9:25 PM #5
simsfreq
Original Poster

Alchemist

Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,028
Thanks: 2666 in 14 Posts
15 Achievements


Thank you, it worked perfectly!

Livejournal: simsfreq.livejournal.com
Tumblr: simsfreq.tumblr.com

Co sleeper for babies/toddlers, and teen career overhaul (also custom schools) Plus! TS2:UNI careers enabled for teens: Here at simbology
Old 7th Sep 2017, 10:04 PM #6
Rosebine
Mad Poster

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,010
11 Achievements


Awwwe! years ago, I had started a project called..Sleep with me Blankie...And i think this is exactly what you will upload.
That is awesome. I never finished mine, for the same reasons.

Je mange des girafes et je parle aussi français !...surtout :0)
Old 5th Nov 2017, 3:59 PM #7
gabilei123
Field Researcher

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 240
Thanks: 6911 in 124 Posts
20 Achievements


I have a very similar problem. I have cloned a curtain and want to change its placement. But it has no BHAV at all.
Furthermore I have no clue, what you mean with ImportSemiGlobals.

I found in OBJf a line with "allow intersection" and 0x2004 (What is this?).
Maybe there I have to change something. But I do not know what.

Thanks for help.

EDIT: Now I found ImportSemiGlobals.
I have imported the Init BHAV and tried to change, but I can not save my changes.
Last edited by gabilei123 : 5th Nov 2017 at 4:58 PM.
Old 5th Nov 2017, 4:50 PM #8
ankoyume
Field Researcher

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 390
Thanks: 222 in 5 Posts
13 Achievements

View My Journal


Quote:
Originally Posted by gabilei123
I have a very similar problem. I have cloned a curtain and want to change its placement. But it has no BHAV at all.
Furthermore I have no clue, what you mean with ImportSemiGlobals.

I found in OBJf a line with "allow intersection" and 0x2004 (What is this?).
Maybe there I have to change something. But I do not know what.

Thanks for help.


ImportSemiGlobals is a tool in SimPE. You should start with the beginners tutorials before trying to import something that will change multiple objects behaviours.
However, you can easier create a new BHAV :
1- open your package in SimPE and right click in the background in order to add a new ressource
2- in ressource tab of your new ressource, choose the BHAV type and give it your Group number too (it should be something like 0xFFFFFFFF)
3- add an instance number (if you had no BHAV in the beginning, it can just be 1000)
4- you'll have to add a line and link it to the the same BHAV semi global that is indicated in the "init" line of the OBJF.
5- then you add the lines you have to, due to Huge Lunatics's tutorial.

I believe in the "Thanks" button and its amazing powers !!!
Old 5th Nov 2017, 5:00 PM #9
gabilei123
Field Researcher

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 240
Thanks: 6911 in 124 Posts
20 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by ankoyume
ImportSemiGlobals is a tool in SimPE. You should start with the beginners tutorials before trying to import something that will change multiple objects behaviours.
However, you can easier create a new BHAV :
1- open your package in SimPE and right click in the background in order to add a new ressource
2- in ressource tab of your new ressource, choose the BHAV type and give it your Group number too (it should be something like 0xFFFFFFFF)
3- add an instance number (if you had no BHAV in the beginning, it can just be 1000)
4- you'll have to add a line and link it to the the same BHAV semi global that is indicated in the "init" line of the OBJF.
5- then you add the lines you have to, due to Huge Lunatics's tutorial.


Oh, your answer came, while I changed my old comment. I will see if I understand and try.
Now it works. But I have imported the BHAV.

Thank you!
Last edited by gabilei123 : 5th Nov 2017 at 6:10 PM.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.