Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1384
Have an account? Sign in:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 1 (Who?), Viewed: 1447 times.
Search this Thread
Old 18th Nov 2017, 8:32 AM Strange links in verification email #1
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 25
Thanks: 27 in 1 Posts
2 Achievements

Guess the first thing is Mozilla Thunderbird thinks the email is a scam to begin with.

In the email, the link displays like this:
Dear Cheetah2003,

Since you have recently changed your email, we require that you verify your new email address. You will only need to click on the link once, and your account will be updated.

To complete reverification, please visit the following link: http://www.modthesims.info/register.php?a=act&u=x&i=x

I removed the numbers just in case of security issues. Anyway, so you hover over the link and that's not where it goes, it goes to this link:

I don't recommend trying that link. I'm not sure what's gotten into your system but this same pair of displayed link and alternate actual target appears four times in the email, and it looks kinda unprofessional so I'm not going to either link.

If anyone wants the email, I can forward it where you want. I'll hold on to it for a few days.
Old 18th Nov 2017, 4:12 PM #2
Warrior Gryphon

Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9,893
Thanks: 85741 in 16 Posts
28 Achievements

View My Journal

We do use sendgrid as a service but I wasn't aware that it was substituting links like this. I'll check into it, thanks

Story books are full of fairy tales, of Kings and Queens, and the bluest skies.

Section jump:

Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.