Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1277
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 11870 (Who?), Viewed: 255769 times.
Search this Thread
Old Yesterday, 4:38 AM #11851
lazzybum
Scholar

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,075
Thanks: 1428 in 12 Posts
10 Achievements


What is the safest way to delete custom careers? I'm guessing I have to make sure no one is employed in that career before I take it out. Is there a way to show a list of who is employed in a specific career, like in SimPE?

And when moving sims into a new lot, is it safe to take their pet bird or womrat by putting them in sim's inventory?
Last edited by lazzybum : Yesterday at 4:50 AM.
Old Yesterday, 4:46 AM #11852
ihatemandatoryregister
Mad Poster

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,003
Thanks: 155 in 15 Posts
5 Achievements


What's the fastest way to send everyone on a lot into aspiration failure at once? I want to see what happens.

EDIT: Figured it out. InSim has an option to set the aspiration score of a group of Sims.


I'm secretly a Bulbasaur.

My memory is poor, so please take anything I say with a grain of salt. | Looking for SimWardrobe's mods? | Or Dizzy's? | Faiuwle/rufio's too! | smorbie1's Chris Hatch archives
Last edited by ihatemandatoryregister : Yesterday at 4:58 AM.
Old Yesterday, 5:01 AM #11853
Rosawyn
Theorist

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,072
Thanks: 20 in 1 Posts
2 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by lazzybum
when moving sims into a new lot, is it safe to take their pet bird or womrat by putting them in sim's inventory?

I've done this with a bird at least once and it worked fine. I imagine womrats wouldn't be much different.
Old Yesterday, 5:39 AM #11854
Charmful
Link Ninja

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,630
Thanks: 178 in 4 Posts
12 Achievements

View My Journal


I've done both, they are fine. Womrats never die though, not in my game. They are immortal little things.

Uh oh! My social bar is low - that's why I posted today.

Old Yesterday, 11:33 AM #11855
Justpetro
Mad Poster

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5,775
Thanks: 800 in 31 Posts
16 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by lazzybum
What is the safest way to delete custom careers? I'm guessing I have to make sure no one is employed in that career before I take it out. Is there a way to show a list of who is employed in a specific career, like in SimPE?

And when moving sims into a new lot, is it safe to take their pet bird or womrat by putting them in sim's inventory?


I believe sims in custom careers just have to be at home. Personally, I will have them all quit first.

Windows 10 and the Ultimate Collection
http://modthesims.info/showthread.php?t=568275
Old Yesterday, 4:02 PM #11856
StrangeTownChick
Forum Resident

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 878
Thanks: 481 in 13 Posts
6 Achievements


Anyone know of a workaround for moving a ninth sim into a college dorm? I have the larger households mod and it's a nine-room dorm but for whatever reason I can't move a ninth sim into the dorm I have.

I've got one or two things on MTS, but most of my stuff is on my main site here:
http://simcessories.blogspot.com/
(Now recruiting budding creators.)
Old Yesterday, 4:33 PM #11857
Peni Griffin
Mad Poster

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13,967
Thanks: 1273 in 11 Posts
12 Achievements


Try having one of the first 8 propose/move in. Some of the bigger household mods balk at merging from neighborhood view but will let you invite move-ins endlessly.

Ugly is in the heart of the beholder.
(My simblr isSim Media Res . Widespot,Widespot RFD: The Subhood, and Land Grant University are all available here. In case you care.)
Old Yesterday, 5:03 PM #11858
Lamare
just a girl

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 761
Thanks: 3741 in 33 Posts
17 Achievements


I think it's not allowed to invite people to move in to dorms. The workaround I can think of is to move a household out to a residence, invite ninth sim via proposition, then exit to 'hood view, move out the whole bunch to family bin and move in to a dorm. I have just recently tested moving larger families from bin to unoccupied lots - the game doesn't mind. It does mind, if a lot is occupied and you try to merge households.
Old Yesterday, 5:12 PM #11859
Peni Griffin
Mad Poster

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13,967
Thanks: 1273 in 11 Posts
12 Achievements


You can propose/move in dormies to make them playable, including ones that don't live there. Why wouldn't it be allowed with playables? The mechanic that moves dormies out to make room for dates and outing members who come back to the dorm implies an expectation that they'll be invited to move in.

Ugly is in the heart of the beholder.
(My simblr isSim Media Res . Widespot,Widespot RFD: The Subhood, and Land Grant University are all available here. In case you care.)
Old Yesterday, 5:39 PM #11860
Lamare
just a girl

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 761
Thanks: 3741 in 33 Posts
17 Achievements


I have mixed feelings about this. I kind of think I remember inviting someone into dorm, but recently all I got was dropped action, if I tried. Looking at code, the game has a function "Move in - Allow?" that returns false if lot is a dorm. Maybe what I remember was moving in by marriage. Marriage code looks like it can go around the test.
Anyway, if I were StrangeTownChick, I would try to invite first. Or even use teleporter mod - here's another workaround.
Old Yesterday, 7:51 PM #11861
katalina522
Instructor

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 559
Thanks: 397 in 2 Posts
5 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Justpetro
I believe sims in custom careers just have to be at home. Personally, I will have them all quit first.


Don't they still have memories attached to those careers, though?
Old Yesterday, 8:06 PM #11862
SneakyWingPhoenix
Scholar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,524


Speaking of university, do secret societies generate in new empty hoods?
Old Yesterday, 9:02 PM #11863
Peni Griffin
Mad Poster

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13,967
Thanks: 1273 in 11 Posts
12 Achievements


The members do if you don't have a mod to suppress spawning; but if this is a custom university that started empty, you'll have to build your own secret society lot.

Ugly is in the heart of the beholder.
(My simblr isSim Media Res . Widespot,Widespot RFD: The Subhood, and Land Grant University are all available here. In case you care.)
Old Yesterday, 10:36 PM #11864
Rosawyn
Theorist

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,072
Thanks: 20 in 1 Posts
2 Achievements


If I put in a mod that causes a reset and then load up exactly one hood before closing the game and removing that same mod, will all my hoods be reset or just the one I loaded up while the mod was in?
Old Yesterday, 11:36 PM #11865
Sims2Christain
Instructor

Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 621


Just the one you loaded
Old Yesterday, 11:46 PM #11866
Phantomknight
Field Researcher

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 418
1 Achievements


@SneakyWingPhoenix, basically what Peni said, but also, when you build a custom university you should notice that you have the option to place down one of the three Maxis secret societies--they're in the lot bin. Once placed it disappears.

@Lamare, you can definitely propose/move in sims while in the dorm and @StrangeTownChick, you need to update your userstartup.cheat file to be able to move sims from the bin to a household with eight sims in it. Unless there's special dorm/uni coding that prevents it (and there could be, haven't done this in a university hood in a while), updating the cheat file should do it. I'll double check for you when I get home.

"This is subtracting from my arts and crafts time."
Also known as Kelyns but you can call me KB.
Bored? Read the legacy I'll probably never finish.
Old Today, 12:28 AM #11867
SneakyWingPhoenix
Scholar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,524


Oh that great to know @Phantomknight that I don't need to build it or miss out on anything.
Old Today, 1:59 AM #11868
ihatemandatoryregister
Mad Poster

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,003
Thanks: 155 in 15 Posts
5 Achievements


What happens if a Sim gets inducted into the secret society, but the subhood doesn't have a SS lot?

I'm secretly a Bulbasaur.

My memory is poor, so please take anything I say with a grain of salt. | Looking for SimWardrobe's mods? | Or Dizzy's? | Faiuwle/rufio's too! | smorbie1's Chris Hatch archives
Old Today, 3:55 AM #11869
StrangeTownChick
Forum Resident

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 878
Thanks: 481 in 13 Posts
6 Achievements


I've never been able to find that file, let alone figure out how to use it.

I've got one or two things on MTS, but most of my stuff is on my main site here:
http://simcessories.blogspot.com/
(Now recruiting budding creators.)
Old Today, 4:21 AM #11870
Phantomknight
Field Researcher

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 418
1 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by StrangeTownChick
I've never been able to find that file, let alone figure out how to use it.


I just posted about it in the Forgotten Hotkeys thread, but here ya go:
http://modthesims.info/wiki.php?tit...erstartup.cheat
http://www.leefish.nl/mybb/showthread.php?tid=3462

The file is in My Documents -> EA Games -> The Sims 2 -> Config. The file should open with Notepad and then just add:

uintProp maxTotalSims 100
uintProp maxTotalHumans 100
uintProp maxTotalPets 99

You can use lower numbers, of course (like 50 or whatever), but the above pretty much guarantees you shouldn't have any problems merging bigger households, especially when combined with whatever bigger household mod you use.

Just make sure that if you use a lighting mod, you keep whatever text is there already. And, as the threads that I linked to show, you can put a lot of different stuff in it. I believe there was a sharing thread for userstartup cheats on MTS somewhere, too.

"This is subtracting from my arts and crafts time."
Also known as Kelyns but you can call me KB.
Bored? Read the legacy I'll probably never finish.
Old Today, 5:08 AM #11871
apocalypticautumn
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 121
1 Achievements


How exactly does the genie lamp work??

Matchmaker plopped one off on the Picaso's porch while both of their aspirations were low. They each have 5/10 bars in their OTH too. I always thought platinum aspiration and high hobby were the only factors, is an element of random chance in play too?

(It's not a mod situation since I'm play testing a clean Ultimate on a new computer.)

Lv24 Magikarp
apocalypticsims
Old Today, 5:48 AM #11872
Charmful
Link Ninja

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,630
Thanks: 178 in 4 Posts
12 Achievements

View My Journal


I'm pretty sure matchmaker's gift Genies due to high positive reputation

Uh oh! My social bar is low - that's why I posted today.

Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.