Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Field Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 6th Nov 2008 at 1:48 AM
Default BIG problem with SimPE
Before I decide to send in a report about this to the website for SimPE, I want to see if you all know the answer to my problem.

I've been trying to create objects (I'm fairly new to this so I'm trying to start out by cloning) and when I select the Object Workshop and press Start, the bar only fills up to like, 19%, and then it takes another hour or so for it to get higher. One night since I was busy, I left it like that, and when I got back it was still loading!!!

Why is the Object Workshop not loading?!

Please help me!!! Thanks in advance.

When the smoke clears, you can consider us even.
Advertisement
One horse disagreer of the Apocalypse
#2 Old 6th Nov 2008 at 8:29 AM
This isn't a SimPE bug (as such) just down to size and design. It loads everything at once into the user interface whereas it should have anticipated bloat and gone for a batch processing design.

There is a FAQ on the SimPE site that might help: http://simpeforum.ambertation.de/si...arger-in-memory

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
#3 Old 6th Nov 2008 at 8:46 AM
It might not be a coding bug, but it still sounds like a design bug. Is a fix for the situation planned?

This Space Intentionally Left Blank
#4 Old 6th Nov 2008 at 10:18 AM
No I don't think so. There is only one developer now, and he is in moderately stressful full time employment. We suggest using the workarounds.

Bear in mind Object Workshop is still operating successfully for the vast majority of users.

"You can do refraction by raymarching through the depth buffer" (c. Reddeyfish 2017)
Sesquipedalian Pisciform
retired moderator
#5 Old 6th Nov 2008 at 12:35 PM