Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 962
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 3 (Who?), Viewed: 4172 times.
Search this Thread
Old 11th Jan 2018, 6:32 PM DefaultCan't play Life Stories #1
Mary Blue
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 16
Thanks: 51 in 2 Posts
3 Achievements


Recently I wanted to play through Life Stories again and installed it on my new laptop - it's Asus ROG GL553 with Windows 10. The game installed without a problem and started up in a window. That's where the problem appears - although the program seems to be running, I can hear the game and it's interactive (I can skip the cinematic intro by clicking), the window remains white, so it's unplayable. Does anyone have an idea, how to fix it? Maybe Graphic Rules Maker for TS2?
Old 11th Jan 2018, 10:15 PM #2
marka93
Mad Poster

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6,866
Thanks: 6088 in 31 Posts
27 Achievements

View My Journal


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mary Blue
Recently I wanted to play through Life Stories again and installed it on my new laptop - it's Asus ROG GL553 with Windows 10. The game installed without a problem and started up in a window. That's where the problem appears - although the program seems to be running, I can hear the game and it's interactive (I can skip the cinematic intro by clicking), the window remains white, so it's unplayable. Does anyone have an idea, how to fix it? Maybe Graphic Rules Maker for TS2?


Have you made sure to download and install ALL available Windows updates ? Please do so if you still haven't done that on your own computer. Also try running the "autorun.exe" as Administrator (right-click -> Run as Administrator).
Other than that, the error sounds familiar and reminds me of something I saw in another game. Can you try this here too ?
Control Panel -> Programs -> Programs and Features -> Turn Windows features on or off.
Unfold the folder named "Legacy Components" and see if the box named DirectPlay is ticked. If not, please tick that box manually and click on "OK". I don't remember anymore, but you may need to re-start the computer for the changes to take effect.
After that, try running the setup again. Good luck for now !

All my Beginning Hoods here at MTS. http://www.modthesims.info/member.php?u=7749491
All my Beginning Hoods as Shopping Districts plus Old Town. http://www.modthesims.info/download.php?t=523417
MooVille, a tribute to Mootilda and her fabulous lots http://www.modthesims.info/download.php?t=534158
Old 14th Jan 2018, 11:36 AM #3
Mary Blue
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 16
Thanks: 51 in 2 Posts
3 Achievements


You mean Windows updates? Yea, I keep my system up to date all the time. I tried running it as administrator and in compatibility mode beforehand. I will check the other solutions as soon as I'm at home and let you know, whether it worked for me. Thanks in advance!
Old 27th Feb 2018, 9:42 AM #4
Twilightsims
Instructor

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 441
Thanks: 5316 in 48 Posts
19 Achievements

View My Journal


I recently played the Sims Castaway Stories and I couldnt get it to install, I had to go into C Drive and open the .exe file and run as an Administrator. I would try doing this for Life Stories too!

Twilightsims
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.