Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1143
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 2 (Who?), Viewed: 4590 times.
Search this Thread
Old 21st Mar 2017, 6:56 PM Default[SOLVED] .simgeom mesh all black when imported to milkshape #1
bellakenobi
Original Poster

Field Researcher

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 243
Thanks: 1721 in 16 Posts
14 Achievements


So, I'm retexturing a hair and I usually import the package to TSRW to visualize how the texture and control are and such. It is more practical to me than opening the game to do that.
This one I'm retexturing didn't opened on TSRW, I thought "well, I'll extract the mesh from the package with s3pe, import it to Milkshape and then I'll assign my control texture to visualize it".

But when I import the mesh into Milkshape, it is almost all black like this:


I made a quick research and tried the Face > Smooth All option but it didn't work. I also tried the Align Normals and it messed up the whole thing.

Am I doing anything wrong?
I don't want to edit the mesh and such, I just want to visualize how my control gets on the mesh without opening the game

The hair I'm retexturing is this one: http://mybluebookblog.blogspot.com....-converted.html

All this has happened before, and will happen again.
My simblr - My deviantart (where I post pictures of my crafts).
Last edited by bellakenobi : 22nd Mar 2017 at 2:43 AM.
Old 21st Mar 2017, 10:34 PM #2
Lyralei
MakeNeedsStaticOn



Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,508
Thanks: 395 in 6 Posts
8 Achievements


I usually use Blender for this to prevent the weird black thingy from happening, but for some reason it's something that most CC creators don't bother changing or it's because of the way they compressed it into a GEOM file. In blender you'd want to select the entire mesh and use the shortcut CTRL+N and flip the faces/normals that are facing the wrong direction.
With milkshape, it's kinda the same, but I guess in this case you might want to flip them though. But since you're using the mesh for previewing your textures, I guess as long as it looks normal to you in the 3D view, I wouldn't worry about the mesh ^- ~
Old 22nd Mar 2017, 2:06 AM #3
bellakenobi
Original Poster

Field Researcher

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 243
Thanks: 1721 in 16 Posts
14 Achievements


Hi, thanks for your help! ^^

After some research I discovered that the issue wasn't on the mesh, it was on the texture I was importing to Milkshape.
I took a look a this Anubis control texture tutorial just in case and found out that the issue was because I was importing the control without the proper alpha!

All this has happened before, and will happen again.
My simblr - My deviantart (where I post pictures of my crafts).
Last edited by bellakenobi : 12th Apr 2017 at 6:54 AM.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.