Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Banned
Original Poster
#1 Old 13th Dec 2017 at 9:42 PM
Default need help turning a dog into a pony
so I made a pinkie pie costume for large dogs, but I'm new to assigning weights, and I can't get her to move in a way that looks natural. I've tried many times. here's a video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kgoeENpFEiM

I think I'm going to start from scratch one more time, but if anyone knows this stuff way better, I'm hoping someone can volunteer to assign the weights if I send them the model. eventually I want to get her ears, mouth, and eyelids to move too, but the eyes themselves probably won't work because they don't work the same as sim eyes. but before I do that, I've got to get the entire body to move correctly. any takers?
Advertisement
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse
#2 Old 13th Dec 2017 at 10:09 PM
A lot of genetic engineering going on since Pets came out

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Ms. Byte (Deceased)
#3 Old 13th Dec 2017 at 10:24 PM
That looks pretty good to me. What is it you don't like about the animation, keeping in mind it's going to move like a dog, not a pony?

Coincidentally I'm working on a horse/dog myself. As I make progress with that I'll have a better idea of what works. IMO getting the eyes and ears animated may work well after manual bone assignments - the horse blinks fairly naturally after auto conversion of the mesh but it needs tweaking. Once I'm done with that I'd be willing to help with the pony.

If you want to try auto conversion, I can upload my complete dog mesh that I used as the reference. You'd have to fit the pony mesh to the dog shape as closely as possible for it to work well