Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1144
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 11 (Who?), Viewed: 7498 times.
Search this Thread
Old 20th Jul 2014, 10:59 AM DefaultClean Installer and The Sims™ 2 Ultimate Collection #1
SamantaBlack
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5


Hi, guys!

I have a problem that CleanInstaller don't see my actual download folder and installing everything somewhere else.
I tried to change at S2PCI.ini SaveGamePath="" to SaveGamePath="C:\Users\Human\Documents\EA Games\The Sims™ 2 Ultimate Collection", but it dosen't help.
Where else should I change path?
Old 20th Jul 2014, 9:02 PM #2
Mootilda
Site Helper

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14,403
Thanks: 32870 in 157 Posts
27 Achievements

View My Journal


What happens when you change the path? What does the Clean Installer use as a default path instead?
Old 20th Jul 2014, 10:37 PM #3
SamantaBlack
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5


It creats a new empty folder "The Sims™ 2 Ultimate Collection"
Old 21st Jul 2014, 2:21 AM #4
Mootilda
Site Helper

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14,403
Thanks: 32870 in 157 Posts
27 Achievements

View My Journal


What if you try changing the installation location directly inside the Clean Installer itself, by unchecking the "default installation" checkbox and browsing to the correct location?
Old 21st Jul 2014, 5:02 AM #5
SamantaBlack
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5


It works, but I was hoping for a solution where I wouldn't need to chose path everytime)
Old 21st Jul 2014, 5:04 PM #6
Mootilda
Site Helper

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14,403
Thanks: 32870 in 157 Posts
27 Achievements

View My Journal


I'll look into this and see whether I can determine why your path is being scrambled.
Old 21st Jul 2014, 6:55 PM #7
SamantaBlack
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5


it's cause of this stupid tm. maybe the problem is at characters codes...
Old 22nd Jul 2014, 4:06 PM #8
Yum
Test Subject

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15


Press Windows + R and run "regedit" without the quotation marks.
Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE and then SOFTWARE.
If you have a 32-bit PC, find the EA GAMES folder. Open it and go to the "The Sims 2" folder. Double click on "DisplayName" and remove the TM.
If you have a 64-bit PC, open Wow6432Node. Find the EA GAMES folder. Open it and go to the "The Sims 2" folder. Double click on "DisplayName" and remove the TM.

Go to the EA Games folder in My Documents and remove the TM from your TS2 Ultimate folder name. Now remove the TM from your S2PCI.ini file.

This way, you shouldn't have any more problems with the TM part.
Old 25th Jul 2014, 7:54 PM #9
SamantaBlack
Original Poster

Test Subject

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5


Thank you! It worked!
Old 26th Jul 2014, 11:39 PM
Celia
This message has been deleted by Celia. Reason: wrong place
Old 30th Jul 2014, 8:44 PM
myster
This message has been deleted by myster.
Old 3rd Aug 2014, 4:02 PM #10
wtfranki
Test Subject

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 37


Quote:
Originally Posted by Guardian Ayumii
Press Windows + R and run "regedit" without the quotation marks.
Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE and then SOFTWARE.
If you have a 32-bit PC, find the EA GAMES folder. Open it and go to the "The Sims 2" folder. Double click on "DisplayName" and remove the TM.
If you have a 64-bit PC, open Wow6432Node. Find the EA GAMES folder. Open it and go to the "The Sims 2" folder. Double click on "DisplayName" and remove the TM.

Go to the EA Games folder in My Documents and remove the TM from your TS2 Ultimate folder name. Now remove the TM from your S2PCI.ini file.

This way, you shouldn't have any more problems with the TM part.

I tried doing this and I think I messed up somewhere along the lines, I couldn't find the 'TM' under the EA games<The Sims 2 folder, but I changed everything else?
I've been having trouble downloading premade sims, neighborhoods and lots. The Clean Installer will tell me that the sim or lot I wanted was installed but then I check my game and nothing shows up.
I changed the path in the S2PCI but nothing.
Then I tried doing what this just said now the Clean Installer wont even install, instead this pops up:
Screenshots
Click image for larger version

Name:  sims 2 help.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  165.9 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  sims 2 help2.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  121.8 KB   Click image for larger version

Name:  sims 2 help3.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  121.3 KB  
Old 3rd Aug 2014, 4:54 PM #11
Mootilda
Site Helper

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14,403
Thanks: 32870 in 157 Posts
27 Achievements

View My Journal


The registry entries that you are showing in your screenshots are not the registry entries that Guardian Ayumii suggested that you change. In addition, you should always back up your registry before you modify it, since it is easy to muck things up to the point where you will have to reinstall:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/322756

Have you tried installing the latest version of the Clean Installer? abluescarab gave me the changes that are supposed to allow the Clean Installer to find the correct entries for the Ultimate Collection in the registry, which may resolve your problem. I can't test them, since I don't have the UC on my computer.

You may also want to check out the suggestions in this thread:
http://simswiki.info/wiki.php?title...Collection_FAQs
Last edited by Mootilda : 3rd Aug 2014 at 5:30 PM.
Old 4th May 2015, 2:38 AM #12
Stefanina
Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 30


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yum
Press Windows + R and run "regedit" without the quotation marks.
Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE and then SOFTWARE.
If you have a 32-bit PC, find the EA GAMES folder. Open it and go to the "The Sims 2" folder. Double click on "DisplayName" and remove the TM.
If you have a 64-bit PC, open Wow6432Node. Find the EA GAMES folder. Open it and go to the "The Sims 2" folder. Double click on "DisplayName" and remove the TM.

Go to the EA Games folder in My Documents and remove the TM from your TS2 Ultimate folder name. Now remove the TM from your S2PCI.ini file.

This way, you shouldn't have any more problems with the TM part.


I did this, but the program still creates the folder with the tm...
Now then, my difference is that I downloaded it via Origin, so I had to go into HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Origin Games to get rid of the tm...

EDIT: Using Find, there were three more places that had the "tm" to get rid of. It was all over the registry, so using the find function was the only way. It took me about 15 minutes to go through the entire registry, not that bad.
Last edited by Stefanina : 5th May 2015 at 5:45 PM.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.