Welcome to
Mod The Sims
Online: 1739
News:
Have an account? Sign in:
pass:
If you don't have an account, why not sign up now? It's free!
Other sites: SimsWiki
Reply  Replies: 7 (Who?), Viewed: 19754 times.
Search this Thread
Old 18th Mar 2007, 11:37 AM Default**Making objects with cut-outs in Wings3D** #1
Wil-Redfern
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 187
Thanks: 4471 in 20 Posts
11 Achievements


First of all, you need to load Wings3D. Make any shape that you wish to make hollow.


Select your whole shape and make sure that the third triangle along is selected like so:


Select "Inset" and make it so that the inset is the thickness of what you want your 'hole' to be, like this:


Then select 1 face on either side of the square, make sure that the faces are opposite eachother, and then "Intrude" like this:


Then all you need to do is the usual > Autosmooth feature.

And your done! You have a simple hollow shape. This works with any shape you like! I hope I helped people with this tutorial. Enjoy

-Wil




----------
Tutorials:Making objects with cut-outs in Wings3Dwiki

*´")
..·´¸.·*´¨) ¸.·*¨)
(¸.·´ (¸.·´Wil-Redfern*¨)¸;*
Last edited by Echo : 11th Sep 2008 at 1:48 PM.
8 users say thanks for this.
[ Click here to view a longer list ]
Old 20th Mar 2007, 7:51 PM #2
RealGanacampo
Field Researcher

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
Thanks: 4121 in 14 Posts
10 Achievements


Thank you for this tutorial, good to know, although I don't know if I will need it.
Old 22nd Mar 2007, 10:50 AM #3
tacos
Lab Assistant

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 145
Thanks: 3081 in 15 Posts
10 Achievements


thank you for this tutorial. ive been trying to do your tutorials which have worked, but i want to ask you now that i have finished this hollow box um is it a mesh to make something? i just want to be sure and try to understand what im doing yes so thank you

TASH

http://passionssims2com.page.tl/

my own website. check it out
Old 27th Mar 2007, 1:58 PM #4
$RaMRoM$
Instructor

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 459
Thanks: 1015 in 20 Posts
11 Achievements


Thanks a lot for this Wil-Redfern. Cause I have been using wings a longtime ago so... THANKS! :D:D
Old 4th Apr 2007, 2:23 PM #5
Wil-Redfern
Original Poster

Lab Assistant

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 187
Thanks: 4471 in 20 Posts
11 Achievements


Well tacos you can use a hollow box for anything... and you don't even have to stick to boxes, this works with any shape or form. Happy meshing,

-Wil

*´")
..·´¸.·*´¨) ¸.·*¨)
(¸.·´ (¸.·´Wil-Redfern*¨)¸;*
Old 4th Aug 2009, 11:29 AM #6
sammyme1986
Test Subject

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 337 in 1 Posts
5 Achievements


i'm using a different version of wings, i'm not sure which one, but it seems that the same thing can be done by using the "Bridge" command as opposed to the "Intrude" command... Am i right?
Old 8th Nov 2012, 8:00 AM This is Great! #7
starmusicfly
Test Subject

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 24


Simple and to the point. Thank you.
Old 14th Dec 2013, 12:38 PM #8
Lina5731
Test Subject

Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1


I appreciate your work.
Reply


Section jump:


Powered by MariaDB Some icons by http://dryicons.com.