Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1700
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 15561 (Who?), Viewed: 354989 times.
Search this Thread
Old Yesterday, 4:45 PM #15551
Primavera
Instructor

Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 551
Thanks: 50 in 5 Posts
4 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by smorbie1
This is a mix of what I discovered and a question. Last night I discovered that I can use sims manipulator to move strays in as pets. Yay! As an animal person, I was always upset by the little pixels wandering around.

Anyway, once I get the critters moved in, I don't know how to tell which sex they are. Is there somewhere to find this info?


Did you check in the Relationship panel @smorbie1? The little icon should be there on their portrait

what_makes_you_haha.mp3

Old Yesterday, 8:03 PM #15552
mdsb759
Theorist

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,263


about enthusiasm gain; looking at the programing of objects that build it might be a help.
Old Yesterday, 9:24 PM #15553
iCad
Undead Molten Llama

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5,117
Thanks: 60741 in 101 Posts
27 Achievements

View My Journal


Quote:
Originally Posted by lauratje86
How difficult is it to add skill and enthusiasm gain to a custom object? Are there tutorials around for this sort of thing?

I would love to add Creativity skill and Film & Literature enthusiasm gain to Limonaire's TS4 Buildems Blocks but I have no idea how to go about it or if it's something that I wouldn't stand a chance of being able to do.....


Crisps & Kerosene posted a hobby enthusiasm tute here: http://crispsandkerosene.tumblr.com...bbys-enthusiasm. As for its difficulty....It's BHAV editing, so how hard it is will likely depend on your level of familiarity with that and/or whether or not you're willing to become familiar with it. My own level of BHAV-editing familiarity is currently zilch, but I have the tute bookmarked for some day when I finally get off my butt (or get ON my butt, as the case may be ) and sit down with Echo's tutorials...

I'm mostly found on (and mostly upload to) Tumblr these days because, alas, there are only 24 hours in a day.
Muh Simblr! | An index of my downloads on Tumblr.
Old Today, 10:01 AM #15554
thewrittenletter
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 43


I made topic of this some months back, but i had it happen again, so i figured out i'll write it here because tbh, i'm interested.

For some reason, my sims' gravestones keep duplicating. I have this system in my neighborhood where i put all the gravestones into the inventory of the owner of the town graveyard (summoning him to a lot, making him selectable, putting the gravestones into his inventory and then making him unselectable and poofing him out with Sim blender) so he could place them into the graveyard when he visits it. Everything to this point happens normally. But when i arrive into the graveyard, there are some duplicated gravestones next to the community phone. I have absolutely no idea what causes this. I hope it doesn't cause any corruption (I haven't played the community lot much so i haven't seen the ghosts yet). The duplicates are exactly the same as the original stones so it's not just blank stones. I wonder if the Hood checker causes this, as it sometimes asks what is the graveyard in the hood. I just think it's little annoying since my graveyard keeps filling up with these unnecessary duplicates i'm scared to delete even when i have the fixes that could allow me to do it w/o corruption.
Old Today, 11:35 AM #15555
Sepowo
Test Subject

Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 19


Quote:
Originally Posted by SneakyWingPhoenix
Where can I find a love letter fix?

Here is an alternative alfixes which allows love letters :
https://slig.dreamwidth.org/33808.html
Old Today, 12:07 PM #15556
SneakyWingPhoenix
Alchemist

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2,619


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sepowo
Here is an alternative alfixes which allows love letters :
https://slig.dreamwidth.org/33808.html

Thank you

P.S. Sorry for my bad english.
Old Today, 12:36 PM #15557
maxon
The Great AntiJen



Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12,512
Thanks: 8093 in 44 Posts
26 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by thewrittenletter
For some reason, my sims' gravestones keep duplicating. I have this system in my neighborhood where i put all the gravestones into the inventory of the owner of the town graveyard (summoning him to a lot, making him selectable, putting the gravestones into his inventory and then making him unselectable and poofing him out with Sim blender) so he could place them into the graveyard when he visits it. Everything to this point happens normally. But when i arrive into the graveyard, there are some duplicated gravestones next to the community phone. I have absolutely no idea what causes this. I hope it doesn't cause any corruption (I haven't played the community lot much so i haven't seen the ghosts yet). The duplicates are exactly the same as the original stones so it's not just blank stones. I wonder if the Hood checker causes this, as it sometimes asks what is the graveyard in the hood. I just think it's little annoying since my graveyard keeps filling up with these unnecessary duplicates i'm scared to delete even when i have the fixes that could allow me to do it w/o corruption.

I would guess that's it - when you run the Hoodchecker and it asks that question, it sounds like it might run the code for graves that are 'in transit' and making sure they are getting deposited at the right lot. If you want to avoid this issue, I would visit your cemetery keeper before you intend to run the HDCU and make sure there are no graves in his inventory because it seems the Hood Checker is reading those as 'in transit' ('in transit' occurs when you click on a grave on the home lot and send it via the game system to your cemetery lot - doing this is known to have the occasional issue of losing the grave in the ether and I can see why that functionality might have been included in the Hood Checker). Two graves of the same sim are not a problem, as a gravestone is just a static sim really - just like two instances of the same sim on a lot are not usually a problem, just a glitch on the part of the game. What is a problem (though not always) is the absence of the gravestone - if you're missing one, that's when you should get worried.

tflc is my tumblr with uploads not uploaded here: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/tflc

Polgannon: Who Murdered Blaise Penhaligan?
(3rd ed. neighbourhood now available with corrections). Poll: http://strawpoll.me/6689876

Thread for yakking about making TS2 stuff
Last edited by maxon : Today at 4:15 PM.
Old Today, 2:16 PM #15558
thewrittenletter
Test Subject

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 43


Quote:
Originally Posted by maxon
I would guess that's it - when you run the Hoodchecker and it asks that questions, it sounds like it might run the code for graves that are 'in transit' and making sure they are getting deposited at the right lot. If you want to avoid this issue, I would visit your cemetery keeper before you intend to run the HDCU and make sure there are no graves in his inventory because it seems the Hood Checker is reading those as 'in transit' ('in transit' occurs when you click on a grave on the home lot and send it via the game system to your cemetery lot - doing this is known to have the occasional issue of losing the grave in the ether and I can see why that functionality might have been included in the Hood Checker). Two graves of the same sim are not a problem, as a gravestone is just a static sim really - just like two instances of the same sim on a lot are not usually a problem, just a glitch on the part of the game. What is a problem (though not always) is the absence of the gravestone - if you're missing one, that's when you should get worried.


Thank you! I will do that from now on ;v;
Old Today, 3:00 PM #15559
smorbie1
Mad Poster

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,830
1 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Primavera
Did you check in the Relationship panel @smorbie1? The little icon should be there on their portrait


Thank you! I would never have thought of doing that.

Why is it the songs we hate the most set up permanent residence in our brains? Chris Hatch's family friendly files archived on SFS: http://www.modthesims.info/showthread.php?t=603534 . Bulbizarre's website: https://bulbizarre.neocities.org/
Old Today, 8:42 PM #15560
altanna
Test Subject

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 50


I am bewildered. I have a family with two teens, a child, a toddler, and an infant. The school age kids are doing very well, are happy, and helpful without complaint. However, if I use the "try for baby" command with the parents, the two eldest get angry. The boy actually ran into his parents room and started silly slapping the dad. When I checked, it showed both teens 'furious with the parents. I just don't understand. I checked their fears, and there were a couple of silly ones (i.e. "see hail") and the serious, "be rejected for first kiss" on both kids. Any ideas? Thank!
Old Today, 8:43 PM #15561
FranH
Mad Poster

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,078


Ok, here's one: I've got a lot of teens going to college in the very near future. What I want to do is play each house, and just before they all 'grow up' to be YA, move them out (because otherwise they'll miss out on the full college experience) and keep them in the Uni bin until they're all assembled.

My question is-can it work to even up everyone's ages? (I suspect it will), and what would be the best way to do this project? By the 'move teens out' or by having them move out one at a time? (remember, this hood has a few triplet and quad mixes, and they're going to be in gender separate dorms).

I'm curious as to if this will work to keep them all together and if it'll impact the parent's finances one way or another. I do know that they take whatever is left over in family funds divided by the number of inhabitants. I just want to make this as smooth a transition as possible with as little impact on both the teens and their families.

The parents will be paying tuition out of their savings accounts, and I think whatever's left is going be a small amount. There goes the retirement fund!

Receptacle Refugee & Resident Polar Bear
"Get out of my way, young'un, I'm a ninja!"
Old Today, 9:00 PM #15562
Peni Griffin
Mad Poster

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14,689
Thanks: 1376 in 11 Posts
12 Achievements


Unless you've modded it, the only funds they'll take to college with them will be their scholarships. You have to use a mod or cheat to pay tuition at all, so refer to your mod creator for that.

If you want to move sims to college in a group, do it from the neighborhood screen. If you want each of the quadruplets to be alone in the family bin, move them out one at a time, it doesn't matter whether you do it by phone or from the neighborhood.

Again, unless you're modding (using a community college hack or whatever) all the sims will start at the beginning of their YA period and leave college on the first day of adulthood. This is the same regardless of whether they drop out, graduate, or manage to stay in University for an unusually long period of time. In between, they'll vary in how many semester hours they have left due to the semester clock not pausing when they leave their home lot for a residence. You can fiddle with their ages by playing them more slowly or more quickly, by the time you make them spend in the family bin in the main hood when they leave college, or by simply using an editing tool to add or subtract days of adulthood as suits you.

Ugly is in the heart of the beholder.
(My simblr isSim Media Res . Widespot,Widespot RFD: The Subhood, and Land Grant University are all available here. In case you care.)
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.