Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1310
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 19 (Who?), Viewed: 438 times.
Search this Thread
Old 13th Jan 2018, 6:19 PM DefaultForgotten Hotkeys #1
Chet R. Chase
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 19


I have been using a hotkey combination for a long time then I forgot when I stopped playing. It was a hotkey for continuously placing items without having to reselect the item. Do you guys know what it is? Thanks again.

Are you a contestant on Papa Chet's Pizza Pandemonium?
Old 13th Jan 2018, 6:20 PM #2
ihatemandatoryregister
Mad Poster

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,003
Thanks: 155 in 15 Posts
5 Achievements


Holding down shift while putting down objects lets you put down multiples, unless you're in a dorm.

I'm secretly a Bulbasaur.

My memory is poor, so please take anything I say with a grain of salt. | Looking for SimWardrobe's mods? | Or Dizzy's? | Faiuwle/rufio's too! | smorbie1's Chris Hatch archives
Old 13th Jan 2018, 6:21 PM #3
Chet R. Chase
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 19


Quote:
Originally Posted by ihatemandatoryregister
Holding down shift while putting down objects lets you put down multiples, unless you're in a dorm.

Well, that was quick. Thank you! I was pressing ctrl instead of shift that is why it wasn't working. Thank you, kind stranger!

Are you a contestant on Papa Chet's Pizza Pandemonium?
Old 13th Jan 2018, 6:55 PM #4
kanzen
Instructor

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 519
Thanks: 663 in 8 Posts
7 Achievements


I learn more about this game everyday.

and Im not even playing right now

I gave up my dream to earn a living.
Old 13th Jan 2018, 7:40 PM #5
ihatemandatoryregister
Mad Poster

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,003
Thanks: 155 in 15 Posts
5 Achievements


The < and > keys can also be used to rotate. Add "boolProp allow45DegreeAngleOfRotation true" to userstartup.cheat and it'll rotate it at 45-degree angles as well, though not all objects work properly - in-ground hot tubs, in particular, suffer from both visual glitching and pathfinding errors. I believe you also need a hack for Sims to be able to watch TV from an angle.

I'm secretly a Bulbasaur.

My memory is poor, so please take anything I say with a grain of salt. | Looking for SimWardrobe's mods? | Or Dizzy's? | Faiuwle/rufio's too! | smorbie1's Chris Hatch archives
Old 13th Jan 2018, 9:44 PM #6
Charmful
Link Ninja

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,630
Thanks: 178 in 4 Posts
12 Achievements

View My Journal


Quote:
Originally Posted by ihatemandatoryregister
I believe you also need a hack for Sims to be able to watch TV from an angle.


Correct, here is the mod. very handy.

Uh oh! My social bar is low - that's why I posted today.

Old 13th Jan 2018, 11:09 PM #7
mdsb759
Top Secret Researcher

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,648


about the < and > keys; the keys that would work would be the non-Shift versions of those keys (, and .).

last I checked, Shift does not work with stairs or fireplaces. but it did work with all other object types. that was before getting my most recent packs.
Shift with wall, half-wall, fence; equivalent to "Room" tool.
Shift with floor/wall cover; cover all of respective type in the "enclosed" area.


some of the keyboard shortcuts are mentioned in the Learn to Play section of game.
expansion added shortcuts; those are mentioned in the Prima Guide of the respective expansion.
Old 13th Jan 2018, 11:30 PM #8
SneakyWingPhoenix
Scholar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,524


Strangely enough, there's no mention of that duplication trick. Hmh... some guides need to be updated.
Old 14th Jan 2018, 5:34 AM #9
Chet R. Chase
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 19


Do you guys know more tricks that I can use? That would be really helpful.

Are you a contestant on Papa Chet's Pizza Pandemonium?
Old 18th Jan 2018, 4:06 AM #10
Charmful
Link Ninja

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,630
Thanks: 178 in 4 Posts
12 Achievements

View My Journal


Hey there, I thought of these today you can use. Try pushing 'M' when setting an object on a counter, shelf, or table and it will move it to a different slot position on the surface, if the surface has slots. This works for custom surfaces (tables, counters, side tables, shelves, etc) if they have slots enabled too.

In addition, if you find yourself hanging wall art, try [ and ] to move the wall art higher or lower on the wall. Not all art is enabled for this but most of maxis meshes are.

Uh oh! My social bar is low - that's why I posted today.

Old 18th Jan 2018, 5:06 AM #11
DigitalSympathies
Mad Poster

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,392
2 Achievements


B can pause a video while it's being taken, I have no idea of its use but it's something I discovered.


"It's a royal pain in the ass, I know, but it turns out most 11-year-old girls don't know jack shit about managing hangovers." - MinghamSmith
Angie/DS | Baby Sterling - 24/2/2014
This account is mostly used by my sons to download CC now, if you see me active, it's probably just them!
Old 18th Jan 2018, 5:17 AM #12
kanzen
Instructor

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 519
Thanks: 663 in 8 Posts
7 Achievements


When I'm furnishing a lot, I toggle the day/night switch with L so I can check if the lighting from a lamp/light I plan to use is enough and with the appropriate color (white, yellow, colored) for the room/lot.

I gave up my dream to earn a living.
Old 18th Jan 2018, 5:33 AM #13
Charmful
Link Ninja

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,630
Thanks: 178 in 4 Posts
12 Achievements

View My Journal


Quote:
Originally Posted by kanzen
When I'm furnishing a lot, I toggle the day/night switch with L so I can check if the lighting from a lamp/light I plan to use is enough and with the appropriate color (white, yellow, colored) for the room/lot.


This also works if you are, lets say, in a downtown hood and want it to be day. Press 'L' in hood view too

Uh oh! My social bar is low - that's why I posted today.

Old 18th Jan 2018, 9:29 AM #14
ConsoC
Lab Assistant

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 75


A shortcut I discovered that blew me away is the cameras shortcuts, when you are in the cinematic camera (or whatever the Tab button camera is) you can save camera positions with Shift + 4 to 9, or maybe 0, buttons and quickly return to them with the number key. Incredibly useful for screenshots and video making.

Slowly moving steps into basic TS2 modding.
I will occasionally post my stuff at spicyplumbobs.wordpress.com, hopefully it's good.
Old 18th Jan 2018, 12:19 PM #15
maxon
The Great AntiJen



Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11,300
Thanks: 7544 in 42 Posts
24 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Charmful
This also works if you are, lets say, in a downtown hood and want it to be day. Press 'L' in hood view too

It's been day in Sirencester (Little Carping's downtown) since 2005. I hated that - can't see anything in the darkness.

Polgannon: Who Murdered Blaise Penhaligan?
(3rd ed. neighbourhood now available with corrections). Poll: http://strawpoll.me/6689876

Polls: length of neighbourhood play: http://www.strawpoll.me/10908815 & http://www.strawpoll.me/10908842

Thread for yakking about making TS2 stuff
Old 18th Jan 2018, 12:38 PM #16
SneakyWingPhoenix
Scholar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,524


Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalSympathies
B can pause a video while it's being taken, I have no idea of its use but it's something I discovered.

It basically allows you to do jump cuts without splitting a video into two or more. Very useful If you want to just change a scenery or jump to another camera shot angle with such simplicity change, but you don't have the video editing program for that.
Old 18th Jan 2018, 4:23 PM #17
Chet R. Chase
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 19


Thank you all for sharing your knowledge with all of the MTS community. I personally and sincerely thank you as well for giving me useful tips on my gaming. Have a nice day everyone.

Are you a contestant on Papa Chet's Pizza Pandemonium?
Old 18th Jan 2018, 7:36 PM #18
DezzyBoo
Scholar

Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,404
2 Achievements


How do you add cheats to userstartup?
Old Yesterday, 1:19 AM #19
Phantomknight
Field Researcher

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 418
1 Achievements


In case anyone needs more shortcuts: http://modthesims.info/wiki.php?tit...board_Shortcuts

And I'll add using "P" or "0" to pause live mode and "`" (the accent next to the 1) toggles the cheat box size.

@DezzyBoo, I used these threads to make my userstartup.cheat file:
http://modthesims.info/wiki.php?tit...erstartup.cheat
http://www.leefish.nl/mybb/showthread.php?tid=3462

I'll attach mine as an example (and thanks for making me look at it; there's some cheats in there I forgot I had ), but just remember aliases can be as long or as short as you like.
Download - please read all instructions before downloading any files!
File Type: zip userStartup.zip (1.0 KB, 6 downloads) - View custom content

"This is subtracting from my arts and crafts time."
Also known as Kelyns but you can call me KB.
Bored? Read the legacy I'll probably never finish.
Old Yesterday, 3:55 AM #20
DezzyBoo
Scholar

Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,404
2 Achievements


Thanks!
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.