Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1256
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 10 (Who?), Viewed: 2628 times.
Search this Thread
Old 1st Aug 2017, 3:01 AM DefaultWill this be an issue? #1
mustang34
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 105


Hey y'all! So after 4 years of planning (pronounced procrastination) I've finally started building my own sims 3 world! Some things had to be tweaked as I moved from paper to 'puter screen. Everything was working out pretty well, but then this happened: (See attached pic)



I placed the road and then drew the lot on top of it before I realized what happened. The game didn't give me any problem/alert when I did it which seems strange. As a CAW Newbie, I don't know if this will cause issues... like will it mess with the road/sidewalk, or the lot, or break something else??

I'm absolutely not moving the road, it took me over an hour to place it and get that intersection to connect properly because of the sharp angles. I'd prefer to leave the lot as is if it doesn't hurt anything. It's for the hospital and I've already planned the layout. If I have to, I can split the hospital into two lots, and make the one that would go on this side smaller so there's no overlap on the road. But I reeeeally don't want to

Thanks for the tips in advance!
Screenshots
Click image for larger version

Name:  2017-07-31 (3).png
Views: 0
Size:  604.2 KB  
Old 1st Aug 2017, 4:00 AM #2
Emmett Brown
Instructor

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 544


You can move the lot outward just a bit. How does the routing look?
Old 1st Aug 2017, 4:29 AM #3
jje1000
Theorist

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,309
Thanks: 912 in 5 Posts
6 Achievements


Won't be an issue.

Road routing works even when underlying lots, unless blocked by an on-lot object.
Last edited by jje1000 : 1st Aug 2017 at 4:41 AM.
Old 1st Aug 2017, 4:41 AM #4
mustang34
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 105


I can't move the lot, I'm using every bit of it and it meets another road on the other side. Glad to hear it's fine, thanks!
Old 1st Aug 2017, 1:23 PM #5
Greenplumbbob
MakeNeedsStaticOn



Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,457
Thanks: 363 in 6 Posts
8 Achievements


Moved to CAW!
Old 1st Aug 2017, 8:57 PM #6
Volvenom
dodgy builder

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,439
Thanks: 5967 in 81 Posts
17 Achievements

View My Journal


Quote:
Originally Posted by mustang34
I can't move the lot, I'm using every bit of it and it meets another road on the other side. Glad to hear it's fine, thanks!


You didn't answer Emmett's question about routing It looks to me like the road isn't quite lineing up.

CAW requires a bit of work to get used to. Planning too much before even testing the program isn't recommended. Typically you learn as you make, meaning your road will look better the next time you do it. Just give yourself time to learn how to do it. If you don't, the result won't be as good. CAW is actually rather complicated.
Old 2nd Aug 2017, 7:17 AM #7
daisylee
Forum Resident

Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 808


Lots on roads can totally ruin worlds. Been there, done that, lost a whole world possibly due to it. IMO you need to move the lot or road. I would never chance leaving it like that. I am extremely picky about this issue. I had a world 99% done and lost it. One or 2 lots had been a tad on a road and the world froze and never could be fixed. I read at the time that lots should never be on roads. So....................... that is my input.

I would never risk having a world go corrupt over something that is that easy to spot and fix early in the game.
Last edited by daisylee : 2nd Aug 2017 at 7:50 AM.
Old 3rd Aug 2017, 2:18 AM #8
SimmyRN
Inventor

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 931
Thanks: 24928 in 50 Posts
16 Achievements


Everything I've read says that it can cause major problems to have lots overlapping onto roads or sidewalks. Therefore, I've scrupulously avoided it. If you don't want to move the road, I'd suggest making the lot smaller. Or, does your road layout allow you to angle the lot? This can be done with tiny adjustments in the axis numbers while the grid is turned off. I do this quite a bit to align lot edges to non-straight roads.
Old 7th Aug 2017, 7:23 PM #9
mustang34
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 105


Oh I'm glad that I came back to view this post... I already finished building the hospital on one lot and really like how it turned out so I guess I'll just move the hospital and build something else there on a smaller lot. Darn. Thanks for the input everyone!
Old 8th Aug 2017, 2:00 AM #10
daisylee
Forum Resident

Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 808


Good. Worlds take so long to make that it would be a shame to lose it.
Old 24th Aug 2017, 10:38 PM #11
KatyFernlily
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 199


You can also grab the blue lines on the road (move world object button) and stretch it out a bit til it's past the road. It helps to turn off the grid while doing so as you can move it ever so slightly that way.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.