Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 2nd Jan 2018 at 9:52 PM
Default "Error creating instance" when trying to add custom objects in world
Hello! I'm relatively new to all of these CAW stuff (I skimmed the guide some time ago, so I'm practically a newbie), and this site has helped me a lot until now, however, I couldn't find a solution to this problem I've been having: I recently downloaded Simsimillian's Assorted Retaining Walls, I also followed the steps on the tutorial on how to add custom CAW objects since I didn't know how to... anyway, the first time I placed the downloaded files into the Packages folder, they didn't appear in CAW, so I looked for a solution and came across simsample's tutorial on how to mod objects to show up in CAW metadata, and that helped me to make them show up, but now when I try to add them in the world, I get this "Error creating instance" message. Can somebody help me? I read that it might be because I haven't added a layer, but I have two layers already and the error message keeps popping up, could it be that something about the instance number went wrong when I modded the OBJD file? Thank you and excuse my bad English, please
Advertisement
Alchemist
#2 Old 4th Jan 2018 at 2:00 PM
I checked those files with S3PE and the only thing I noticed was that the build category flags were not set. But, even though I fixed the build flags, the walls did not show up in CAW. I have a large amount of CC in CAW, my own and others, so I know that my CAW folder works. Those walls are from 2012, so maybe some update broke them.

If you like, I could test your modified packages if you upload them.
dodgy builder
#3 Old 4th Jan 2018 at 2:27 PM