Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1594
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 15 (Who?), Viewed: 19086 times.
Search this Thread
Old 8th Oct 2007, 10:31 PM DefaultHow to Make Roofs not Cover your Windows & Doors! #1
Qwerty12321
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 55
Thanks: 72 in 5 Posts
3 Achievements


Many people make wonderful houses, and then add the roofs. The roofs cover the windows and now the house doesn't look to good. I am going to tell you how to fix that.

First, Add a extra story around your house.



Next, from starting from one side of your house to the other, stack the decks or columns tool on top of each other as shown in the picture. (USE SHIFT TO STACK)



Type in the cheat: "BoolProp ConstrainFloorElevation False". Take the leveling tool and drag it from the side of deck/columns to the other side of the house.



Your wall should lower down to a 1/4 size. It should like similar to this:



TURN OFF THE CHEAT! Finish your house, and you will notice the windows or doors are not covered.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------
If your house is on a foundation then follow this tutorial.

Make two stairs going in the ground as being shown in the picture. (ADD A EXTRA STORY, I FORGOT TO SHOW IT IN THE FIRST PICTURE!)



Bring out the leveling tool and put it in the deep hole where the second stair lands. Delete the stairs and drag the leveling tool across the house. This is where your column/deck will go.



Make the columns/deck (Once again, use SHIFT to stack)



Type in the cheat and drag the leveling tool from the deck/columns to the other side of the house.



TURN OFF THE CHEAT! The wall should shorten. Finish your house and you will notice the roof doesn't cover the windows.

Now your house looks A LOT better =]!
Last edited by Qwerty12321 : 8th Oct 2007 at 10:51 PM.
3 users say thanks for this.
[ Click here to view a longer list ]
Old 9th Oct 2007, 12:22 AM #2
bluetexasbonnie
Top Secret Researcher

Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,776
Thanks: 21315 in 56 Posts
20 Achievements

View My Journal


I totally agree that adding a 4 click dummy level to set the roof on makes a better looking house.

You can find more of my creations at The Sorceress & Company
Old 9th Oct 2007, 1:51 AM #3
Qwerty12321
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 55
Thanks: 72 in 5 Posts
3 Achievements


Whats a 4 click dummy level? Sorry If I sound stupid, new to this stuff.
Old 9th Oct 2007, 3:15 AM #4
bluetexasbonnie
Top Secret Researcher

Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,776
Thanks: 21315 in 56 Posts
20 Achievements

View My Journal


What you did is a 4-click dummy level.

You can find more of my creations at The Sorceress & Company
Old 9th Oct 2007, 5:51 AM #5
Qwerty12321
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 55
Thanks: 72 in 5 Posts
3 Achievements


Haha, well then now I totally understand your first comment. Thanks.
Old 9th Oct 2007, 6:36 AM #6
niol
Mad Poster

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,403
Thanks: 10173 in 110 Posts
20 Achievements


Why 4-ckick or 4-step dummy level?
It's because the remaining height for that level is the same as the height of 4-click archived by the raising elevation tools.
Also, this is the default height of foundation tools on the ground.. And when a connecting/modular stair is built on these compressed levels of room, 4 steps is the ordinary result wen levels are plain, so this can be called a 4-step level.
In addition, Mikeinside, in his fostering build tutorial for the TS2 community, used dummy level to describe compressed room levels as dummy levels, so we carry on to call that as dummy level.
Old 10th Oct 2007, 1:24 AM #7
Qwerty12321
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 55
Thanks: 72 in 5 Posts
3 Achievements


Cool, thanks for explaining niol.
Old 14th Oct 2007, 10:54 PM #8
Thera
Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 15


I never thought of that idea! Awesome, thanks for the idea and the tutorial. I've seen lots that have this format, but I never realized what it was for, lol. Thanks again!

TO MODDERS IT MIGHT CONCERN:
I thought of a great mod, and thus am requesting... is it possible to tweak the witch spells so that a witch of any alignment can do any spell?
Just putting this out there, since I didn't want to haggle at any of you wonderful modders out there.
Old 5th Apr 2010, 2:51 AM #9
Sadi Kalen
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 170
Thanks: 20405 in 85 Posts
15 Achievements


I tried to do this but the cheat didn't work.... is it case-sensitive or misspelt?
Old 30th Apr 2011, 7:30 AM #10
pinkygamer12
Banned

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 41


This One's helpful for building lots : )















Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Sending You Butterflies Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ
Old 31st Oct 2011, 8:47 PM #11
allovuhsudden
Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 47
Thanks: 35 in 1 Posts
2 Achievements


It's "boolProp constrainFloorElevation false" for some reason I think it is case sensitive.
Old 7th Jan 2012, 3:50 PM #12
itsemurha
Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12


I have a big problem with this. I can never get the walls to go down, instead the first floor raises. It just looks weird. I've tried like a million times with all variables I can think of. It works without a foundation, but not WITH a foundation. And I really like foundations.

I've searched MTS and youtube for hours and I can't find anything helpful. Does anyone know any more detailed tutorial than this, or maybe can tell me what I'm doing wrong?


Edit: I solved it using another technique.
Last edited by itsemurha : 8th Jan 2012 at 9:55 PM. Reason: Problem solved
Old 27th Feb 2012, 2:47 AM #13
TheDeadSim
Field Researcher

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 404
Thanks: 8464 in 76 Posts
15 Achievements

View My Journal


Omg! Thankyou so much for this tutorial! I can now save myself the hassle of clicking exactly 4 / 8 / 12 times when building. I never would have thought to use the stairs.

◄ TDS - TheDeadSim - Cam ►
Old 1st Jul 2012, 9:43 PM #14
Sparklypotato
Inventor

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 985
Thanks: 1428 in 15 Posts
13 Achievements

View My Journal


This was really useful and easy, thanks!
Old 19th Jan 2018, 8:26 PM #15
Aliena
Test Subject

Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 11


There are no images anymore. Can we do something about that?
Old 19th Jan 2018, 11:12 PM #16
simsample
Be like the 22nd elephant with heated value in space- Bark!



Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18,970
Thanks: 8861 in 32 Posts
19 Achievements

View My Journal


@Aliena

Please find attached file which contains a PDF printout of this tutorial, complete with images.
Download - please read all instructions before downloading any files!
File Type: 7z Mod The Sims - How to Make Roofs not Cover your Windows & Doors!.7z (326.9 KB, 20 downloads) - View custom content
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.