Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1125
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 9998 (Who?), Viewed: 216393 times.
Search this Thread
Old 16th Oct 2017, 12:14 PM #9976
maxon
Now what dammit?



Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10,808
Thanks: 7205 in 39 Posts
23 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Orilon
Are you saying it was MustLuvCats understair storage then?

About a year or two ago I downloaded MustLuvCats understair storage, then went looking for stair cases that would work with it. Used the Scriptorum for the stairs, and the lights stopped working. It took uninstalling and re-installing the game to get the Scriptorium out of my installation files to get the lights working again.

Did you install Gunmod's radiance system with it? It might be that conflicting with hacks/mods you have. Either that or it might have been a light I guess.

The Scriptorium itself basically creates some sub-folders in your game files, adds one line to the in-game script files for walls, stairs and fireplaces (saying make sure you (the game) read these folders when you load) and some shortcuts to your Downloads folder. Nothing at all to do with lights and this is what you have to do manually if you install custom stairs/walls/fireplaces and don't use the Scriptorium for it. This is what Numenor said on the Scriptorim thread:

the Installer creates three special folders named "Scriptorium_ModularStairs", "Scriptorium_Fireplaces" and "Scriptorium_Walls" in the folder (gamedir)\The Sims 2\TSData\Res\Catalog\Scripts.
Then appends one single line to the game files "modularstairs.txt", "fireplaces.txt" and "walls.txt": wildInclude Scriptorium_Fireplaces\*.*
These two simple steps ensure the needed support for the custom content.

I think it's more likely to be the CC you had at the time than the Scriptorium.

Polgannon: Who Murdered Blaise Penhaligan?
(3rd ed. neighbourhood now available with corrections). Poll: http://strawpoll.me/6689876

Polls: length of neighbourhood play: http://www.strawpoll.me/10908815 & http://www.strawpoll.me/10908842

Thread for yakking about making TS2 stuff
Old 16th Oct 2017, 12:37 PM #9977
MattieOReilly
Field Researcher

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 242
Thanks: 162 in 2 Posts
3 Achievements


@ihatemandatoryregister If you mean giving tokens to sims when ACR is first installed, it will automatically give one to any sim eligible for a token that doesn't have one at 8:30 am and pm.
Old 16th Oct 2017, 5:08 PM #9978
Zena-Dew-Drop
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 198


Is it absolutely necessary to have the pets, seasons, exotic destinations, magic and hobby subhoods attached to your main hood? I don't plan on using the hobby or magic lots, and all of my subhoods are set up to have no character files.
Will generating a hood without them break anything?
Old 16th Oct 2017, 5:34 PM #9979
FranH
Mad Poster

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,460


Quote:
Will generating a hood without them break anything?


No. I've got empty templates, and it doesn't bother the game one whit. If you don't have those, you will spawn all the subhoods

You don't want to do it without the empty templates.

However, the magic lots automatically generate anyway-there's no way to avoid them. They're hidden lots, and not subject to any template shenanigans..

Receptacle Refugee & Resident Polar Bear
"Get out of my way, young'un, I'm a ninja!"
Old 16th Oct 2017, 5:35 PM #9980
Zena-Dew-Drop
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 198


Quote:
Originally Posted by FranH
No. I've got empty templates, and it doesn't bother the game one whit. If you don't have those, you will spawn all the subhoods

You don't want to do it without the empty templates.

However, the magic lots automatically generate anyway-there's no way to avoid them. They're hidden lots, and not subject to any template shenanigans..

Thanks, I do have empty templates because I wanted to make my own vacation destinations
When do the magic lots generate? I have several hoods I created that have no lots at all...
Old 16th Oct 2017, 5:37 PM #9981
Sketching
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 88


If you can't/don't want to use empty templates, there's also Tarlia's method of disabling the stealth hoods. It's what simmers do if they want to create completely empty neighborhoods, especially if they want to share them.

My life is a series of incomprehensible sketches, illegible notes, and running away from angry lizards. I don't enjoy that last one.

Stories and stories about mermaids, kings and sunken treasure, magic worlds where the impossible becomes the everyday!
Old 16th Oct 2017, 5:42 PM #9982
Zena-Dew-Drop
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 198


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sketching
If you can't/don't want to use empty templates, there's also Tarlia's method of disabling the stealth hoods. It's what simmers do if they want to create completely empty neighborhoods, especially if they want to share them.

I think that is the method I used, and that must be why I have no magic lots.
Old 16th Oct 2017, 5:44 PM #9983
grammapat
Mad Poster

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 4 in 2 Posts
1 Achievements


This seems now to me mostly "the vomit" thread, so I won't keep talking about adoption. I've discovered lots of stuff about:
Squinge's "adopt teen", the Ogre non-adoption. Sim Blender, Sim Manipulator, Teleporter Cat
Don't know if I should start an Adoption thread, or if it's been done/updated, or if anyone cares

Namaste
Old 16th Oct 2017, 5:49 PM #9984
maxon
Now what dammit?



Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10,808
Thanks: 7205 in 39 Posts
23 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Zena-Dew-Drop
Thanks, I do have empty templates because I wanted to make my own vacation destinations
When do the magic lots generate? I have several hoods I created that have no lots at all...

ON loading the hood for the first time - empty templates actually don't prevent the sub-hoods being added, it's just that what gets added is empty. With my Polgannon, I made that without sub-hoods. When you put it in your game, your game will add them all on first loading. Basically that's what happens - the game checks to see if they are there. If they are, it carries on loading, if they're not, it adds them.

Polgannon: Who Murdered Blaise Penhaligan?
(3rd ed. neighbourhood now available with corrections). Poll: http://strawpoll.me/6689876

Polls: length of neighbourhood play: http://www.strawpoll.me/10908815 & http://www.strawpoll.me/10908842

Thread for yakking about making TS2 stuff
Old 16th Oct 2017, 10:31 PM #9985
mdsb759
Scholar

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,420


loading order.
when game loads the Downloads folder; is it sub-folders first then files or files first then sub-folders? or is the order by keyboard character regardless of file or folder?
and similar with each level of sub-folder?
Old 16th Oct 2017, 11:57 PM #9986
simsfreq
Alchemist

Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,949
Thanks: 2625 in 14 Posts
15 Achievements


I find disabling stealth hoods to be risky. If you open up your game accidentally with them enabled or somehow enable them accidentally you can wind up with them being added accidentally when you didn't want them to be. I even ended up with two copies of each in one of mine, which was weird.

It makes sense for creating hoods for download, because that's a very specific set of circumstances you'd probably be extra careful around and make several backups of the hood in various stages.

I see the empty stealth hoods as being like a "vaccination" against populated stealth hoods getting added.

BTW, you don't need empty templates for vacation hoods, uni hoods, downtowns or shopping districts, in order to add custom ones. When you go to add these, you always have the option of adding a totally custom one rather than one of the defaults. It's only the stealth (invisible) hoods; Weather, Magic, Hobbies and Pets, which need disabling in order to avoid the sim bin clones in every hood. Be aware that you probably actually want these subhoods for certain gameplay options; Weather adds the garden club NPCs, Magic adds the secret witch lots, Hobbies add the secret Hobby lots. Pets... I don't know if that adds anything. I think stray spawning is handled by another process. The "empty" versions do allow the special sims/lots to spawn and be accessed but disable the sim bin families.

Livejournal: simsfreq.livejournal.com
Tumblr: simsfreq.tumblr.com

Co sleeper for babies/toddlers, and teen career overhaul (also custom schools) Plus! TS2:UNI careers enabled for teens: Here at simbology
Old Yesterday, 12:15 PM #9987
ConsoC
Test Subject

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 45


I know trashcan rummaging/dumpster diving is a thing in Sims 3 and 4, but I can't figure out if it's possible in The Sims 2. Is it an hidden interaction or do I need a mod?

Slowly moving steps into basic TS2 modding.
I will occasionally post my stuff at spicyplumbobs.wordpress.com, hopefully it's good.
Old Yesterday, 12:18 PM #9988
Sketching
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 88


It's done autonomously by extremely sloppy sims but if you want to to do it yourself, here you go.

My life is a series of incomprehensible sketches, illegible notes, and running away from angry lizards. I don't enjoy that last one.

Stories and stories about mermaids, kings and sunken treasure, magic worlds where the impossible becomes the everyday!
Old Yesterday, 12:25 PM #9989
ConsoC
Test Subject

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 45


I had the suspect it had to deal with the sloppiness of a sim, but I hoped it was going to be easier to access. Props.

Slowly moving steps into basic TS2 modding.
I will occasionally post my stuff at spicyplumbobs.wordpress.com, hopefully it's good.
Old Yesterday, 9:05 PM #9990
Rosawyn
Scholar

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,402


I seem to remember being allowed to direct extremely sloppy sims to "salvage" from garbage cans right from day one, back before I ever installed any mods.
Last edited by Rosawyn : Yesterday at 11:09 PM.
Old Yesterday, 10:43 PM #9991
joandsarah77
Needs Coffee



Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 21,542
Thanks: 4380 in 48 Posts
21 Achievements

View My Journal


Sloppy sims with 0-1 point can rummage through the trash, sometimes finding a small random object that disappears while they gain a small amount of cash.

"I dream of a better tomorrow, where chickens can cross the road and not be questioned about their motives." - Unknown
~Call me Jo~
Old Yesterday, 11:35 PM #9992
stitching
Instructor

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 532


What is the invisible GraveMarker, and is it safe to use the stuck object remover on it?

In Patrizio Monty's house (Tarlia's subhood version), there are two urns. The other day I had moved them outside. Today I decided to enlarge the house and the spot inside where they used to sit is now in the courtyard. I tried to build a pool over that spot but couldn't as the game insists there is something there. I saved, then tried the stuck object remover on those tiles. The message came up as "GraveMarker has been burninated!" I exited the lot without saving, and then went back in. The sims can walk through that spot, and objects can be placed on those tiles, but the game still won't allow a pool. The visible gravestones are outside, and still have the options to mourn and move gravestones. If I move the gravestones around outside, I can build pools on those spots.

I have nounlinkedondelete. I have not had ghosts spawn on this lot yet.
Old Yesterday, 11:51 PM #9993
Rosawyn
Scholar

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,402


If I have a CC item in my game (as in, placed on a lot) and then change that object's GUID in SimPE, will the object still be there? Will doing this break anything?
Old Today, 12:03 AM #9994
gdayars
Turquoise Dragon



Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 860
Thanks: 1055 in 13 Posts
13 Achievements


the item will be whatever the fallback guid was.
Old Today, 12:09 AM #9995
Rosawyn
Scholar

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,402


Ah, thank you. That's good to know.

@stitching, is that the shipped version of the hood, or a cleaned/fixed version?
Old Today, 1:45 AM #9996
stitching
Instructor

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 532


It's Tarlia's cleaned business district version. I opened up the cleaned regular 'hood version as well and the same thing happened there when I moved the urns.
Last edited by stitching : Today at 2:55 AM.
Old Today, 3:20 AM #9997
ihatemandatoryregister
Mad Poster

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4,138
Thanks: 126 in 12 Posts
4 Achievements


Is there any functional difference between setting a Sims' gender preference to both genders as 200 rather than a relatively low number?

I'm secretly a Bulbasaur.

My memory is poor, so please take anything I say with a grain of salt. | Looking for SimWardrobe's mods? | Or Dizzy's? | Faiuwle/rufio's too!
Old Today, 3:29 AM #9998
velvetina
Instructor

Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 582


They won't go from bi to straight or gay so easily? I can't see any other use for that.

"Exijo una explicacion!"
Old Today, 4:42 AM #9999
Freefalldreams
Scholar

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,098


Is there anything toddlers can build body skill with?

Have Mansions & Gardens without Apartment Life and can't find the University espresso bar? You're not the only one!
I claim whatever dubious bragging rights there are for proving this is yet another M&G-without-AL bug.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.