Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1386
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 7 (Who?), Viewed: 292 times.
Search this Thread
Old 12th Jul 2018, 6:53 PM DefaultDirect3D returned an error? #1
alljoj
Original Poster

Scholar

Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,065
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life




Hi! i just got a new laptop, screwed around with Sims 2 for a bit, it's all good. I apply the stuff for Graphics Rules Maker, and suddenly it pulls the error in the screenshot and closes! (For the record, I changed the settings a bit and then it opened in a larger screen and then closed.)

It pulls the error in both windowed and fullscreen.

alljoj doesn't stand for anything.
Old 12th Jul 2018, 8:20 PM #2
mdsb759
Theorist

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,298
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life


might check computer's compatibility with game.
Program Files\EA Games\The Sims 2\Support
EasyInfo program

if any of the lines have "fail", might attempt to change those.
Old 13th Jul 2018, 9:56 AM #3
alljoj
Original Poster

Scholar

Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,065
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life


There's no EasyInfo program in that folder, if that's what you mean. I have the Ultimate Collection.

alljoj doesn't stand for anything.
Old 13th Jul 2018, 10:09 AM #4
Bulbizarre
Mad Poster

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6,599
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 238 in 11 Posts
5 Achievements


New laptop? Check your graphics drivers are up-to-date. And DirectX 9 is installed. Failing that, I think when I had the issue deleting userprops.xml fixed it.

I'm secretly a Bulbasaur. | Formerly known as ihatemandatoryregister

My memory is poor, so please take anything I say with a grain of salt. | Looking for SimWardrobe's mods? | Or Dizzy's? | Faiuwle/rufio's too! | smorbie1's Chris Hatch archives | Check out my website!
Old 13th Jul 2018, 10:13 AM #5
joandsarah77
Needs Coffee



Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 24,739
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 5028 in 58 Posts
27 Achievements

View My Journal


Check here first https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aeuLtmnHhOQ I am hoping yours will be resolved simply. If not it may mean you have a larger problem, especially if you are on a Radeon card. The stick thread in help on memory allocation and the 4GBt patch shows some of the issues some of us have had. If you notice my posts in there, this was one of them. brand new computer, working game until I updated my new Radeon card.

@Bulbizarre except it was updating those drivers that killed my game in the first place. AMD released an update called adrenalin which broke many directX9 games. If anyone has a Radeon card I would advise against that adrenalin update.

I had to put directX9 back on along with a new Nvidia card.

"I dream of a better tomorrow, where chickens can cross the road and not be questioned about their motives." - Unknown
~Call me Jo~
Old 13th Jul 2018, 10:44 AM #6
alljoj
Original Poster

Scholar

Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,065
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life


I'm running an Nvidia card that I can't remember the name of (and honestly I'm too tired to figure it out.) Everything was enabled, and applying the 4GB patch, which I had forgotten, did absolutely nothing.

Deleting userprops.xml fixed it, as I figured out shortly before posting this comment, and now I'm a bit confused but grateful.

alljoj doesn't stand for anything.
Old 13th Jul 2018, 4:32 PM #7
Bulbizarre
Mad Poster

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6,599
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 238 in 11 Posts
5 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by joandsarah77
@Bulbizarre except it was updating those drivers that killed my game in the first place. AMD released an update called adrenalin which broke many directX9 games. If anyone has a Radeon card I would advise against that adrenalin update.


If the drivers were up-to-date I was going to next suggest reverting to an older version.

I'm secretly a Bulbasaur. | Formerly known as ihatemandatoryregister

My memory is poor, so please take anything I say with a grain of salt. | Looking for SimWardrobe's mods? | Or Dizzy's? | Faiuwle/rufio's too! | smorbie1's Chris Hatch archives | Check out my website!
Old 13th Jul 2018, 11:40 PM #8
joandsarah77
Needs Coffee



Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 24,739
Games: Original, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Thanks: 5028 in 58 Posts
27 Achievements

View My Journal


Even uninstalling and reinstalling using the disk that came with my computer didn't fix it. If you haven't seen the sticky thread and what some of us have gone though-some are still going through- check out Jessa's 4GB memory allocation thread. Although we also think maybe a window update also played some part since a lot of what went on made no sense, only that we had working games, updated and then everything was broken. Buying a new Video card fixed it so it was definitely the video card.

@alljoj I am glad to hear it. I am sticking to Nvidia from now on. Not to say people with Nvidia can't have issues, but most issues are with Radeon.

"I dream of a better tomorrow, where chickens can cross the road and not be questioned about their motives." - Unknown
~Call me Jo~
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.