Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1418
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 12 (Who?), Viewed: 18060 times.
Search this Thread
Old 19th Apr 2011, 12:25 PM DefaultSimPE installation #1
PAUL_TS2
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2


How can I installl SimPE ?
is there any requirements in SimPE
Old 19th Apr 2011, 6:33 PM #2
Mootilda
Site Helper

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14,403
Thanks: 32343 in 154 Posts
27 Achievements

View My Journal


Quote:
Originally Posted by PAUL_TS2
How can I installl SimPE ?
This site has the SimPE downloads:
http://sims.ambertation.de/

You'll probably want the latest version:
Quote:
SimPE 0.73.44 QA for everyone
April 11th, 2009

This QA has been stable for a long period, and I think it is safe to offer it generally. Its a 7Z and will require manually unarchiving into its own folder and running from SimPE.exe (or you make your own shortcut). Remember to change what runs (your file association) when you double-click on a .package file. If you dont know how to do that, then start SimPE before using File/Open to open your packages.

Link to download:
http://sourceforge.net/project/down...e_0_73_44-QA.7z
Because this version does not have an installer, you'll want these instructions:
http://simpeforum.ambertation.de/si...an-Installer-7z

Quote:
Originally Posted by PAUL_TS2
is there any requirements in SimPE
From http://sims.ambertation.de/en/download/realdownload/ :
Quote:
Needed Software to run SimPE:

* Microsoft .NET Framework Version 2.0
* Managed Direct X 9c (only if you want to work with Meshes)
Old 20th Apr 2011, 12:49 AM #3
PAUL_TS2
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2


Thank you for helping me

last question:
Is there any starter tutorials in using SimPE
Old 20th Apr 2011, 3:39 AM #4
Mootilda
Site Helper

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14,403
Thanks: 32343 in 154 Posts
27 Achievements

View My Journal


This is the beginner tutorial:
http://simpeforum.ambertation.de/si...inners-Tutorial

There are a bunch of other tutorials here:
http://simpeforum.ambertation.de/forum/viewforum/9
Old 25th Jan 2012, 6:35 AM #5
Werewolftrixie
Test Subject

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 15


Uhm, the microsoft. net thing won't run on my computer because of it being a 64 bit operating system (no clue what that means). Any alternatives? I know it is possible to run it on this sort of laptop, because I (thought) I seen it dome before. Please help. I really want to start editing furniture and stuff!
Last edited by Werewolftrixie : 25th Jan 2012 at 6:51 AM.
Old 25th Jan 2012, 5:59 PM #6
Mootilda
Site Helper

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14,403
Thanks: 32343 in 154 Posts
27 Achievements

View My Journal


I believe that the 64-bit .NET is compatible with SimPE; you just have to set the properties on your SimPE.EXE or shortcut to be 32-bit.
Old 2nd May 2012, 9:12 AM #7
LibraryGuy
Test Subject

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 21


Okay, I've tried to run SimPE in Windows 7 about a hundred times, and all I ever get is: SimPe-Simple Package Editor has stopped working (not that it ever started).

I've installed it in my Program Files (x86) as per the SimPE site, I run it as an administrator, I've tried it on Windows XP Pack 3, I've tried everything I can think of.

Any ideas/suggestions?

I think you'll like my webcomic: Groovy, Kinda
Old 2nd May 2012, 4:42 PM #8
HugeLunatic
Dancing Flamingo



Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,035
Thanks: 172323 in 245 Posts
64 Achievements


Try downloading the version that doesn't require installation. Unzip into a folder in your documents, or location of your choice) and try that. SimPE does indeed run fine on W7.
Old 4th May 2012, 6:08 AM #9
LibraryGuy
Test Subject

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 21


Not on mine.
I got the non-installation one (the second one on the list, here: "http://downloads.sourceforge.net/simpe/SimPe_0_72_01.7z This is the one you have to unzip yourself and put it where you want."), created a new folder in my Documents section, unzipped it into the folder, and got the same thing. It said there was a new version of Sims 2, then the "Stopped Working" thing came up.
I tried .073
I tried running it as an administrator.
I tried running it compatible with XP Service Pack 2 and 3.
Same thing.


I tried Wizard of Sims, and it immediately closed, saying: "font Verdana does not support Bold."
Oh well. Thanks for your help, though.

I think you'll like my webcomic: Groovy, Kinda
Old 28th May 2014, 7:53 PM
bnymph
This message has been deleted by bnymph. Reason: I know why...
Old 9th Apr 2015, 7:29 AM
C.Syde65
This message has been deleted by C.Syde65. Reason: It appears that my copy of SimPE was outdated. I have upgraded to a modern SimPE that is capable of reading my Sim's memories
Old 22nd Oct 2017, 8:42 PM SimPE Installation Guide, Latest Version, Additional Info/Usage #10
LearnerOfAll
Test Subject

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 37


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mootilda
This site has the SimPE downloads:
http://sims.ambertation.de/

You'll probably want the latest version:
Because this version does not have an installer, you'll want these instructions:
http://simpeforum.ambertation.de/si...an-Installer-7z

From http://sims.ambertation.de/en/download/realdownload/ :


I also want to use SimPE to view my custom content and downloads. But after looking at different websites that supposedly link to SimPE, I've run into some weird stuff.

First, the English site looks all kinds of strange, which makes deciphering what to do a bit confusing "SimPE - The Sims 2 Package Editor > Downloads" (See photo below)

The Deutsche site looks fine, but the SimPE version seems old (it appears in English because my browser automatically translates foreign languages) sims.ambertation.de (See photo below)

So I scroll down the English site, see version 72 as an easy install and 7z extractable.

Quote:
Main SimPE Download

http://downloads.sourceforge.net/si...2_01c_Setup.exe This is the normal user-friendly installer
http://downloads.sourceforge.net/simpe/SimPe_0_72_01.7z This is the one you have to unzip yourself and put it where you want.
Please read Installing a NEW release of SimPE without an Installer (.7z) when using this manual install version.

If the download tries to give you 0.68 then it's doing it wrong. Do not use 0.68 instead of 0.72 and please let us know it is happening!


I want the easy install, but then see as I scroll down further a link about version 73 "SimPE 0.73.44 QA for everyone:", which opens up a blog update in 'News', "SimPE 0.73.44 QA for everyone" which also has to be extracted. Out of confusion, I download both (whichever works, I'll use!)

Quote:
This QA has been stable for a long period, and I think it is safe to offer it generally. Its a 7Z and will require manually unarchiving into its own folder and running from SimPE.exe (or you make your own shortcut). Remember to change what runs (your file association) when you double-click on a .package file. If you dont know how to do that, then start SimPE before using File/Open to open your packages.

Link to download:
http://sourceforge.net/project/down...e_0_73_44-QA.7z


Later, I look for installation instructions, which I found linked to in this thread above, and from the English and the Deutsche SimPE sites.

BUT... The Xanathon Installation Guide no longer shows up on the website below. As you've seen (hopefully, if I did it right) from the pictures above that the sites seem strange, but both have a link to the Xanathon guide, yet both paths result in the same blank webpage. (See photo below)

Is there anywhere else with the installation instructions?!?!

Also, how do I know whether I need the following Additional Downloads? (and which ones?)

English Site "Additional Downloads":
Quote:
Additional Downloads
= SimPE Photostudio Templates (2.317 mb)
- - - - Requires SimPE
- - - - Version 3.0 (6.1.2005)
- - - - Just start the Setup Application
= SimPE Base Careers (0.689 mb)
- - - - Requires SimPE
- - - - Version 1.0 (26.3.2005)
- - - - Copy the Files in this Archive to your SimPE\Data Folder and restart SimPE


Deutsche Site "Additional Downloads":
Quote:
Additional downloads
= SimPE Photostudio Templates (2,317 mb)
- - - - SimPE extension
- - - - Version 3.0 (6.1.2006)
= SimPE Basic Career (0.689 mb)
- - - - SimPE extension
- - - - Version 1.0 (26.3.2005)
- - - - Copy these files to SimPE \ Data and restart SimPE


Which of any of these files (SimPE, additional downloads, plus tutorials, faqs, etc.) are the most recent (not just from these sites I've referenced, but any at all).

* * P.S. My apologies for any weird formatting. I couldn't figure out how to make the thumbnail photos sit inside the post. I thank you all for any help with this!
Screenshots
Click image for larger version

Name:  SimPE_Site_Deutsche_01.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  168.1 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  SimPE_Site_English_01.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  212.2 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  SimPE_Site_Xanathon_Dead_Eng+Deu.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  29.8 KB  
Last edited by LearnerOfAll : 22nd Oct 2017 at 8:46 PM. Reason: Formatting
Old 14th Dec 2017, 1:50 AM #11
luvmebby
Test Subject

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 38


I am just recently trying to install SimPE for windows 10 ultimate collection, all the links to instructions are blank pages. can you fix them? or know an alternative set of instructions other than at the SimPE site? I will keep looking but its a bit confusing without instructions.
Old 29th Dec 2017, 10:09 PM #12
Tazz5840
Test Subject

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1 in 1 Posts


I too am having issues since getting back into simpe/sims2. It seems all versions only seem to loada bare minimum of objects no matter which one I use. I have the latest .73 now and still only have like 5 double beds to choose from for recolors. I used to be an avid skinner in this program, but now I can't even get all content to load. Any hep would be very appreciated. thanx
Old 16th Jan 2018, 11:23 AM #13
lilicexd
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5


I also had some problems at the beginning with SimPE (I'm on Windows 10) and I've installed another version of the programm, it now works fine ! Maybe you should try to uninstall your actual version and install an older version ? That could fix your issues
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.