Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 10th Sep 2007 at 6:56 AM
Changing the day/night cycle for neighbourhoods
Hi peeps.

I'm new to modding, and was wondering if there is a way to change the day/night cycle for neighbourhoods?

I've created a holiday location for my vampire sims, so I'd like to change the day/night cycle to either be all night, or preferably have a day cycle that runs from 12-4pm and a night cycle that runs the rest of the time.

Is this possible?

I've seen items that speed up or slow down time, but haven't found anything that changes the time cycles.

Cheers!
Advertisement
world renowned whogivesafuckologist
retired moderator
#2 Old 10th Sep 2007 at 11:25 AM
I haven't seen anyone do it, so this is just a theory...

One could potentially change the lighting files (see Gunmod's lighting and my own seasonal lighting mod for those sorts of files - installation instructions for them will tell you where to find the originals) and use the same settings for day as you do for nighttime, to make for a permanent night. I don't know if it's possible to change the times of day the day/night transition happens - that might be something done elsewhere via hacks and someone else would know better... but all night is probably doable via fairly easy means. Editing lighting files is mainly a matter of first backing up your originals, then plinking around in the txt files (they open in Notepad - don't even need SimPE) and then start by drastically changing one thing you think you understand (there are comments in the file and the names of parameters are somewhat descriptive, if I recall correctly), then test and see what happened.

my simblr (sometimes nsfw)

“Dude, suckin’ at something is the first step to being sorta good at something.”
Panquecas, panquecas e mais panquecas.