Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1066
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 11898 (Who?), Viewed: 256423 times.
Search this Thread
Old 20th Jan 2018, 11:52 AM #11876
SneakyWingPhoenix
Scholar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,550


My Justin Kim found a (particular) cafeteria working attractive. What should I do? Or should I do anything?
Old 20th Jan 2018, 12:17 PM #11877
FranH
Mad Poster

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,649


Is the cafeteria worker a playable? Check in SimPE for their character file, to see if they have a full one. Perhaps you can make them playable if you wish. I didn't see that particular type on the 'Don't play' list in the Wiki, so that's a fair question.

Now for my question:
Is there any way to reset the rating for a business once it reaches the level 10 designation? I have a couple of them that were sold, but priced according to the level they were sold at. Expensive, to be fair.

Receptacle Refugee & Resident Polar Bear
"Get out of my way, young'un, I'm a ninja!"
Old 20th Jan 2018, 2:23 PM #11878
Charity
Mad Poster

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6,870
Thanks: 2696 in 51 Posts
12 Achievements


I hit something on my keyboard and now have it set to overwrite when I type. Does anyone know how to fix it? It's driving me nuts.
Old 20th Jan 2018, 2:37 PM #11879
omglo
Top Secret Researcher

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,661


Probably the insert key.
Old 20th Jan 2018, 3:20 PM #11880
ihatemandatoryregister
Mad Poster

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,032
Thanks: 156 in 15 Posts
5 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Charity
I hit something on my keyboard and now have it set to overwrite when I type. Does anyone know how to fix it? It's driving me nuts.


The insert key. I actually ended up disabling it on my keyboard, along with caps lock.

I'm secretly a Bulbasaur.

My memory is poor, so please take anything I say with a grain of salt. | Looking for SimWardrobe's mods? | Or Dizzy's? | Faiuwle/rufio's too! | smorbie1's Chris Hatch archives
Old 20th Jan 2018, 6:32 PM #11881
Charmful
Link Ninja

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,641
Thanks: 178 in 4 Posts
12 Achievements

View My Journal


Hit insert again and it will disable the overwriting. I don't know how many times I did that and got annoyed. I ended up googling the issue to find out what it was and lo and behold we are not the only ones with that issue ;p

Uh oh! My social bar is low - that's why I posted today.

Old 20th Jan 2018, 6:40 PM #11882
ihatemandatoryregister
Mad Poster

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,032
Thanks: 156 in 15 Posts
5 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by ihatemandatoryregister
The insert key. I actually ended up disabling it on my keyboard, along with caps lock.


KeyTweak's the program I used for that, BTW. One limitation of this is that you have to reboot for it to actually kick in.

I'm secretly a Bulbasaur.

My memory is poor, so please take anything I say with a grain of salt. | Looking for SimWardrobe's mods? | Or Dizzy's? | Faiuwle/rufio's too! | smorbie1's Chris Hatch archives
Old 20th Jan 2018, 7:22 PM #11883
Lamare
just a girl

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 765
Thanks: 3767 in 33 Posts
17 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantomknight
@Lamare, you can definitely propose/move in sims while in the dorm

@Phantomknight, I tried last night and I definitely can't. Thanks for the cheat though.
Old 20th Jan 2018, 10:02 PM #11884
maxon
The Great AntiJen



Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11,318
Thanks: 7547 in 42 Posts
24 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by ihatemandatoryregister
What happens if a Sim gets inducted into the secret society, but the subhood doesn't have a SS lot?

If there's no SS lot, AFAIAA they don't get inducted - Little Carping has never had an SS lot anywhere. Only dormies belong - and, in fact, only one dormie since I have Pescado's hack to limit them.

Polgannon: Who Murdered Blaise Penhaligan?
(3rd ed. neighbourhood now available with corrections). Poll: http://strawpoll.me/6689876

Polls: length of neighbourhood play: http://www.strawpoll.me/10908815 & http://www.strawpoll.me/10908842

Thread for yakking about making TS2 stuff
Old Yesterday, 1:38 AM #11885
srtv
Field Researcher

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 242


What files and folders do I need to copy to take my neighbourhood and current game to another computer?

"Old Town Revival: My Hood"
Old Yesterday, 2:07 AM #11886
maxon
The Great AntiJen



Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11,318
Thanks: 7547 in 42 Posts
24 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by srtv
What files and folders do I need to copy to take my neighbourhood and current game to another computer?

The save games are in the neighbourhood folder but if you use CC, especially hacks, you'll probably need to take your Downloads folder too. There is a small chance you need other folders - principally Saved Sims if you store anything in there.

Polgannon: Who Murdered Blaise Penhaligan?
(3rd ed. neighbourhood now available with corrections). Poll: http://strawpoll.me/6689876

Polls: length of neighbourhood play: http://www.strawpoll.me/10908815 & http://www.strawpoll.me/10908842

Thread for yakking about making TS2 stuff
Old Yesterday, 2:33 AM #11887
mdsb759
Top Secret Researcher

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,661


SC4 files; how many shipped version ones are there in whole game?

lot catalog.
noticed duplicate lots of pre-made expansion lots; except for "specialty lots". is this normal or not?
Old Yesterday, 2:34 AM #11888
Peni Griffin
Mad Poster

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13,977
Thanks: 1274 in 11 Posts
12 Achievements


Also, if you have mods, like camera mods, or Tarlia's cleaned neighborhoods, or custom subhoods, that aren't confined to the Downloads folder, don't forget to carry them over, too!

The most important things to remember are to reinstall the patches and the CEP, plus any CEP-Extras you may have.

Ugly is in the heart of the beholder.
(My simblr isSim Media Res . Widespot,Widespot RFD: The Subhood, and Land Grant University are all available here. In case you care.)
Old Yesterday, 2:49 AM #11889
maxon
The Great AntiJen



Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11,318
Thanks: 7547 in 42 Posts
24 Achievements


I got the impression they were just transferring temporarily - y'all are describing a permanent move.

Polgannon: Who Murdered Blaise Penhaligan?
(3rd ed. neighbourhood now available with corrections). Poll: http://strawpoll.me/6689876

Polls: length of neighbourhood play: http://www.strawpoll.me/10908815 & http://www.strawpoll.me/10908842

Thread for yakking about making TS2 stuff
Old Yesterday, 4:23 AM #11890
BlueAlien
Instructor

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 478


Can I use the teleporter cat to move a runaway teen into my orphanage, or will that cause problems when when he's supposed to come home and grow up?
Old Yesterday, 5:18 AM #11891
srtv
Field Researcher

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 242


Thanks for all the replies, I will try to do it right!

"Old Town Revival: My Hood"
Old Yesterday, 5:27 AM #11892
RoxEllen1965
Scholar

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,410


Quote:
Originally Posted by apocalypticautumn
How exactly does the genie lamp work??

Matchmaker plopped one off on the Picaso's porch while both of their aspirations were low. They each have 5/10 bars in their OTH too. I always thought platinum aspiration and high hobby were the only factors, is an element of random chance in play too?

(It's not a mod situation since I'm play testing a clean Ultimate on a new computer.)


IF the Prima Guide is right, there's at least a 2 percent daily base chance of getting the lamp (plus modifiers for high Lifetime Aspiration score and high hobby enthusiasm). It's remotely possible that this was just random chance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prima Guide
Each day there's a two percent chance the Gypsy Matchmaker will wander by and drop off a lamp. The more Sims in the household that have high Lifetime Aspiration score (+2% chance for each Sim with line 7 or higher Lifetime Aspiration score) and hobby enthusiasm (+1% chance for each hobby for which each Sim is at or above level 8), the more liekly a lamp will arrive. Thus, let's imagine a household with four Sims, two of whom have Lifetime Aspiration score above line 7. Two of these Sims each have one hobby at level 10 enthusiasm, one has two hobbies maximized, and the third has none above level 7. Thus, the lot's chance of getting a lamp each day would be 10 percent.


There's no mention of how the game decides who gets the memory of finding it. I've had babies and toddlers get the memory of finding the lamp. One time a dorm cook got the memory of finding it!
Old Yesterday, 12:20 PM #11893
Essa
Theorist

Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 2,104
2 Achievements


@FranH
Quote:
Originally Posted by FranH
Now for my question:
Is there any way to reset the rating for a business once it reaches the level 10 designation? I have a couple of them that were sold, but priced according to the level they were sold at. Expensive, to be fair.

I think the response lies in Simpe's business info tab.
You'll need to test though. The only thing I've done here is the "reward again" option.

@srtv
I'd also keep the userstartup.cheat file (if you have one) in the Config folder.
Old Yesterday, 7:26 PM #11894
Charmful
Link Ninja

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,641
Thanks: 178 in 4 Posts
12 Achievements

View My Journal


Does the Simlogical stay-things shrub work for Apartments? Because Apartments usually reset to the original set up after a sim moves out so does the shrub interrupt that code and keep whatever was set to stay?

Uh oh! My social bar is low - that's why I posted today.

Old Yesterday, 7:52 PM #11895
ihatemandatoryregister
Mad Poster

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,032
Thanks: 156 in 15 Posts
5 Achievements


It doesn't.

I'm secretly a Bulbasaur.

My memory is poor, so please take anything I say with a grain of salt. | Looking for SimWardrobe's mods? | Or Dizzy's? | Faiuwle/rufio's too! | smorbie1's Chris Hatch archives
Old Yesterday, 8:00 PM #11896
maxon
The Great AntiJen



Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11,318
Thanks: 7547 in 42 Posts
24 Achievements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Charmful
Does the Simlogical stay-things shrub work for Apartments? Because Apartments usually reset to the original set up after a sim moves out so does the shrub interrupt that code and keep whatever was set to stay?
It's because of how apartments work - when you move a sim out of an apartment and apparently back into the same apartment, it is, in fact, not the same apartment. The game makes a copy of the base lot every time you move a sim in and discards any version of the lot it made before and is now unoccupied. Basically, the stay things shrub can't work with apartments because it's never the same apartment lot.

Polgannon: Who Murdered Blaise Penhaligan?
(3rd ed. neighbourhood now available with corrections). Poll: http://strawpoll.me/6689876

Polls: length of neighbourhood play: http://www.strawpoll.me/10908815 & http://www.strawpoll.me/10908842

Thread for yakking about making TS2 stuff
Old Today, 12:45 AM #11897
FranH
Mad Poster

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,649


Essa, I never thought of that! You can change the rating from 10 to whatever, I bet. I'll check it out and report back.

Receptacle Refugee & Resident Polar Bear
"Get out of my way, young'un, I'm a ninja!"
Old Today, 2:38 AM #11898
frogz2007
Scholar

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,166
1 Achievements


Have custom REIA's (Neighborhood flyby videos seen in the NH selection screen) ever been made successfully? I know the .MOVIE files, which contain the videos for the TV's, can be converted with FFMPEG, but I know that the REIA's don't convert properly.
Old Today, 3:51 AM #11899
ihatemandatoryregister
Mad Poster

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,032
Thanks: 156 in 15 Posts
5 Achievements


To the best of my knowledge, no.

I'm secretly a Bulbasaur.

My memory is poor, so please take anything I say with a grain of salt. | Looking for SimWardrobe's mods? | Or Dizzy's? | Faiuwle/rufio's too! | smorbie1's Chris Hatch archives
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.